This is the "S" page of the "Databases A-Z" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases A-Z  

Last Updated: Dec 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gc.cuny.edu/AtoZ Print Guide RSS Updates

S Print Page
  Search: 
 

S

  • Sabin Americana, 1500–1926
    Based on Joseph Sabin’s famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean.
  • SAGE Handbook of Digital Dissertations and Theses
    Guide to the processes of digital research.
  • SAGE Journals Online
    Full text of 747 SAGE journals in the social sciences, sciences, humanities, technology, and medicine. Offers option of searching SAGE journals to which the Graduate Center does not have full-text access.
  • SAGE Knowledge
    Text of 31 handbooks covering such subjects as digital dissertations, multicultural measures, environmental change, economic geography, historical theory, international relations, Islamic studies, performance studies, qualitative and quantitative research in psychology, race and ethnic studies, social anthropology, sociolinguistics, and theories of social psychology.
  • SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool to help researchers, faculty, and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods contains content from over 740 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book” and "Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos.
  • Science Citation Index
    Citations in the scholarly literature from 1899 to the present. Those new to this resource should begin with its tutorial. Scopus is a similar citation index.
  • Science Magazine
    Full text since 1880.
  • ScienceDirect
    Full text from 1997 to the present for 2,568 journals and indexing and abstracting of 3,711 titles from their first issues. Most of these journals are in the sciences and social sciences, but there are several in the humanities, mostly in linguistics. The Graduate Center access does not include any electronic books.
  • Scientific Style and Format Guide Online, 8th Edition
    Now in its eighth edition, the indispensable reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields has been fully revised by the Council of Science Editors to reflect today’s best practices in scientific publishing.
  • SciFinder Scholar (Web version for registered users)
    Chemical and related scientific information. Requires registration. Special note for remote users: after logging in with proxy, please ignore browser warning and click continue, The browser is merely expecting, SSL certificate confirmation. To disable browser warnings: IE=>Tools => Internet Options => Advanced Tab => Scroll to the bottom and uncheck “Warn about certificate address mismatch*”
  • SciFinder Scholar (Web version for unregistered users)
    Chemical and related scientific information. Requires registration. Special note for remote users: after logging in with proxy, please ignore browser warning and click continue, The browser is merely expecting, SSL certificate confirmation. To disable browser warnings: IE=>Tools => Internet Options => Advanced Tab => Scroll to the bottom and uncheck “Warn about certificate address mismatch*”
  • Scopus
    Abstract and citation database indexes 15,000 international peer-reviewed journals in the social sciences, sciences, and medicine from 1996 to the present. Web of Science is a similar product.
  • Scribner Writers Online
    Reference works about American and British writers. May be searched independently or within Gale Virtual Reference Library or Literature Resources from Gale.
  • Serials Directory
    Bibliographic and contact information about over 184,000 U.S. and international periodicals.
  • 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
    The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, charting the development of the concept of news, and newspapers, and the free press, totals almost one-million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.
  • Silent Film Online
    Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
  • Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
    Books, pamphlets, periodicals, manuscripts, Supreme Court records, and other nineteenth-century materials related to slavery and abolition.
  • Social Explorer
    New York City, Los Angeles, and national demographic maps based on Census data. A companion to Infoshare.
  • Social Science Citation Index
    Bibliographic citation, abstract, cited references, and times cited. These records are for articles in major social science journals from 1975 to the present. Scopus is a similar citation index.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Indexes English-language periodicals in the social sciences from 1983 to the present. Includes abstracts for articles published beginning January 1994. Includes full text from 324 periodicals.
  • Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
    Indexes hundreds of important journals in the social sciences.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    Abstracts of articles from 1980 to the present.
  • Social Theory
    More than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith , and Talcott Parsons.
  • SocIndex with Full Text
    Indexing of 2,540 journals in the social sciences, with full text as far back as 1895 for 848 journals, as well as the text of more than 40,000 conference papers from such organizations as American Sociological Association and American Society of Criminology.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Bibliographic citations from 2,600 journals concerned with sociology and related disciplines from 1963 to the present.
  • Springer eBook Collection
    Text of over 40,000 Springer books published from 2005 to the present as well as book series dating back to 1997. The titles cover biomedical and life sciences, computer science, medicine, mathematics, physics, and related fields. These titles may also be found in the CUNY Catalog.
  • SpringerImages
    Collection of 1.8 million photographs, graphs, histograms, and tables in science, technology, and medicine.
  • SpringerLink
    The Graduate Center has full-text access to recent issues of 2,117 of the 2,970 mostly social science and science journals in this database. Only the articles with a Download PDF link are available in full text.
  • SpringerProtocols
    Biological and medical protocols.
  • Statistical Insight
    Demographic information from more than 200 federal agencies, 50 state governments, 100 international intergovernmental organizations, and 500 private and academic sources.
  • Statistical Theory and Methods Abstracts (STMA-Z)
    Indexes 111 international statistical journals. Included in Zentralblatt MATH.
  • Statistics Sources
    Content of the 2010 edition. Guide to current sources of factual quantitative information about more than 20,000 specific subjects, incorporating almost 135,000 citations and more than 1,600 sources. Provides the widest possible range of print and nonprint, published and unpublished, and electronic and other forms of U.S. and international statistical data on industrial, business, social, educational, financial, and other topics.

Current Trial Databases

Below is a list of trial databases that are under consideration for our collections.

Tell us what you think! Share your thoughts on our trial feedback form.

 

Looking for a specific Journal?

Use our journal title search tool to see whether the library has access to a particular title, and what date ranges our subscriptions cover.

 

Databases by Vendor

Check out our new guide that lists databases by popular vendors.

 

News from the Graduate Center Library Blog

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Copyright © 2010 Mina Rees Library - All Rights Reserved CUNY Graduate Center

Contact Us| 365 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY | Circulation:(212) 817-7083 | Reference:(212) 817-7077

Website Problems? Contact Library Webmaster

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip