Access & Borrowing

GC Students, Faculty, and Staff (including ASRC Faculty and Staff)

  GC Doctoral Students GC Master's Students GC (& ASRC) Faculty & PSC Staff GC (& ASRC) Non-PSC Staff
GC Library Access Privileges Yes Yes Yes Yes
Borrowing Privileges CUNY-wide CUNY-wide CUNY-wide CUNY-wide
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) Yes Yes Yes Yes
Loan Period 8 weeks 6 weeks 8 weeks 4 weeks
Renewal Limit for GC Books Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 6
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books Varies Varies Varies Varies
GC Database Access On-site & off-site On-site & off-site On-site & off-site On-site & off-site
GC Interlibrary Loan Yes Yes Yes Yes
Printing Free Free Free Free
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges Yes Yes Yes Yes

School of Labor and Urban Studies (SLU) Students, Faculty, and Staff

  SLU Master's Students SLU Undergraduate Students SLU Faculty & PSC Staff SLU Non-PSC Staff
GC Library Access Privileges Yes Yes Yes Yes
Borrowing Privileges CUNY-wide CUNY-wide CUNY-wide CUNY-wide
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) Yes Yes Yes Yes
Loan Period 6 weeks 4 weeks 8 weeks 4 weeks
Renewal Limit for GC Books Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 6
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books Varies Varies Varies Varies
GC Database Access On-site & off-site On-site & off-site On-site & off-site On-site & off-site
GC Interlibrary Loan Yes Yes Yes Yes
Printing Free Free Free Free

Other CUNY Students

  Other CUNY Doctoral Students Other CUNY Master's Students CUNY Undergraduate Students SPS Students
GC Library Access Privileges Yes Yes Yes Yes
Borrowing Privileges CUNY-wide CUNY-wide CUNY-wide CUNY-wide
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) Yes Yes Yes Yes
Loan Period 8 weeks 6 weeks 4 weeks 4 weeks
Renewal Limit for GC Books Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited 3
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books Varies Varies Varies Varies
GC Database Access On-site only On-site only On-site only On-site only
GC Interlibrary Loan No No No No
Printing $0.15/page $0.15/page $0.15/page $0.15/page
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges No No No No

Other CUNY Faculty and Staff

  Other CUNY Faculty & PSC Staff Other CUNY Non-PSC Staff
GC Library Access Privileges Yes Yes
Borrowing Privileges CUNY-wide CUNY-wide
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) Yes Yes
Loan Period 8 weeks 4 weeks
Renewal Limit for GC Books Unlimited 6
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books Varies Varies
GC Database Access On-site only On-site only
GC Interlibrary Loan No No
Printing $0.15/page $0.15/page
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges No No

GC Visiting Research Scholars and Visiting Students

  GC Visiting Research Scholars (temporary ID) GC Visiting Students (temporary ID) Students in Language Reading Programs (temporary ID)
GC Library Access Privileges Yes Yes Yes
Borrowing Privileges Yes GC only GC only
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) Depends No No
Loan Period 6 weeks 2 weeks 2 weeks
Renewal Limit for GC Books Unlimited 0 0
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books Varies n/a n/a
GC Database Access On-site & off-site On-site & off-site On-site only
GC Interlibrary Loan Yes Yes No
Printing Free Free $0.15/page
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges Yes No No

GC and CUNY Alumni

  GC Alumni Other CUNY Alumni
GC Library Access Privileges Yes No (must become Library Friend for access)
Borrowing Privileges GC only No
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) No No
Loan Period 3 weeks n/a
Renewal Limit for GC Books 3 n/a
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books n/a n/a
GC Database Access On-site access to all GC databases; off-site access to select databases for alumni No
GC Interlibrary Loan No No
Printing $0.15/page No
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges No No

GC and CUNY Retirees

  GC Faculty & PSC Staff Retirees Other CUNY Faculty & PSC Staff Retirees
GC Library Access Privileges Yes Yes
Borrowing Privileges Yes Yes
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) Yes Yes
Loan Period 8 weeks 8 weeks
Renewal Limit for GC Books Unlimited Unlimited
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books Varies Varies
GC Database Access On-site & off-site On-site only
GC Interlibrary Loan Yes No
Printing $0.15/page $0.15/page
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges Yes No

GC Library Friends / Associates

  GC Library Friends / Associates
GC Library Access Privileges With $250 contribution (1 year)
Borrowing Privileges GC only, with $1000 contribution (1 year)
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) No
Loan Period 3 weeks
Renewal Limit for GC Books 3
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books n/a
GC Database Access On-site only
GC Interlibrary Loan No
Printing $0.15/page
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges No

GC Faculty Research Assistants

  GC Faculty Research Assistants
GC Library Access Privileges Yes
Borrowing Privileges Yes
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) Yes
Loan Period 8 weeks
Renewal Limit for GC Books Unlimited
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books Varies
GC Database Access On-site access; off-site access if network account is obtained
GC Interlibrary Loan Yes, with proxy account
Printing $0.15/page; free if network account is obtained
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges No

SUNY Empire State College Students

  SUNY Empire State College Students
GC Library Access Privileges Yes
Borrowing Privileges Yes
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) Yes
Loan Period 3 weeks
Renewal Limit for GC Books 6
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books Varies
GC Database Access On-site only
GC Interlibrary Loan No
Printing $0.15/page
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges No

METRO Visitors

  METRO Visitors
GC Library Access Privileges With METRO pass
Borrowing Privileges No
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) No
Loan Period n/a
Renewal Limit for GC Books n/a
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books n/a
GC Database Access On-site only
GC Interlibrary Loan No
Printing $0.15/page
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges No

Questions?

Questions?

Contact the Circulation Desk at (212) 817-7083 or circ@gc.cuny.edu.

Fines & Fees

All borrowers are subject to the following fines and fees:

Overdue materials:

  • Circulating books: $0.25/day
  • Recalled books: $1.00/day
  • Media (DVD, CD, VHS): $1.20/day
  • Reserve items: $0.10/minute
  • Interlibrary loan items: $0.25/day

Lost items: 

  • Item cost + $25 processing fee