Online Directories - Organizations
- Gale Directory Library via NYPL This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
Search across a range of directories including Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers; Encyclopedia of American Religions (now available in Gale Ebooks); Encyclopedia of Associations - International Organizations; Encyclopedia of Associations - National Organizations of the U.S.; Encyclopedia of Associations - Regional, State and Local Organizations of the U.S.; Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources; Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations; Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; Government Research Directory; International Research Centers Directory; Market Share Reporter; National Faculty Directory; Publishers Directory; Research Centers Directory; Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies. - Research Centers Directory via NYPL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
Comprehensive guide to North America’s premier nonprofit research organizations. Information on each organization includes programs, staffing, and publications, as well as services of centers, laboratories, institutes, experiment stations, farms, research support facilities, technology transfer centers, think tanks, incubators, research parks, and more.
Online Directories - Government Information
- New York City Green Book OnlineA searchable directory of personnel and government office information at City, County, State and Federal levels. Read more about the Green Book: http://www.nyc.gov/html/dcas/html/about/greenbook.shtml
- United States Government ManualAs the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.
Online Directories - Serials & Publishers
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An independent index containing over 17,000 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. - Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full bibliographic information and contact details for nearly 250,000 U.S. and international periodicals. Entries include indexing and abstracting information showing database coverage, ISSNs, publication frequency, title changes, Library of Congress classification, and more.
eBook and Print Directories in the Library Catalog
To find electronic and print directories in OneSearch, WorldCat Discovery, or other library catalogs, use the Advanced Search and add the word "Directories" as an additional Subject heading.
Sample searches: grants AND directories; non-governmental organizations AND directories
You can also do a simple keyword search on your topic with the added word "directory" to get a larger list of results.
Historial City Directories
Many historical city directories have been digitized and are available on the open web or through subscription databases at research libraries.
Ready sources of historical city directories online include:
To find city directories in any of these databases, search texts with the name of the city and the words "City Directory."
Sample Searches: "New York City Directory" or "Quebec City Directory" or "[any city] City Directory"
N-YHS and NYPL Collections of NYC Directories
The collections of The New-York Historical Society Library and The New York Public Library include extensive holdings of various New York City directories in print. Search the N-YHS and NYPL catalogs to find the directories by formatting a Subject search like this: "New York (N.Y.) -- Directories"
Direct Me NYC 1786: A History of City Directories in the United States and New York City
A comprehensive article by
Vancouver City Directory, 1899-1900
