Monologues and Scenes
Ultimate Scene and Monologue Sourcebook by ISBN: 9780823099498
There is no specific subject heading for scene books. You can perform a keyword search in the catalog for the term "monologues". If you are looking for a particular type of monologue, try combining the word "monologues" with a descriptive keyword, such as: monologues and men, monologues and women, monologues and classical and monologues and contemporary, etc.
I'd recommend using the Ultimate Scene and Monologue Sourcebook: an actor's guide to over 1,000 monologues and scenes from more that 300 contemporary plays by Ed Hooks.
Play Review Web resources
Finding Play Reviews Online
Use the following selected databases to connect you to play reviews.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Over 1,500 full-text journals dating back to 1907. Includes millions of records covering archaeology, art, communications, dance, film, folklore, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, classical studies, area studies and gender studies. Should be included in any humanities search. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The CUNY and Graduate Center subscriptions provide access to the full text of nearly 400 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences along with over 70,000 e-books and 4,600 open access books. Select “Browse All Muse” and filter by Access type “Only content I have access to” to see subscribed and OA content. Or look for the green check mark and OA icons that appear next to accessible titles when searching across the platform. E-books are also available via the separate link to Project Muse E-Books. - Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing of over 450 periodicals from 1983 to the present and searchable full text of articles from over 250 popular general-interest periodicals from 1994 to the present. PDF page images of full-text articles provide access to illustrations, photographs and other graphical content. - Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 popular general-interest periodicals from 1890-1982, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. - Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Academic is a full-text news, business, and legal database with access to over 10,000 sources. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Cited references in all disciplines in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Online Play Collections
These selected databases includes full text of plays, selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera.
- Black Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The expanded third edition of Black Drama contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. Part of the Drama Texts collection. - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. EEBO includes over 146,000 titles published in English and more than 30 other languages from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the ages of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Transcriptions are available for approximately 50% of the texts. - Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 400 videos of theatrical performances and documentaries. Includes plays by Aeschylus, Albee, Beckett, Chekhov, Fugard, Gogol, Hansberry, Ibsen, Miller, Moliere, O'Neill, Pinter, Pirandello, Shakespeare, Sophocles, Strindberg, Wasserstein, and others. Documentaries feature analyses of plays, performances, and techniques, as well as interviews with playwrights, directors, and actors.
Play Catalogs & Indexes
There are several tools to help you discover the collection that includes an individual play. Examples include:
- Catalog of broadsides of American verse in the Harris Collection of American poetry and plays
- Approximately 250,000 volumes of American and Canadian poetry, plays, and vocal music dating from 1609 to the present day.
- The GC has the catalog of the collection in microfilm: Microfilm (2nd Floor) MIC 2797
- A link to the collection, along with a research guide, is available online at Brown University: http://dl.lib.brown.edu/libweb/collections/harris/index.php
- Three centuries of drama : American and English, 1500-1800
- A collection of approximately 5350 English plays and about 250 American plays, including every important play published in the English language in England during the period 1500 through 1800, and in the United States from 1714 through 1830. It also includes manuscripts never before published.
- Microform Reference - PR 1241 .W4 1966
______________________________________________
- Latin American play index byCall Number: Z1609 .D7 H63 1983Publication Date: 1983Two volume play index available under Reference.
Ottemiller's index to plays in collections : an author and title index to plays appearing in collections published between 1900 and 1985. by Call Number: Z 5781 .O8 1988Publication Date: 1988Located on Reference shelf.
Online Plays
- Federal Theatre Project CollectionThe collection features stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, administrative documents, and 68 scripts. The scripts are reproduced as images, not as searchable text documents.
- Humanities Text InitiativeA very large database including texts from the Middle Ages to the early twentieth century. Look especially under Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
- Internet Classics ArchiveThe Internet Classics Archives includes over 440 texts from Classical Greece and Rome, including translations of the plays of Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides and Aristophanes (but as of Jan. 2001, none of the Roman playwrights).
- Internet ArchiveInternet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages.
www.archive.org/ - Cached - Similar