Finding Video
- Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The New York Public Library offers on-site access to Digital Theatre Plus, which streams current British theatre productions from Shakespeare to contemporary plays, and opera, musical theatre, dance and ballet, symphonic and chamber music, theatre from Russia and South Asia, and film shorts. Includes study guides and other supplementary materials. - Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
More than 400 videos of theatrical performances and documentaries. Includes plays by Aeschylus, Albee, Beckett, Chekhov, Fugard, Gogol, Hansberry, Ibsen, Miller, Moliere, O'Neill, Pinter, Pirandello, Shakespeare, Sophocles, Strindberg, Wasserstein, and others. Documentaries feature analyses of plays, performances, and techniques, as well as interviews with playwrights, directors, and actors.
Theater on Film and Tape Archive (TOFT), NYPL
Since 1970, the Theatre on Film and Tape Archive (TOFT) at the New York Public Library of the Performing Arts has preserved live theatrical productions and documented the creative contributions of distinguished artists and legendary figures of the theatre. With the consent and cooperation of the theatrical unions and each production's artistic collaborators, TOFT produces video recordings of Broadway, Off-Broadway, and regional theatre productions as well as dialogues between notable theatre personalities.
Please Be Advised: Limited Walk-ins
Due to class screenings, TOFT will at times be unable to take walk-in appointments. Please call their screening room in advance to confirm availability: (212) 870-1642.
Fair Use of Images
Finding Images
- ARTstorThe ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, and photo archives from all over the world.
- Library of Congress American MemoryOnline access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services
- Museum of the City of New York's Collections PortalLaunched in December 2010, the Collections Portal currently offers more than 62,000 photographs of New York City, thousands of which have never been available for public viewing.
- New York Public Library Digital GalleryProvides access to over 275000 images digitized from the library collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, etc.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is a platform for searching across the following art reference works listed below. Create an optional subscriber account to save searches.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
- The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd ed.)
- The Oxford Companion to Western Art
- And the Grove Dictionary of Art, which can also be searched separately at Grove Art Online
- (CUNY does not subscribe to the Benezit Dictionary of Artists)
Selected Image Sites
- Google Images
Searches images available via Google, of mixed size and quality.
- Reel Poster Gallery
Online gallery of vintage movie posters.
- World Digital Library
Includes primary materials from world cultures, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and more.
- WorldImages
Contains thousands of images on a range of global topics. This free site also includes some coverage of clothing and dress.
- LIFE Photo Archive
Growing historical photo archive for LIFE magazine, hosted by Google.
- Getty Images
Includes stock photography, editorial photos, and some moving images.
- VADS
Thousands of visual arts images, including fashion, design, prints, and sculpture.
- Flickr Commons
A free public collection of photographs from major photography archives. Contributors include the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, and more.
- American Memory
From the Library of Congress, including many photographs and other visual elements documenting American history.
- Ad*Access
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- Still Images: Finding and Using Digital Media
U.K. site with advice on finding images online, getting permissions, and other tips.
- Empire Online
Includes documents segment called "The Visible Empire," which includes color plates, maps, and more.
- Images from the History of Medicine
Keyword-searchable images from the National Library of Medicine. Includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media.
- CalPhotos
From UCB Biodiversity Sciences Technology Group, this site contains thousands of photos, including plants, animals, fossils, people, and world cultures.
- Fotosearch Stock Photography