Digital Tools and Techniques

Using WebRecorder anonymously to Generate a WARC File

These directions are if you do not create a user account to make your archived site publicly accessible. See below if you want your archive to be publicly accessible through webrecorder.io.

 

To generate a WARC file using WebRecorder:

  1. Go to https://webrecorder.io/.
  2. Enter the URL of your website where you are prompted to "Try now:".
  3. Click on the <Record>.
  4. Your website will load and the recording has begun.
  5. Interact with your site.  Go to each page. If exists and pertinent, perform the most pertinent searches. Play streaming media. Interact with gadgets (timelines, etc.).
  6. Once satisfied that you have captured all the pages and functionality that you want to document, click the <Preview> button. Preview pauses/stops your recording. 
  7. You can test by using the scroll down, selecting <Replay> and interacting with the site. 
  8. If you encounter missing content during the replay, you can record it using <Record Missing> from the dropdown and interacting with the site, so it is recorded. Note: <Record Missing> functionality actually inserts the missing content within the correct context of the site's archives. 
  9. Repeat steps 7 & 8 as necessary. 
  10. Note: You can test to see if much hidden content was recorded via webrecorder by using Firefox=>Web Developer=>Inspector=>Network and examinging the domain field. 
  11. Once satisfied that you have collected/recorded all the necessary content, click the <Browse Collection> button.
  12. Click the <Records> Tab and click on each entry in the table to view/test your recorded content.
  13. Click the <Storage> tab click 'Download WARC for Collection> link to save to your desktop. 
  14. Please test your WARC file by downloading the Web Archive Player on github.

Using WebRecorder with an user account to Generate a WARC File

Use these directions for webrecorder.io if you want to retain a recording of your site and make it publicly accessible via webrecorder.io.

 

To generate a WARC file using WebRecorder:

  1. Go to https://webrecorder.io/.
  2. Click the <Sign Up> link.
  3. The Invite Request window will appear. Please enter your name, email and click the <Request Invite> button. 
  4. You will receive am email inviting you to join webrecorder.io.
  5. Click on the registration link in the email which will redirect you to a registration page. Fill in the required fields and submit. 
  6. You will receive an email notifying you of the account's creation with your selected username, click on the confirm link in the email. You will be redirected to your user dashboard in webrecorder.io.
  7. Click the <Create New Collection> button.
  8. Enter 'Dissertation' in the Title and URL fields and make the collection public. Note: you can suppress from public view at any time.
  9. Click the <Create> button.
  10. Now you are ready to record.
  11. Enter the URL of your website and click on the <Record> button.
  12. Your website will load and the recording has begun.
  13. Interact with your site.  Go to each page. If exists and pertinent, perform the most pertinent searches. Play streaming media. Interact with gadgets (timelines, etc.).
  14. Once satisfied that you have captured all the pages and functionality that you want to document, click the <Preview> button.  Preview pauses/stops your recording. 
  15. You can test by using the scroll down, selecting <Replay> and interacting with the site. 
  16. If you encounter missing content during the replay, you can record it using <Record Missing> from the dropdown and interacting with the site, so it is recorded. Note: <Record Missing> functionality actually inserts the missing content within the correct context of the site's archives. 
  17. Repeat steps 15 & 16 as necessary.  
  18. Note: You can test to see if much hidden content was recorded via webrecorder by using Firefox=>Web Developer=>Inspector=>Network and examinging the domain field. Are all populated by webrecorder.io?
  19. Once satisfied that you have collected/recorded all the necessary content, click the <Browse Collection> button.
  20. Click the <Records> Tab and click on each entry in the table to view/test your recorded content.
  21. Click the <Storage> tab click 'Download WARC for Collection> link to save to your desktop. 
  22. Please test your WARC file by downloading the Web Archive Player on github.