New York Public Library + Graduate Center Library

NYPL Databases

This page highlights a selection of resources that are available to Graduate Center students through the New York Public Library (NYPL) that might be of interest to Grad Center students. Some of these items are available from home (see the Remote Access NYPL Databases tab below) and all are accessible in person at an NYPL branch (some of which are included on the NYPL On-Site Only Databases tab). Of course NYPL has many other resources and electronic offerings not listed here. See NYPL's Articles & Databases page for a complete list of their holdings.*

  • "Remote Access NYPL Databases" are accessible wherever you have an internet connection
    • To use these resources, instead of using your GC Network ID, please enter your New York Public Library barcode and PIN from your library card. You can apply for a library card online and pick it up at the nearest NYPL location. Please report any access issues using this form
      • For more information about getting a NYPL card, see Library Cards
      • Remember that Graduate Center students have access to 120 day loans from many NYPL locations--see the MaRLI guide for full details.
  • "NYPL On-Site Only Databases," you must visit participating New York Public Library branches for online access. The nearest branch to the Graduate Center with access to all research databases is the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building on Fifth Avenue at 42nd Street. 

*See the Graduate Center's Library Databases from A to Z list for all that is available through the Graduate Center Library.

Highlighted/Selected Databases from the New York Public Library

To use these resources, instead of using your GC Network ID, please enter your New York Public Library barcode and PIN number. If you do not have a NYPL library card, you can apply for one online and pick it up at the nearest NYPL location

You must visit participating New York Public Library branches in person for access to these resources. The two nearest locations to the Graduate Center with access to all research databases are the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building on Fifth Avenue at 42nd Street, and the Science, Industry and Business Library on Madison Avenue at 34th Street.  

Loading ...