Looking for a Specific Journal?
- Electronic and Print Journals at the Graduate CenterSearch the GC library's holdings of print and electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Electronic Journals at New York Public LibraryFind electronic journals available both at NYPL and from home.
- Print Journals at New York Public LibrarySearch NYPL's research catalog for journals, magazines, and newspapers not available electronically.
- Library Doesn't Have the Journal You Need? Use Interlibrary Loan!Whenever you need an article from a journal that the GC library doesn't have, you can request the article via interlibrary loan.
Best Bets for Psychology Research
Scroll down to see databases that focus on the social sciences in general.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health fields, covering the psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It indexes book chapters, books, dissertations, technical reports, and articles from over 2,200 journals. Coverage is international in scope and dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present. - PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers general psychology and basic, applied, specialized, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Contains full text from 119 American Psychological Association journals and journals from related organizations from 1894 to the present. Also includes book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata. - PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health issues related to traumatic events from 1871 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massive multidisciplinary index of scholarly publications, with especially strong coverage of the sciences and social sciences. Includes numerous sub-databases, most notably the Web of Science Core Collection, which provides cover-to-cover indexing of 21,000+ peer-reviewed journals. Includes citation data for publications, allowing searchers to identify highly cited articles, find citations to a given article/author, and track citations over time. Includes detailed author records and several unique search capabilities, such as the ability to search by author affiliation, grant number, or chemical structure. Also includes awarded grant information and associated publications.
Social Sciences Databases
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 51 Annual Review journals in the social sciences, biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences and economics. The literature reviews synthesize current understanding of a topic, set the work in historical context, and include extensive bibliographies. Search across or browse reviews and journals in more than 45 scientific disciplines, including anthropology, astrophysics, biochemistry, criminology, earth and planetary sciences, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, and sociology. - Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 journals covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education from 1987 to the present. This database is part of the ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection. - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBSS includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology from 1951 to the present. Part of the ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection. - SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online collection of more than 1,000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos on how to design and carry out research projects. Browse by discipline or search for a particular research approach (i.e., qualitative, quantitative, ethnographic) and see descriptions and examples from books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, journals, and videos. Read more in our GC Library blog post about Sage Research Methods. - Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to English-language social science journals, including full text from 215 titles beginning in 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 titles beginning in 1983, 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and more. - Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing, and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more. Click "more" to see the full list of databases included in this collection. - Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes thousands of serials, and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews from 1979 to the present. Covers social work, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Medical Databases
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 2,500 medical journals, back to 1865 for some titles, as well as indexing for over 5,600 current biomedical journals. See this guide for more information about the differences between Medline, PubMed and PubMed Central. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and online books. See this guide for information about the differences between Medline, PubMed and PubMed Central. By using this link, users will provided links to full-text resources available through the GC library. - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive nursing and allied health research database containing 4.1 million records dating back to 1937. The database includes indexing of over 5,400 journals, and full text of over 1,400 journals covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative and complementary medicine, consumer health, and related disciplines. Searchable cited references for nearly 1,500 journals are also included. - Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains current, scholarly, and comprehensive health information on a wide range of topics from over 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text from over 550 scholarly medical journals and abstracts and indexing for an additional 850 titles. In addition to strong coverage of nursing and allied health topics, the database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, a source for patient information on generic and brand name drugs. - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases consisting of evidence-based clinical information. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), contains more than 75,000 systemic reviews, protocols, editorials, and supplements. The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a directory containing citations, indexing, and abstracts of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials found in scholarly literature. And Clinical Answers contains clinical questions, short answers, and data drawn from Cochrane Reviews allowing users to quickly obtain evidence-based information. Read more in the GC Library blog post about Cochrane.
Education Databases
- ERIC (EBSCO version) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides access to education-related literature, covering journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966. Contains abstracts and links to full text, when available. ERIC documents with ED numbers (but not EJ numbers) are available on microfiche on the second floor of the library from ED 000001 through ED 462533. Other ERIC documents may be available at the government's ERIC site. - ERIC (ProQuest version) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides access to education-related literature, covering journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs from 1966 to the present. Contains abstracts and links to full text, when available. ERIC documents with ED numbers (but not EJ numbers) are available on microfiche on the second floor of the library from ED 000001 through ED 462533. Other ERIC documents may be available at the government's ERIC site. - Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 1,800 journals, 550 monographs and education-related conference papers; indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals; citations for over 4 million articles (including book reviews); and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage spans all levels from early childhood to higher education and specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Subjects include Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, and Vocational Education. - Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, and indexes over 1,200 education publications from 1988 to the present. Covers the literature on all levels of education as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and related topics.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature, including journal articles and books. The Graduate Center Library has created a customized version that knows the library’s electronic journal holdings and links you directly to the articles in the library’s databases.
Go to GC-customized Google Scholar
Note: If you’re off campus, you’ll be prompted to log in with your GC credentials before you can access library subscriptions.
Article & Journal Impact
Article Impact: One measure of the impact of an article is the number of times it has been cited by other articles. These databases offer robust cited reference searching:
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal Impact: A journal's impact is calculated by analyzing (in different ways by different tools) how frequently its articles are cited. Journal-level metrics are provided by:
For more information, see the Research Metrics guide.
Using Psych Databases
- How do Medline, PubMed, and PubMed Central differ?National Institutes of Health web post
- MeSH Headings in PubMedNational Institutes of Health video, 3 mins
Evidence Synthesis: Scoping Reviews
- Types of Evidence SynthesisCornell University LibGuide
- Systematic Reviews: Scoping ReviewsWeill Cornell Medicine, Samuel J. Wood Library
- Evidence Synthesis in the Social SciencesRutgers University Libraries
- Scoping Reviews - Chart the DataOntarioTech Library
- JBI Manual for Evidence SynthesisCh. 11 Scoping Reviews