Books and Other Resources
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes print books from all CUNY libraries; Graduate Center ebooks; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; Graduate Center course reserves; dissertations at CUNY and beyond; and unique digital content. - WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Discovery is a catalog and discovery system containing millions of records for print and electronic holdings in thousands of libraries around the world.
Selected Ebook Collections for English
The following are a selection of electronic books available to the Graduate Center community that might be of interest for Literature topics.
- Black Drama This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
The expanded third edition of Black Drama contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. Part of the Drama Texts collection. - Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First published in 1902, Cambridge Histories span subject areas across the humanities and social sciences. The GC’s subscription includes over 400 titles in American History; Ancient & Classical Studies; Asian History, British & European History; Global History, Literature, Middle East & African Studies, Music & Theatre; Philosophy & Political Thought; and Religion.
**GC-subscribed Cambridge content is discoverable in CUNY OneSearch. - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. EEBO includes over 146,000 titles published in English and more than 30 other languages from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the ages of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Transcriptions are available for approximately 50% of the texts. - EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as NetLibrary, the EBSCO eBook Collection provides more than 2,800 scholarly and popular titles. Browse by subject category or search across the collection to find full text ebooks. Create a free account to enable full downloads. - Eighteenth Century Collection Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ECCO contains digitized versions of the 180,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed between 1701 and 1800 that are cataloged in the English Short-title Catalogue (ESTC). The majority of the works are in English with several thousand in French or Latin, and smaller numbers in Ancient Greek, German, Italian, Scots Gaelic, Spanish and Welsh, and other languages. Use the Advanced Search option to limit results by language and/or collection categories such as fine arts, history and geography, law, literature and language, medicine, science, and technology, religion and philosophy, social sciences, general reference, or a combination of subjects. Illustrated works may be searched by cartoon, map, music, portrait, etc. - English Short Title Catalogue This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A vast database of bibliographic records, with holdings, of every surviving copy of letterpress produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800. Includes references to microfilm, digital, and other facsimile versions. The ESTC is co-managed by the British Library and the Center for Bibliographic Studies and Research (CBSR) at UC Riverside.
Borrowing Beyond the Grad Center
If the Graduate Center does not have the book you need you can have it sent here from another library or visit many of the research and art libraries in New York City.
- CUNY CLICSYou can have books from other CUNY libraries sent to the Graduate Center. From the library catalog, click the 'Request' link. CLICS can only be used for books. If you need photocopies of an article or book chapter submit an interlibrary loan request.
- Interlibrary LoanSubmit an interlibrary loan request for books, book chapters, journal articles and more! If you have questions or need help placing your request, email ill@gc.cuny.edu.
Visiting Other Libraries
- Other CUNY LibrariesAll CUNY students and faculty have access to all CUNY libraries and may check out books at all but CUNY Law. Reference books, special collections, audiovisual materials, and electronic resources may be used only within these libraries.
- Metro Referral CardsAsk at the reference desk on the second floor of the Graduate Center library for one-time-only passes to New York City area libraries, beyond CUNY.
If items are available at a CUNY library, you would use CLICs (Inter-library borrowing) or visit that library in person; Metro Cards are used for one-time to access beyond CUNY's collections. For longer access, see MaRLI above. - MaRLI (Manhattan Research Library Initiative)This research initiative allows selected researchers access and circulation privileges at Columbia University, New York University, and New York Public Library's research libraries.