Guide to print and electronic education resources
Last Updated: Mar 13, 2014
- CUNY library catalog
Search for books and journals at all CUNY libraries. If a book is not available at the Graduate Center but is available at a CUNY library you can have it delivered to the GC by clicking 'request'
- Interlibrary Loan
Need an article from a journal not at the Grad Center? Need a book that isn't available at any CUNY library? Go here to submit an interlibrary loan request
- 24/7 chat and email reference
Need an answer right away? Reference help available 24 hours a day through Ask-A-Librarian chat and email service.
This guide provides you with easy access to resources related to urban education. Use the tabs towards the top of the page to go to the relevant section.
- To find sources for journal articles select the 'Articles' tab
- To find sources for newspaper articles select the 'Newspapers' link under the 'Articles' tab
- To find print and electronic books select the 'Books' tab
- To search for dissertations select the 'Dissertations' tab
- For information on bibliographic citation styles and citation managers such as Zotero select the 'Citing Sources' tab
- For statistical sources select the 'Statistics' tab
- For local and federal governmental information select the 'Federal & Local Govt Info' tab
- For information on grants and fellowship opportunities select the 'Funding' tab
Below is a list of trial databases that are under consideration for our collections.
Tell us what you think! Share your thoughts on our trial feedback form.
- America's Historical Newspapers
The Graduate Center has access to this resource through October 31, 2014. America’s Historical Newspapers has been created through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society and more than 90 other institutions. America’s Historical Newspapers features Early American Newspapers, Series 1-9; 20th-Century American Newspapers, Series 1-3; and American Ethnic Newspapers. The latter includes African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971.
- Global Issues in Context
All of CUNY has access to this resource for 2014. Global Issues in Context features hundreds of issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health and cultural issues.
- Loeb Classical Library
The Graduate Center has access to this trial through November 18, 2014. Harvard University Press presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
- Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
The Graduate Center has access to this resource through December 14, 2014. Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is the first ever scholarly, primary-source database focused on adult comic books and graphic novels. Here are the works of artists both celebrated and overlooked, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this art form. The current release contains 500 comic series, 2,271 comic books totalling 147,144 pages.
- World Bank eLibrary
The Graduate Center has access to this resource through December 15, 2014. The eLibrary offers full-text access to the complete backlist of all books, working papers, and journal articles published by the World Bank since the 1990s. Users of eLibrary are assured full and immediate access to all academic research and scholarship published by the World Bank, the majority made available through Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) license.