THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! Our physical space remains inaccessible. Library resources and services are available online. Read more.

Research Guides

A-Z Databases

Loading...

Looking for a Specific Journal?

Use the journal title search tool to check whether the library has access to a particular journal through our databases. 

More instruction can be found in the Finding Electronic and Print Journals blog post.

Off-Campus Access Problems?

If you are unable to log into our databases with your GC network credentials, try CUNY e-resources as a backup. This smaller collection of databases provides access via your library barcode. 

Use the password reset tool or contact IT Services to resolve account issues and regain access to all GC databases.

Report a Bug

Found a broken link? Trouble accessing a database or full text even though you know your credentials? Help us to solve any technical issues by sharing the details of the problem through this online form.

GC Alumni Databases

See all details about select databases for alumni available from off-campus at the Alumni Library Resources Guide.

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This is a temporarily accessible resource, on trial until May 3rd, 2020.

Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram (الأهرام‎, “The Pyramids”) is one of the longest-running newspapers in the Middle East. It has long been regarded as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential newspaper, and one of the most important newspapers in the Arab world, with a circulation of over 1 million. Prior to 1960, the newspaper was an independent publication and was renowned for its objectivity and independence. After being nationalized by President Nasser in 1960, Al-Ahram became the de facto voice of the Egyptian government and today the newspaper is managed by the Supreme Council of Press.
Covering a wide range of sources from 1980 to the present day, search literature records in Analytical Abstracts for specific analytes, matrices or techniques or browse recently added articles. Part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Gold Collection.
"To assist the many students, faculty, and researchers who are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic, effective today, we have made our journals available to all (without access control) through Thursday April 30, 2020." Full statement here: https://annualreviewsnews.org/2020/03/13/annual-reviews-removes-access-control-in-response-to-covid-19-pandemic/.
All Berghahn Journals – new issues and all back issues – will be made freely available through June 30.

See also Berghahn Books' statement on COVID-19 access.
Open Access titles from Berghahn Books Online.

See also Berghahn Books' statement on COVID-19 access.
Bloomsbury Digital Resources (Temporarily Accessible during COVID-19) (Go to A-Z Databases for links)
"As we all work together through an unprecedented situation, Bloomsbury Digital Resources would like to help the library and educational community in any way we can. Our resources are now available upon request through the end of May 2020, at no cost or obligation and on an unlimited access basis."

Bloomsbury Digital Resources
Arcadian Library Online
Bloomsbury Food Library
Bloomsbury Fashion Central: Berg Fashion Library, Fairchild Books Library, Fashion Photography Archive, Fashion Business Cases
Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive
Bloomsbury Medieval Studies
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
Bloomsbury Popular Music
Bloomsbury Architecture Library
Churchill Archive
Bloomsbury Collections
Drama Online
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Bloomsbury Design Library
Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies
Human Kinetics Library
Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers
Screen Studies
Theology & Religion Online
Free access to the entire British Online Archives until May 3rd, 2020.

BOA hosts over 3 million records drawn from both private and public archives. These records are organised thematically, covering 1,000 years of world history, from politics and warfare to slavery and medicine.
Cambridge University Press is providing complimentary access to the full Companions reference collection for the Graduate Center until May 31st, 2020.

Cambridge Core hosts the online version of the printed series and includes over 600 Companion titles, over 4,000 essays, as well as bibliographies and further reading. It is fully searchable by author, title, topic, or theme.

**GC-subscribed Cambridge content is discoverable in CUNY OneSearch, but to find all of the trial access material try the A-Z Databases list instead. You can use Cambridge Core to search all of the currently accessible material at once; check the box next to "Only search content I have access to."
Cambridge University Press is providing complimentary access to the full Elements reference collection for the Graduate Center until May 31st, 2020.

Elements consists of original, concise, authoritative, and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific research, organized into focused series edited by leading scholars. This regularly updated collection provides comprehensive coverage of the key topics in disciplines spanning the arts and sciences, and a dynamic reference resource for graduate students, researchers, and practitioners.

**GC-subscribed Cambridge content is discoverable in CUNY OneSearch, but to find all of the trial access material try the A-Z Databases list instead. You can use Cambridge Core to search all of the currently accessible material at once; check the box next to "Only search content I have access to."
Cambridge University Press is providing complimentary access to the full Histories reference collection for the Graduate Center until May 31st, 2020.

First published in 1902, Cambridge Histories has over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

**GC-subscribed Cambridge content is discoverable in CUNY OneSearch, but to find all of the trial access material try the A-Z Databases list instead. You can use Cambridge Core to search all of the currently accessible material at once; check the box next to "Only search content I have access to."
Cambridge University Press is providing complimentary access to the full Textbooks reference collection for the Graduate Center until May 31st, 2020.

Features include:
  • Unlimited concurrent users, meaning any number of readers can access the resource simultaneously
  • Key textbooks available from across physics, earth science, life science, mathematics, engineering, and the social sciences and humanities disciplines
  • Users have the ability to save their searches and content to their bookmarks for easy access at a later date

    **GC-subscribed Cambridge content is discoverable in CUNY OneSearch, but to find all of the trial access material try the A-Z Databases list instead. You can use Cambridge Core to search all of the currently accessible material at once; check the box next to "Only search content I have access to."
  • Continued in Synthetic Reaction Updates. Each monthly issue of Catalysts & Catalysed Reactions contained around 200 graphical abstracts selected from key journals in the field, covering all areas of catalysis research including homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis, biocatalysis, and kinetic and theoretical studies. The online database is fully searchable and indexed by reaction class, catalyst type, reactant, product, catalyst, journal and author. Part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Gold Collection.
    Chemical Hazards in Industry providesdetails of literature reports on safety and health hazards surrounding chemicals encountered in chemical and related industries. This resource covers a wide range of primary sources, including key scientific and trade journals. Search records according to subject and chemical keywords, or browse recently added articles. Topics covered include health and safety, chemical and biological hazards, plant safety, legislation, protective equipment and storage, all relating to the chemical and allied industries. Part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Gold Collection.
    Find millions of digital books for research from multiple sources world-wide--all completely free to read, download, and keep. No library card required.

    Digital Research Books Beta is an experimental project, now in early Beta testing, that collects digital versions of research books from many different sources, including Open Access publications, into one convenient place to search. The books are either in the public domain, with no restrictions on your use of them, or under Creative Commons licenses that may have some conditions, but only on redistribution or adaptation.

    The material in Digital Research Books Beta are drawn from several public sources, mainly HathiTrust, The Directory of Open Access Books, and Project Gutenberg. We are continuously adding more books from these and other sources. We then cross-reference them with library records from NYPL and WorldCat, using OCLC’s experimental Classify service to make connections between different editions of the same work.
    Directory of Open Access Books is a joint service of OAPEN, OpenEdition, CNRS and Aix-Marseille Université providing access to 27660 Academic peer-reviewed books from 379 publishers.
    The Duke University Press book collections provide access to over 2,600 e-books in the humanities and social sciences.

    In response to the current challenges that universities face as a result of the spread of COVID-19, Duke University Press would like to offer libraries additional support. Complimentary electronic access to our book content is available until July 2, 2020.
    Ebook Central combines what were formerly ebrary and Ebook Library (EBL) into one new platform. Electronic books in all disciplines from a number of academic publishers. Available titles may also be found in OneSearch.

    "Coronavirus-Impacted Libraries get Unlimited Access to Ebook Central Holdings: ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses - including single-user and three-user models - will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period."

    List of Participating Publishers: https://media2.proquest.com/documents/unlimitedaccess-participatingpublishers.pdf
    JoVE has announced complimentary access to educational video content through June 15, 2020.
    Access to JSTOR is now expanded to include Arts & Humanities journals collections XIII-XV.
    Brief descriptions of JSTOR's multi-discipline archive collections.

    The Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of JSTOR offer the full text of over 2,400 scholarly journals including African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, classical studies, ecology, economics, education, feminist and women's studies, film studies, folklore, geography, history, language, literature, Middle East studies, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, sociology. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years.
    "Kahoot! is used by millions of teachers and educators around the world, and in these challenging times, we want to ensure they can continue to teach. While our free version enables distance learning, we want to make sure educators have all the tools they need to fully engage students outside of the classroom.

    That’s why we’ve put together a guide to distance learning and why we’re providing schools affected by the coronavirus with free access to Kahoot! Premium for the remaining months of the academic year."
    Laboratory Hazards Bulletin provides details of literature reports on safety measures, potential hazards and new legislation affecting workers in laboratories. This resource covers a wide range of primary sources, including key scientific and trade journals. Search records according to subject and chemical keywords, or browse recently added articles. Part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Gold Collection.
    Resources from MoMA to support learning from home. Includes three recent books from the Primary Documents series: Art and Theory of Post-1989 Central and Eastern Europe (2018); Modern Art in the Arab World (2018) and Contemporary Chinese Art (2010).
    LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

    Generously funded in memory of Edward Carpenter.
    LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.

    Generously funded in memory of Edward Carpenter.
    "We are excited to share that anyone anywhere can now access a growing online collection of contemporary open access eBooks from the Library of Congress website.”
    Continued in Synthetic Reaction Updates. Each monthly issue of Methods in Organic Synthesis contained around 200 graphical abstracts selected from key journals in the field, covering all areas of synthetic chemistry including new reactions and reagents, asymmetric synthesis, and enzymatic transformations. The online database is fully searchable and indexed by reaction type, reactant, product, reagent, journal and author. Part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Gold Collection.
    Complimentary access to all of MIT Press Direct Ebooks is available to Graduate Center Library users until May 31st, 2020.

    MIT Press is a leading publisher of books and journals at the intersection of science, technology, art, social science, and design. Their book catalog includes titles in fields as diverse as art, architecture, business and management, cognitive science, computer science and artificial intelligence, design, economics, education, engineering, environmental science, linguistics, mathematics, neuroscience, philosophy, physics, technology, and social theory.
    Trial
    "To address our unprecedented global and immediate need for access to reading and research materials... the Internet Archive will suspend waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in our lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later. "

    Announcement from Internet Archive

    Internet Archive responds: Why we released the National Emergency Library
    A literature updating service for keeping current with recent developments in natural products chemistry. Covering a wide range of primary sources, Natural Product Updates includes the most important natural product articles published in the recent scientific literature, which are searchable by topic, natural source, biological activity and structure type.
    NCBI Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.

    Quick Start Guide
    FAQ
    The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
    "For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook Language Files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ institutional repository, the Knowledge Bank."

  • List of Open Titles in The Ohio State University Press Knowledge Bank Collection During the COVID-19 Crisis.
  • Direct link to Language Files, 12th ed.
  • The Graduate Center subscription provides access to full text of over 350 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. A small number of journals are also available for free on the MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis: this content will display a distinctive "Free" icon, different from the "OA" icon used for fully open access content on MUSE, or the familiar green checkmark that users associate with content held by their library.

    An updated list of participating publishers can be found here: https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/.
    The Graduate Center does not subscribe to Project Muse ebooks, but there are now thousands of titles being made freely accessible to help support students, faculty and researchers during the COVID-19 crisis.

    Content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will display a distinctive "Free" icon, different from the "OA" icon used for fully open access content on MUSE, or the familiar green checkmark that users associate with content held by their library. MUSE search results, by default, include any content to which a user has access, so will offer the researcher any relevant free, OA, or entitled articles and books. There are over 2000 open access books MUSE platform.

    An updated list of participating publishers can be found here: https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/

    Project Muse Ebooks are also available via the New York Public Library.
    An online video streaming platform that hosts 300+ training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling and social work. In light of the COVID-19 crisis, complimentary access to all videos on Psychotherapy.net will be granted to Graduate Center users until May 24, 2020.

    Videos include interviews with master psychotherapists, clinical demonstrations, live sessions, nonverbal observation, and in-depth commentaries. Features include a video clip creation tool, synchronized transcripts, and instructor’s manuals with teaching materials.

    How to use Psychotherapy.net
    Create a free account in order to use RedShelf. For help with RedShelf see "RedShelf Responds to COVID-19 Outbreak."

    "To ensure that all students have access to their course materials amidst the COVID-19 outbreak, we're partnering with the publishing community to provide you with up to 7 free eBooks from participating publishers. (Program applies to students at non-profit, semester-based schools, and access runs through May 25th.)"
    Trial
    Includes discographical, African-American, big band and swing, critical research, regional, avant-garde, traditional, industry, and foreign journal titles, as well as other “genres.” Focus is on archival collection rather than continuing publications.

  • About RIPM Jazz Periodicals Library
  • Journal Subjects

    "The RIPM Center is closed, and perhaps like us, you are working at home on your computer. To assist you with your music research during this unsettling time of COVID-19, RIPM will ... be accessible for unlimited use by your institution’s authorized users, both within your institution and via remote access."
  • An expansion of the former RIPM e-Library. More information at https://www.ripm.org/index.php?page=preservationseries

    "The RIPM Center is closed, and perhaps like us, you are working at home on your computer. To assist you with your music research during this unsettling time of COVID-19, RIPM will ... be accessible for unlimited use by your institution’s authorized users, both within your institution and via remote access."
    Graduate Center access to the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Gold Collection includes more than 40 current peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences, including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics. See more... for the current journals title list.

    Also included in the Gold Collection:

    South Asia Open Archives is a free open-access resource for research and teaching: a rich and growing curated collection of key historical and contemporary sources from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region. SAOA's collection currently contains hundreds of thousands of pages of books, journals, newspapers, census data, magazines, and documents, with particular focus on social & economic history, literature, women & gender, and caste & social structure.
    Synthetic Reaction Updates is a literature updating service for keeping current with recent developments in synthetic organic chemistry. Covering a wide range of primary sources, Synthetic Reaction Updates includes the most important reactions published in the recent scientific literature, presented as easy to read reaction schemes that are searchable by topic and reaction type. Part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Gold Collection.
    The Literary Encyclopedia at www.litencyc.com will extend free access to Graduate Center users until the end of June.

    The Literary Encyclopedia was founded in 1998 to provide a scholarly online resource for university-level teaching and research. Its scope is world literatures and cultures, from the classical to the present, and it provides biographies of writers and other salient persons, profiles of major and minor literary texts, plus overview essays on criticism and the context of literary production.

    The Literary Encyclopedia platform includes 8000+ full-length articles plus some 10,000 short notes and listings of more than 32,000 works. It is divided into 94 volumes and edited by a corpus of 120 scholars, each with recognized expertise in their respective fields. TLE articles are peer-reviewed.

    More detailed information on TLE – including its publishing model, editorial policies, structure and content – can be found on its homepage at www.litencyc.com, under the ABOUT tab.
    "In recognition of the impact of coronavirus on campus instruction and the rise of unplanned distance learning, University of California Press is pleased to make all of our online journals content free to all through June 2020." Full statement here: https://www.ucpress.edu/blog/49700/free-access-to-all-uc-press-journals-through-june-2020/
    "In response to the request of the International Coalition of Library Consortia (ICOLC) for 'creative solutions that allows critical access to publisher content for the research and public health communities,' University of Michigan Press will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) free-to-read for the remainder of the academic term, from Friday, March 20 until the end of April 2020." Full statement here: http://blog.press.umich.edu/2020/03/ump-covid-19-free-access/.
    Instructions on creating a Bookshelf account. Once you create an account with an institution-provided email address (example: @gradcenter.cuny.edu), log in and click on the “Explore” tab in the upper left corner of the screen.

    Users may add up to seven (7) titles to their account for free. There is a “counter” in the lower-left corner of the Bookshelf screen to help users keep track of the number of books accessed.  

    "VitalSource Helps supports students at semester-calendar schools who may have lost access to course materials due to their campus moving online to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Students and instructors at impacted 2 and 4-year non-profit institutions in the U.S. and Canada can now access an expansive catalog of etexts, through May 25, 2020 in the US, at no charge. This program is made possible by the support of leading publishers, campus retailers, and independent bookstores in higher education."

    For more info see the FAQ page.
    title
    Loading...