Skip to Main Content

Fall 2021: What to know about using the Mina Rees Library.

Research Guides

Covid-19 Continuity of Library Services

Service Updates

Welcome to the Mina Rees Library! Access is limited to currently enrolled CUNY students, faculty and staff at this time. Please update your vaccination status as per building policy. Reservations are not required to access the Library. 

Study Rooms: There are no private study rooms in the Library where Zoom meetings or talking are permitted. Please contact your Department about spaces available elsewhere in the building where this may be possible.

Printing, scanning, and computers in the Library are available for GC and SLU affiliates. 

For currently enrolled CUNY students/faculty/staff from other campuses: Please request a Guest Login at Reference Desk or Circulation Desk to use the computers on site. Feel free to bring your own device to access the Wifi via the Guest network. Guest printing is 15 cents per page.

Hours & Circulation: Fall 2021 Library Hours are 10am-6pm, Monday through Friday, closed on Saturday and Sunday. Books may be checked out on the 1st Floor of the Library, and book returns may be placed in the book drop by Security in the Lobby, or inside the Library entrance. Interlibrary loan is now circulating print materials and other physical items for pickup at the Circulation Desk. 

Reference Desk is open on the 2nd Floor from 12pm-5pm, Monday-Friday. Feel free to contact us via live 24/7 chat reference or by email: ref@gc.cuny.edu

Borrowing and Digital Delivery

Access to the Physical Collections

Our physical collections, including print books and journals, dissertations, microfilm, and audiovisual materials are available.

If there is an item that you need that we do not have access to at the Mina Rees Library, consider placing an interlibrary loan request, using the ebook search service or contacting your liaison librarian to look for alternative access.

Returning Materials and Late Fees

CUNY libraries have suspended regular overdue fines as well as fines for recalled items. All CUNY libraries now allow at least nine renewals of circulating items and will automatically renew items checked out to you.

If you'd like to return your items, the Circulation Desk is open (10am-6pm, Monday-Friday) and accepting returns. There is also a book drop in the Lobby next to the Security Desk.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is fully operational via our regular ILLIAD system. Any item can be requested, regardless of whether the GC or any CUNY library owns a copy. Please contact us at ill@gc.cuny.edu if you need any further information about our services.

Technology Loans

Printers, Scanners, and Computers in the Library

As a Graduate Center affiliate, you have access to free, unlimited printing in the Library. Feel free to use the printers on the 2nd Floor, logging in with your GC Network ID (the same login you use for remote access to Library databases).

Scanners are available as well as microfilm readers. You will find these on the 2nd Floor, behind the Reference Desk. No login is required to use a scanner.

Computers in the Library require a GC Network ID and password - if you're a visitor, please request a Guest Login at the Circulation Desk (1st Floor) or at the Reference Desk (2nd Floor).

Graduate Center Laptop Loans

Students may request a laptop from IT Services using the request form.

In order to borrow a laptops you must meet all of the following criteria: 

  • Be registered for Fall 2021 classes with no registration holds on your record.
  • Be able to show a GC ID if you will be picking up a laptop.

Contact IT Services for further assistance.

Library Collections and Resources

Online access to library resources is limited to Graduate Center and SLU affiliates and requires a GC Network ID. Your GC Network ID will also provide access to Interlibrary Loan Services at the GC.

GC Network ID credentials are not the same as CUNYfirst credentials. In most cases, your username is your first initial followed by your last name; if you are at SLU, log in with your EMPLID and password provided by SLU IT.

Forgot your password? GC affiliates can use GC IT's self-service password reset site. SLU affiliates should contact SLU IT at ITHelpDesk@slu.cuny.edu.

Need to view or manage your current book loans? Log into your Library/OneSearch account using your CUNY Login. As of August 3, 2020, CUNY Libraries no longer use a barcode number to access your account online.

In addition to your Library/OneSearch account, there are other accounts users need at CUNY. These include a GC Network Account, GC Email, CUNYFirst, CUNY Portal, CUNY Virtual Desktop, CUNY Academic Commons, OpenCUNY, and others. Learn more about them on the CUNY Accounts page.

Ebooks: How to find online monographs

  1. Use OneSearch: The majority of our GC Library ebooks display in this search. GC affiliates have access to ebooks that CUNY licenses for all campuses and those in our GC collections; both of these corpuses display in the GC view of OneSearch
  2. Databases A-Z: all of our ebook collections are included here. You can even see those that are not restricted by DRM.
  3. View links to our ebook collections along with news and search tips on our Ebooks Research Guide.
  4. Make a request for a book chapter via Interlibrary Loan
  5. Use our Ebook Search Service: a librarian will check all available ebook collections for you within a few business days
  6. Do you have credentials for another CUNY campus or another university where you work? Remember even other CUNY schools will have different ebook titles.
  7. New York Public Library, Brooklyn Public Library, and Queens Public Library collections also include many ebooks that could be accessed remotely
  8. Speak with your liaison librarian for assistance in finding and searching for ebooks.

Streaming Film and Media

Consult the library's Film Studies Research Guide for a list of streaming media options.

Online Access for Graduate Center Alumni

GC alumni have access to a limited selection of library databases through a partnership between the library and the Alumni Affairs Office. Complete the Graduate Center Alumni Registration Form to request access. The Alumni Affairs Office gcalumni@gc.cuny.edu will reply (please allow 1-2 business days) with a username and password to access Databases for Alumni.

Open Access resources (indicated by this symbol:) on the the Graduate Center's A-Z Database List are freely available.

Research Help and Reference Services

Graduate Center librarians are available at the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of the Library between 12pm-5pm, M-F.

Email: Complete the question submission form and receive a reply by email during reference hours.

By Appointment: Schedule a one-on-one research consultation (phone or videoconference) by contacting your subject librarian.

Chat: Chat with an academic librarian 24/7. If available, a CUNY librarian will answer your chat.

Our chat service is available 24/7 and will be answered by a CUNY librarian, if available. When CUNY librarians are not available, an academic librarian from one of our partner libraries will assist you.

 

Contact Us

Reference: ref@gc.cuny.edu
Circulation: circ@gc.cuny.edu
Interlibrary Loan: ill@gc.cuny.edu
Dissertation Office: deposit@gc.cuny.edu

Workshops and Instruction

See our events calendar for library workshop listings. All workshops are delivered online.

Information for Instructors

Instructors can request library research instruction for classes by contacting their liaison librarian or filling out our class visit request form.

Course Reserves

Due to the move to distance learning and building closures, the library is fulfilling reserve requests with e-books (if they are available). We will do our best to provide online versions of your reading materials, which will be available in our E-Reserves system.

Instructors should review our full Reserves Guide for details about deadlines and making requests.

Reserves Quick Links

Reserves During COVID-19 (Fall 2021)

Our current policy remains that we will not purchase new or additional physical items for Reserves. We will do our best to provide online versions of your reading materials. Please bear in mind that some textbooks are simply unavailable to libraries as e-books.

Teaching faculty should complete the Course Reserve Request Form to request an item be placed on reserve (even if the library does not own the item).

  • Include as much information as possible when placing the request (call number or OneSearch link if the library owns the material, link to Amazon or ISBN if the library needs to purchase the material).

  • There is a reserve limit of 30 items per course. However, due to budget restrictions each course will be limited to 10 e-book purchases when requesting new material.

  • It generally takes 4-6 weeks for an item that GC Library does not own to be purchased, processed, and placed on reserve.

  • The library only handles book reserves at this time; articles and other items can be organized in Blackboard or by other CUNY tools for sharing with classes.    

    • Because of purchasing restrictions and delayed delivery of campus budgets, we do not have the capability to purchase new streaming videos. If the library already licenses a streaming video through one of our databases we will help you link to the item for your course.

Material which CAN be placed on Reserve

  • E-books
  • E-book Chapters
  • Streaming videos that the library has already licensed

Material which CANNOT be placed on Reserve

  • Interlibrary loan books
  • Library periodical issues or volumes
  • Scans of an entire book
  • Streaming video that requires a new license

Need assistance finding openly available materials for your course? For information about Open Educational Resources (OER) or Zero Textbook Cost (ZTC), see our OER Guide.

The Library will notify the instructor when materials are added to their Reserves page. Please note that new purchases will require additional time to process (order, receive, and catalog). Requests made prior to the deadline will be made available prior to the start of the semester, unless you are notified otherwise. Contact Reserves to check the status of your request.

Interlibrary Loan

NYPL and Public Libraries

New York Public Library (NYPL)

On-Site Research

Branch Libraries: All available New York Public Library branch locations are open with close to full service, including general library use and seating, unlimited browsing, computer access, and more. See NYPL's reopening page for any updates.

Research Libraries:  Service has been expanded at select locations to permit walk-in visitors who want to sit in public reading rooms, including the Rose Main Reading Room at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, for quiet study and computer use. Sign up for Research at NYPL email updates to receive announcements regarding NYPL's research services. 

Getting a new NYPL card

NYPL Print Book Services

  • Research Borrowing Programs: Graduate Center affiliated researchers are eligible to borrow select NYPL research materials usually reserved for on-site use.
  • Request Research Library Materials: Request general research materials in advance to make the most of your time at the library. 
  • Scan & Deliver Service: Eligible general collection items held at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts may be requested by clicking the Request button wherever it appears in the Shared Collection Catalog.
  • Circulating Collections: NYPL is offering nearly full service in the branch libraries, including general library use and seating, unlimited browsing, laptop and computer access, and more.  Request items for pick up at the branch of your choice.

Databases and Ebooks

See our NYPL research guide for links and updates

Brooklyn Public Library and Queens Public Library

The Brooklyn Public Library and Queens Public Library are open at this time. See this post for additional links to their programs and to find out how to apply for a library card. View the branch map and learn more on the BPL's website

The Queens Public Library is open for browsing, seating, and expanded hours. Full details are available on the QPL's website