- Accessible Archives
This resource collects many historic, primary source newspapers and periodicals, such as an African American newspapers, Civil War publications, early women’s periodicals and materials published by Frederick Douglass, Harriet Tubman, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony and more. 171 books and 63 journals are included.
- ARTFL Project
Over 2,600 French literary texts from the University of Chicago. The New York Public Library offers a more complete version of ARTFL texts online.
- Black Drama
Includes 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights. Includes information about productions, theaters, theater companies, playbills, photographs, and more.
- Black Thought and Culture
Over 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, speeches, letters, and interviews. The 1,100 figures covered, when the database is complete, will include James Baldwin, Amiri Baraka, Ralph Bunche, Angela Davis, Frederick Douglass, W. E. B. Du Bois, Ralph Ellison, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, Thurgood Marshall, Huey Newton, Jackie Robinson, Paul Robeson, Bobby Seale, Booker T. Washington, Cornel West, and Richard Wright.
- Cambridge Companions Online
Full text of the Cambridge University Press companions to literature, the classics, music, philosophy, religion, and culture.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Scanned images of the text of over 118,500 books published in English between 1473 and 1700. Includes information about resizing text, printing multiple pages, and citing EEBO titles.
- Ebook Library (EBL)
EBL offers electronic books in a variety of subjects. Items in EBL are typically course-reserve readings and are listed in the CUNY Catalog. EBL titles are available only to Graduate Center students, faculty, and staff and may be access only by logging in to the Graduate Center network, even within the Graduate Center.
Approximately 68,000 electronic books in all disciplines from such publishers as BIOS Scientific Publishers, Brill Academic Publishers, Brookings Institution,Cambridge University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press,Greenwood Press, Harvard University Press, John Wiley, Johns Hopkins University Press, Kluwer Academic Publishers, Manchester University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Palgrave-Macmillan, Princeton University Press, Random House, Springer, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, World Bank, and Yale University Press. All titles appear in the CUNY Catalog.
- EBSCO eBook Collection
Formerly known as NetLibrary the EBSCO eBook Collection provides more than 2,800 recent scholarly titles. All available titles also appear in the CUNY Catalog.
- Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO)
ECCO offers every page of 180,000 books published during the eighteenth century in English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Welsh. In addition to searches by author, title, and publisher, these books may be searched by individual categories such as fine arts, history and geography, law, literature and language, medicine, science, and technology, religion and philosophy, social sciences, general reference, or a combination of subjects. Illustrated works may be searched by cartoon, map, music, portrait, etc.
- Handbooks in Economics Series
Text of 21 Elsevier titles.
- Loeb Classical Library
Harvard University Press presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts.
- Making of the Modern World
The Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature covers economics, banking, finance, transportation, manufacturing, history, political science, and sociology and includes the text of 62,400 books, pamphlets, essays, and serials published during 1460-1850.
A collection of over 4,500 ebooks in a broad range of subjects. Please note that only one patron may view any individual ebook in this collection at one time.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Primary sources dealing with East-West diplomacy; British politics and society; British theater, music, and literature; European literature; photography; science, technology, and medicine; and the status of women.
- Ovid Nursing Ebooks
We have access to two Ovid ebook collections in the subject area of nursing: LWW JBI Collection 2014 and Nursing Book Collection 2013 (306 titles total)
- Oxford Handbooks Online
Collection of 457 Oxford University Press handbooks in all available subjects. Available titles may also be found in the CUNY Catalog
- Oxford Scholarly Editions Online
Annotated editions of hundreds of poems, plays, and prose works by English writers 1485-1600.
- Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text of scholarly books published by Oxford University Press. While the Graduate Center subscription allows access to abstracts of books in other disciplines, text is available for titles only in history, linguistics, music, philosophy, political science, and psychology. These titles also appear in the CUNY Catalog
- Palgrave Connect
Over 4,000 scholarly books published during 2010-2013. The GC subscribes to collections in the following areas: Business and Management, Economics and Finance, Education, History, Language and Linguistics, Literature, Media and Culture, Political and International Studies, Religion and Philosophy, Social Sciences, and Theatre and Performance. These titles also appear in the CUNY Catalog
- Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (PEP)
Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing provides the full text of 60 psychoanalysis journals from 1871 through 2010, 96 classic psychoanalytic books, and all 24 volumes of The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud. These titles may also be found in the CUNY Catalog.
This American Psychological Association (APA) database provides the full text of more than 2,000 APA books published since 1950, including over 100 out-of-print titles. Also included are 1,500 archival resources from other publishers dating back to the 1660s and more than 1,500 entries from Encyclopedia of Psychology, published in 2000 by APA and Oxford University Press. These titles may also be found in the CUNY Catalog.
- Sabin Americana, 1500–1926
Based on Joseph Sabin’s famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean.
- SAGE Knowledge
Text of 31 handbooks covering such subjects as digital dissertations, multicultural measures, environmental change, economic geography, historical theory, international relations, Islamic studies, performance studies, qualitative and quantitative research in psychology, race and ethnic studies, social anthropology, sociolinguistics, and theories of social psychology.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Books, pamphlets, periodicals, manuscripts, Supreme Court records, and other nineteenth-century materials related to slavery and abolition.
- Springer eBook Collection
Text of over 40,000 Springer books published from 2005 to the present as well as book series dating back to 1997. The titles cover biomedical and life sciences, computer science, medicine, mathematics, physics, and related fields. These titles may also be found in the CUNY Catalog.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Digital collection of mostly literary texts in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium, AD 1453. Included are 12,000 works by 3,700 authors. Users can create a profile to use features such as setting preferences and saving searches.
- Twayne's Authors Series
Introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres. This eBook resource from Gale features the content of nearly 900 books from six print series — U.S. Authors Series Classic, English Writers Series Classic, World Authors Series Classic, Masterwork Studies, Studies in Short Fiction, and updated editions of U.S. Authors, World Authors and English Authors.