The Graduate Center Library supports the Graduate Center curriculum, and extends as possible to support faculty and graduate research.
The library materials tax levy budget allocated by the Provost is supplemented by Graduate Center student technology fee (STF) funds. Annual STF allocations for materials, projects, equipment, and services are proposed by the student-faculty STF committee and approved by the Graduate Center President. The budget is also supplemented by donations from individuals and corporations, and by New York State library aid. The Graduate Center’s Friends of the Library provide a steady stream of funding for both materials and for staff development.
CUNY libraries share reciprocal borrowing and return privileges, facilitated through an intra-CUNY borrowing system, CLICS. The Graduate Center is active in lending networks that provide quick delivery of books, articles, and specialized works, including the New York State IDS Project the Center for Research Libraries.
The CUNY Office of Library Services (OLS), advised by the CUNY Libraries Electronic Resources Advisory Committee (ERAC), acquires a set of core e-resources shared by all CUNY libraries. Other e-resources are funded by subsets of CUNY libraries to serve their CUNY campuses. Still other e-resources are acquired by the Graduate Center Library to serve Graduate Center constituents only.
The Graduate Center Library partners with the New York Public Library (NYPL) in print and electronic collection development in the humanities and the social sciences. New York State funds the NYPL materials budget on CUNY’s behalf. CUNY Graduate Center students and faculty are NYPL’s core academic constituents with borrowing privileges at NYPL research libraries. Through NYPL’s partnership in the Manhattan Research Library Initiative (MaRLI), Graduate Center students and faculty may apply for borrowing privileges at New York University and Columbia University libraries. Graduate Center librarians consider NYPL holdings, licenses, and purchasing plans when building Graduate Center collections.
Graduate Center’s Archive-It Collection: GC-created websites and online projects archived using the Internet Archive’s Archive-It tool.
Digital Murray Hill: Explore New York City’s Murray Hill neighborhood through past and present images.
The Opening of the Erie Canal: An online exhibit in collaboration with the Seymour B. Durst Old York Library.Remember Me to Herald Square: Thirty-fourth Street from River to River: Images and descriptions of 34th Street past and present.
Activist Women’s Voices Archive, 1995-2000 is an oral history and archival project committed to documenting the voices of activist women in community-based New York City organizations. It is also available to the Graduate Center community on ArtStor (GC network credentials required).Deiro Collection is an archival collection of materials related to the professional and personal lives of Guido Deiro (1886-1950), Pietro Deiro Sr. (1888-1954) and Pietro “Lee” Deiro Jr. (1913-1999).
The library acquires nearly all items requested for course reserves and for departmental reading exam lists. In addition, librarians manage discretionary funds for subject-related purchases. Librarians collaborate with Graduate Center faculty, students, administration, and with each other to decide upon purchases supporting cross-disciplinary and subject-specific research. Graduate Center librarians take NYPL resources into account when making purchase decisions for the Graduate Center, and when making recommendations for NYPL to develop collections to support GC scholarship.
The Graduate Center Library subscribes to journals in electronic format. The library acquires books, scores, and reference works in online formats when available with as little restriction on use and reproduction as possible. Faculty may request a print edition if print is required. Audio and visual recordings are acquired selectively and only in direct support of the curriculum.
Librarians continuously review the GC library collection. Works duplicated in electronic formats, damaged and outworn items, and non-current editions not supporting the current curriculum may be removed from the collection. Changes to holdings of electronic resources (items added or removed from the collection) are documented on this guide.
Archives & Special Collections
The Graduate Center Library houses print elements of the Graduate Center’s institutional archives. A few Graduate Center special collections reflect Graduate Center history, scholarship, and institutional interests.
The Graduate Center Library is not accepting gifts or book donations at this time.
Suggest New Materials
Have a suggestion for our collection? We welcome suggestions for books and other materials.