This is the "Home" page of the "Urban Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Urban Studies  

Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gc.cuny.edu/urban_studies Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Upcoming Workshops

These workshops and others can also be found on the library calendar

Unless otherwise noted, register for each workshop by clicking on the title. 

March

Data for Social Justice (register for each section separately)

Data for Social Justice part 1: Finding Data March 6, 6.30-8pm

This class will introduce various sources of data (including demographic, economic, and social data) that can be analyzed and mapped to advance social justice initiatives.

Data for Social Justice part 2: Analyzing and Visualizing Data March 13, 6.30-8pm

This class will cover different web applications and software available for analyzing and visualizing demographic, economic, and social data.

Data for Social Justice: Mapping Data March 27, 6.30-8pm

This class will explore both free and subscription GIS resources that can be used to create compelling maps that advance social justice causes.

SPSS (register for each section separately)

Basic SPSS March 5, 6.30-8pm

This class will give a general overview of the SPSS statistical package: What is it? What can it do? What do you need to know to get started with it?

Advanced SPSS March 26, 6.30-8pm

This hands-on workshop will cover SPSS in more depth: How do you enter and explore data with SPSS? How do you manage and analyze your data?

 

April

Measuring and Increasing Your Scholarly Impact April 9, 6.30-8pm

This class will introduce the metrics currently used to evaluate scholarly journals, authors, and articles, and will discuss the effect on impact of making works available open access.

 

 

      

    Recommended General Resources

    • America: History & Life
      Abstracts of articles and reviews from over 1,700 journals published since 1954.
    • Multi-Database Search
      This resource allows the simultaneous searching of all the full-text and bibliographic databases to which all of CUNY subscribes and all EBSCO databses, as well as the CUNY+ Online Catalog.
    • Academic Search Complete
      Interdisciplinary full-text database. Full text of over 8,700 journals, including 7.600 peer-reviewed journals, with indexing for another 4,000 titles.
    • JSTOR
      The Arts and Sciences I-IX collections of JSTOR offer the full text of 1,729 scholarly journals.
    • Project Muse
      Full text of 316 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Click here for a list of the available titles.
    • Humanities Full Text
      Includes abstracts of articles published in English from 1984 to the present in all fields of the humanities. Includes text from 287 periodicals.

      Note: indexes journals since 1984
    • Social Sciences Full Text
      Indexes English-language periodicals in the social sciences from 1983 to the present. Includes abstracts for articles published beginning January 1994. Includes full text from 250 periodicals.

      Note: indexes articles since 1983
    • New York Times Full Text
      Actual page images from 1851 through 2007.
    • PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service International)
      Bibliographic citations from journals, books, government documents, and additional sources dealing with public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general from 1915 to the present.
    • Web of Science

    My Profile

    Profile Image
    Stephen Klein
    Contact Info
    Need individual research help or class based instruction? Schedule a research appointment -or- instruction request. Or any other requests, feel free to send me an email:
    Send Email
     

    Copyright © 2010 Mina Rees Library - All Rights Reserved CUNY Graduate Center

    Contact Us| 365 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY | Circulation:(212) 817-7083 | Reference:(212) 817-7077

    Website Problems? Contact Library Webmaster

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip