Citation Managers & Style Guides

Introduction to RefWorks

RefWorks is an online bibliographic management tool that allows you to import citations directly from library databases, create bibliographies, and format your bibliography and in-text citations while you write in Microsoft Word.

There are two RefWorks interfaces to choose from. If you already have a RefWorks account, sign into "Legacy" RefWorks. If you haven't used RefWorks before, create a new account in the New RefWorks interface. More information below:

"Legacy" RefWorks

Legacy RefWorks Logo

 

If you are using Legacy RefWorks and need assistance, you may find these online resources useful:

Exporting to RefWorks from Library Databases

Example: direct export of citation from EBSCO database.

Example of direct export to RefWorks

 

When you want to export a citation directly from a library database to your RefWorks library, you will be asked which version of RefWorks you want to use.

Select legacy RefWorks (left) if you are using the old version of RefWorks; select new RefWorks (right) if you have created an account in the new interface. See above for more information about the different versions.

Export to RefWorks from Library Database

If you don't want to see this screen again, make sure you check the small box at the bottom!

New RefWorks

New RefWorks Logo

To create a RefWorks account:

  1. Go to http://refworks.proquest.com and click the “sign up” link.

  2. Fill in your information making sure to use your institutional email address (you can’t sign up with @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, etc.).  

Once you activate your account (you'll receive an email with a link to complete the registration process), you’ll get access immediately and can get started managing your documents.

 

IMPORTANT: If you are already have a RefWorks account in the legacy interface, don't create a new account! You won't be able to use New RefWorks to continue work on any documents you started using Write-N-Cite in the Legacy version.

 

Support for New RefWorks can be found in these resources: