E-Journal Directories
- AnthroSourceCurrent issues of the American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Part of Wiley Online Library.
- Anthropological Index OnlineAIO indexes nearly 800 journals published in more than 40 languages held in the British Museum's Anthropology Library. Records span 1957 to the present and cover all branches and areas of anthropology, including archaeology, cultural ethnography, linguistics, and physical anthropology.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals IndexHAPI indexes 400+ journals and includes the contents of 700+ journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1967. Includes over 335,000 citations and more than 170,000 links to full text articles covering political, economic and social issues along with the arts and humanities. Search using English, Spanish, or Portuguese.
- Open J-GateOver 8,000 open access journals from all over the world. Browse by subject to find journals covering anthropology and archaeology. Does not include information about the journals, only pdfs of articles.
- Serials DirectoryFull bibliographic information and contact details for nearly 250,000 U.S. and international periodicals. Entries include indexing and abstracting information showing database coverage, ISSNs, publication frequency, title changes, Library of Congress classification, and more.
Center for Research Libraries
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries provides a shared collection of five million books, journals, documents and newspapers to supplement member libraries’ holdings in the humanities, science, and social sciences. With a strategic emphasis on expanding electronic access to international primary source collections, CRL participates in a number of cooperative digitization efforts, yielding millions of pages of digitized content to date.
CRL resources include:
Anthropology Best Bets
- eHRAF World CultureseHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database containing descriptive information on cultures (based on the Outline of World Cultures or OWC) and ethnic groups from around the world. Each culture collection in eHRAF contains a variety of documents (books, articles, monographs, and dissertations) that have been subject-indexed at the paragraph level by trained anthropologists according to HRAF’s comprehensive Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). This feature extends search capability well beyond keyword searching, allowing for precise culture and subject retrieval, even in a foreign language. As an ethnographic database, eHRAF appeals to many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, and any other area with an interest in cultural diversity or anthropology.
- EthnologueThe Ethnologue: Languages of the World database provides information about the world’s nearly 7,500 contemporary languages, including statistical, mapping, dialect, and usage data. Language descriptions in Ethnologue are organized by world area, UN region and country. Entries include the region(s) of use within the countries where the language is spoken, alternate names for the language, dialects of the language, the three-letter code that identifies the language according to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO 639-3) standard, the estimated population of speakers, genetic classification of the language, domains of language use and viability, language vitality rating according to EGIDS, scripts used to write the language, and citations of literature and other products of language development.
- JSTORA digital library containing journals, books, images, and primary sources. The GC’s subscription includes JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of scholarly journals across the social sciences and humanities. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. Also included are more than 700 freely accessible collections of illustrations, letters, literary documents, newspapers, magazines, photographs, postcards, and yearbooks; open access alternative press publications from the latter half of the 20th century; and thousands of research reports. 3+ million images in Artstor are also now discoverable in JSTOR. Browse content by subject, title, or collection, or search across the full resource. Register for a free personal account to save materials and organize your work.
- Project MuseThe CUNY and Graduate Center subscriptions provide access to the full text of nearly 400 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences along with over 70,000 e-books and 4,600 open access books. Select “Browse All Muse” and filter by Access type “Only content I have access to” to see subscribed and OA content. Or look for the green check mark and OA icons that appear next to accessible titles when searching across the platform. E-books are also available via the separate link to Project Muse E-Books.
- SAGE Journals OnlineFull text of 744 SAGE journals in the social sciences, sciences, humanities, technology, and medicine. Offers option of searching SAGE journals to which the Graduate Center does not have full-text access.
- Serials DirectoryFull bibliographic information and contact details for nearly 250,000 U.S. and international periodicals. Entries include indexing and abstracting information showing database coverage, ISSNs, publication frequency, title changes, Library of Congress classification, and more.
- Social Sciences Full TextProvides access to English-language social science journals, including full text from 215 titles beginning in 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 titles beginning in 1983, 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and more.
- Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1983Indexes hundreds of important journals in the social sciences. Subject coverage Includes addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, communications and mass media, community health and medical care, criminal justice, economics, environmental studies, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology and urban studies.
- Social Science Premium CollectionThis collection includes databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing, and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more. Click "more" to see the full list of databases included in this collection.
- SocINDEX with Full TextComprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of study. The database features 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains abstracts for more than 4,650 journals, some dating to 1895 and extensive indexing for books/monographs and conference papers. Contains full text for more than 830 books and monographs, 16,800 conference papers, and 860 journals dating back to 1908. Searchable cited references and thousands of author profiles are also included.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)Bibliographic citation, abstract, cited references, and times cited. These records are for articles in major social science journals from 1975 to the present.
- Social Science DatabaseSocial Science Database indexes over 1,000 social science journals, with full text for 900 titles, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- Web of ScienceMassive multidisciplinary index of scholarly publications, with especially strong coverage of the sciences and social sciences. Includes numerous sub-databases, most notably the Web of Science Core Collection, which provides cover-to-cover indexing of 21,000+ peer-reviewed journals. Includes citation data for publications, allowing searchers to identify highly cited articles, find citations to a given article/author, and track citations over time. Includes detailed author records and several unique search capabilities, such as the ability to search by author affiliation, grant number, or chemical structure. Also includes awarded grant information and associated publications.
Other Useful Databases
- Arts and Humanities Citation IndexPart of Web of Science, this database finds bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and the number of times cited for articles from 1,160 international journals in the arts and humanities since 1975 as well as relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Approximately 2,300 new records containing 15,525 new references are added each week.
- Academic Search CompleteA multi-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, the database includes indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications, such as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. While full text is available as far back as 1887 for a few titles, the text of most titles is available only for the past decade or two.
- America: History & LifeAbstracts of articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
- Artstor
Artstor images and collections will be available on the JSTOR platform starting August 1, 2024.
Please note: To download and save images, you must register for your own personal account (click "Register" for first time users on the upper right of the screen). The GC does not have an institutional login.
Artstor is a rich database of over 2.5 million images of art and architecture from 300 museums, libraries, artists, scholars, and photo archives around the world. In addition to its core collections, Artstor offers public collections consisting of roughly 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files cataloged, managed, and shared by various institutions. Images in Artstor may be freely used in noncommercial educational and scholarly activities. Artstor’s images are now also discoverable in JSTOR. See the “Artstor on JSTOR” guide.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History)This resource contains full-text of over 500 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Includes Ethnic NewsWatch, which covers 1990 to the present, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which includes materials dating back to 1959 and provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Publications are in a wide variety of languages including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Creole, Inuktitut, Russian, Hindi, Japanese, Arabic, and others.
- Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Indexes more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages from 1955 to the present. Includes links to full text, where available.
- Journal Citation ReportsPresents an array of citation-based metrics for journals indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection. Provides Journal Impact Factor (i.e., average number of citations in a given year to articles published by that journal in the previous two years, averaged over the number of articles published in those two years) for many but not all covered journals. Search or browse the database by journal (title or ISSN), subject category, or publisher. Compare metrics for up to four journals simultaneously.
- PAIS Index - International and ArchiveBibliographic citations from international sources including journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, covering public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general from 1915 to the present.
Google Scholar
Interlibrary Loan
- ILL requestsMake an ILL request for any article you need.
Subject Guide
Beth Posner
(she/her)
Contact:
212-817-7051
Available times for consultations vary so please email to set up an appointment.