Papers and Conferences
Popular Library Resources
- Interlibrary LoanNeed an article the Graduate Center doesn't have? Need a book that isn't available at CUNY? Request it through Interlibrary Loan.
- 24/7 Chat ReferenceNeed help now? Chat with a librarian 24/7!
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Holdings of thousands of American and international libraries. Make ILL requests with the Find it! button.
- CRL Research GuideThe College and Research Libraries has a guide to religion and philosophical materials in their collection.
Classics Resources Guide
This guide provides you with easy access to classics and related resources. Use the tabs towards the top of the page to go to the relevant section. Please contact me if you need further assistance, I'm here to help!
To find sources for journal and newspaper articles in print and online, select the Articles/Databases tab. If you have a citation and need to know if the library subscribes to the journal, search the title on the journals page (http://library.gc.cuny.edu/home.php?q=jour#journals).
To search for print and electronic books select the 'Books' tab
To search archival collections and primary source databases select the 'Primary Sources' tab
For information on bibliographic citation styles and citation managers such as Zotero select the 'Citing Sources' tab
For information on grants and fellowship opportunities select the 'Grants & Funding' tab
Reference Online (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)
- Brill's Dictionary of Ancient GreekThe Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is the English translation of Franco Montanari’s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. It brings together 140,000 headwords taken from the literature, papyri, inscriptions and other sources of the archaic period up to the 6th Century CE, and occasionally beyond. Translated and edited under the auspices of The Center for Hellenic Studies in Washington, DC, The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is based on the completely revised 3rd Italian edition published in 2013 by Loescher Editore, Torino.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is a platform for searching across the following art reference works listed below. Create an optional subscriber account to save searches.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
- The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd ed.)
- The Oxford Companion to Western Art
- And the Grove Dictionary of Art, which can also be searched separately at Grove Art Online
- (CUNY does not subscribe to the Benezit Dictionary of Artists)
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographies in American literature, Anthropology, Atlantic history, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Education, International Relations, Islamic studies, Latin American studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, the Renaissance and Reformation, and Victorian Literature. Bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources. - Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With 600,000 words and 3.7 million quotations from over 1,000 years, the OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words in the English language. The OED is updated quarterly with revised entries and new words and senses. The updates make up the Third Edition of the OED. - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text of nearly 400 Oxford University Press reference works in 25 core subject areas. Titles include Oxford Companions to American Literature, American Theatre, the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Music, Philosophy, Politics of the World, Shakespeare, United States History, and Western Art. Available titles may be found in OneSearch.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe SEP is open source and maintained by Stanford University. A global collection of experts and scholars in the area of philosophy work together to expand and maintain the encyclopedia.
Subject Guide
Room 2311
CUNY Graduate Center
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016-4309
News from the Graduate Center Library Blog
Library Workshops
Check the library calendar for upcoming workshops about library research and scholarly publishing.