Gale Literature searches multiple databases at once, combining Gale Literature Resource Center (biographies, overviews, criticism, audio interviews, and reviews), Gale LitFinder (full text poems, plays, short stories, and speeches from all eras), and Gale eBooks (reference sources). It also includes the Gale Literary Index covering 165,000 authors and 215,000 works, and workflow tools to analyze information.

This resource contains full-text of over 500 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Includes Ethnic NewsWatch, which covers 1990 to the present, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which includes materials dating back to 1959 and provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Publications are in a wide variety of languages including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Creole, Inuktitut, Russian, Hindi, Japanese, Arabic, and others.

This online resource for the visual study of human culture and behavior contains more than 2,000 hours of classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, covering hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world. Includes video from leading producers in the discipline, previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field, and select feature films. Wherever possible, videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, and other full-text materials.

A multi-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, the database includes indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications, such as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. While full text is available as far back as 1887 for a few titles, the text of most titles is available only for the past decade or two.

Provides full-text articles in all subject areas from over 19,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources as well as thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR (National Public Radio) and CNN, and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. Subjects covered include biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.

The API indexes over 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines from 1991 to the present. International and interdisciplinary in scope, the API spans the social sciences and humanities with a focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, LGBTQ issues, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.

A digital library containing journals, books, images, and primary sources. The GC’s subscription includes JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of scholarly journals across the social sciences and humanities. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. Also included are more than 700 freely accessible collections of illustrations, letters, literary documents, newspapers, magazines, photographs, postcards, and yearbooks; open access alternative press publications from the latter half of the 20th century; and thousands of research reports. 3+ million images in Artstor are also now discoverable in JSTOR. Browse content by subject, title, or collection, or search across the full resource. Register for a free personal account to save materials and organize your work.

The CUNY and Graduate Center subscriptions provide access to the full text of nearly 400 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences along with over 70,000 e-books and 4,600 open access books. Select “Browse All Muse” and filter by Access type “Only content I have access to” to see subscribed and OA content. Or look for the green check mark and OA icons that appear next to accessible titles when searching across the platform. E-books are also available via the separate link to Project Muse E-Books.

Over 70,000 titles of streaming video content, more than half of which is contemporary video from the 1890s to the 1980s. Includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, demonstrations, news programs and newsreels that span a wide range of subjects, including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs from the Civil War. Includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland planter William Claytor. The collection also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long. Search or browse by Title, Historical Event, Subject, Name, Place, Content Type, or Publisher.

Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
Oxford Academic provides access to scholarly and academic books and journals from Oxford University Press and its partners. The publications cover a wide range of subjects, including the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. Access to the AMA Manual of Style is also included.

Content from Oxford Handbooks, University Press Scholarship Online, Oxford Scholarship Online, and Very Short Introductions can now be found through Oxford Academic.