Additional Library Resources
- Library HomepageMain page of the Mina Rees Library website
- CUNY library catalogSearch for books and journals at all CUNY libraries. If a book is not available at the Graduate Center but is available at a CUNY library you can have it delivered to the GC by clicking 'request'
- Interlibrary LoanNeed an article from a journal not at the Grad Center? Need a book that isn't available at any CUNY library? Go here to submit an interlibrary loan request
- 24/7 chat and email referenceNeed an answer right away? Reference help available 24 hours a day through Ask-A-Librarian chat and email service.
MaRLI-Manhattan Research Library Initiative
This research initiative allows select researchers access and circulation privileges at Columbia University, NYU, and NYPL research libraries. To be eligible you must have a NYPL library card and demonstrate research need. Further information about MaRLI and the application process can be found on the NYPL website http://marli.libguides.com/welcome
Anthropology Resources Guide
This guide provides you with easy access to anthropology and related resources. Use the tabs towards the top of the page to go to the relevant section. Please contact me if you need further assistance, I'm here to help!
To find sources for journal and newspaper articles in print and online, select the Articles/Databases tab. If you have a citation and need to know if the library subscribes to the journal, search the title on the journals page (http://library.gc.cuny.edu/home.php?q=jour#journals).
To search for print and electronic books select the 'Books' tab
For information on bibliographic citation styles and citation managers such as Zotero select the 'Citing Sources' tab
For information on grants and fellowship opportunities select the 'Funding' tab
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
- Cambridge Histories Online 250 Cambridge University Press reference works published since 1960. Besides history, these titles cover economics, the history of science, the history of the book, language and linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political and social theory, religion, theatre and performing arts, and warfare.
- Encyclopaedia IslamicaGuide to important themes, subjects, and personages related to Islam. Because Encyclopaedia Islamica is in its early stages of development, only entries beginning with A are available.
- Encyclopaedia of the Qur'anBrill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of Qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within Qur'anic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur'an to appear in a Western language.
- Encyclopedia of Human Relationships Guide to theories, concepts, and empirical findings about human relationships.
- Encyclopedia of IslamComplete text of the second and third editions of this reference work.
- Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic CulturesCritical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim, and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library Reference books published by Gale, Brill Academic, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Sage, Salem Press, Wiley, and others. Titles include: 21st Century Anthropology; Encyclopedia of Anthropology; The Cambridge Handbook of Sociology; Encyclopedia of Gender and Society; Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society; Encyclopedia of World Cultures; and Encyclopedia of Social Problems.
- Nineteenth Century Masterfile Also known as Poole's Plus, this database includes over eight million citations to periodical articles, books, patents, and American and British government documents before 1925.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online Bibliographies in anthropology and other subjects. The bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources.
- Oxford English Dictionary The complete contents of the second edition of The Oxford English Dictionary.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Translations of over 2,000 French, German, Italian, and Spanish words and phrases.
- Oxford Reference OnlineMore than 100 Oxford University Press reference works. Titles include: Dictionary of the Social Sciences; Companion to Archaeology; Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology; Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East; Companion to Global Change; and Dictionary of Sociology.
- SocIndex with Full Text This EBSCO database indexes 2,540 journals in the social sciences, with full text as far back as 1895 for 253 journals, as well as the text for an additional 72 journals, 547 books, and 6,711 American Sociological Association and American Society of Criminology conference papers.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Mina Rees Library Room 2318 CUNY Graduate Center 365 Fifth Avenue New York, NY 10016-4309 (212) 817-7075 (212) 817-1649 (fax) Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
Loading...
