This is the "Getting Started" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gc.cuny.edu/history Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

My Profile

Profile Image
Stephen Klein
Contact Info
Need individual research help or class based instruction? Schedule a research appointment -or- instruction request. Or any other requests, feel free to send me an email:
Send Email

Additional Library Resources

  • CUNY Library Catalog
    Search for titles at all CUNY libraries. If a book is not available at the Graduate Center but is available at a CUNY library, you can have it delivered to the Graduate Center by clicking the Request button.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    Need an article from a journal not at the Graduate Center? Need a book that not available at any CUNY library? Go here to submit an interlibrary loan request.
  • 24/7 Chat and Email Reference
    Need an answer right away? Reference help is available 24 hours a day through Ask-A-Librarian chat and email service.
  • WorldCat
    Holdings of thousands of American and international libraries. Make ILL requests with the Find it! button.
 

History Resources Guide

This guide provides you with easy access to history and related resources. Use the tabs towards the top of the page to go to the relevant section. Please contact me if you need further assistance, I'm here to help!

To find sources for journal and newspaper articles in print and online, select the Articles/Databases tab.  If you have a citation and need to know if the library subscribes to the journal, search the title on the journals page (http://library.gc.cuny.edu/home.php?q=jour#journals).

To search for print and electronic books select the 'Books' tab

To search archival collections and primary source databases select the 'Primary Sources' tab

For information on bibliographic citation styles and citation managers such as Zotero select the 'Citing Sources' tab

For information on grants and fellowship opportunities select the 'Funding' tab

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

  • Oxford Reference Online
    More than 100 Oxford University Press reference works, including Oxford Companions to the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Philosophy, Politics of the World, United States History, and Western Art.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
    Reference books published by Gale, Brill Academic, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Sage, Salem Press, Wiley, and others. Titles include: Ancient Greece; American Civil War Reference Library; Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to AD 1000; Cambridge World History of Food; Dictionary of American History; Early Civilizations: Prehistoric Times to 500 C.E.; Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History; Vietnam War Reference Library.
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online  
      
    Bibliographies in Atlantic history, medieval studies, and the Renaissance and Reformation. The bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources.
  • Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
    Critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim, and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.
  • Oxford English Dictionary (OED)  
      
    The complete contents of the second edition of The Oxford English Dictionary.
  • Oxford Language Dictionaries Online  
      
    Translations of over 2,000 French, German, Italian, and Spanish words and phrases.
 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Upcoming Workshops

These workshops and others can also be found on the library calendar

Unless otherwise noted, register for each workshop by clicking on the title. 

March

Data for Social Justice (register for each section separately)

Data for Social Justice part 1: Finding Data March 6, 6.30-8pm

This class will introduce various sources of data (including demographic, economic, and social data) that can be analyzed and mapped to advance social justice initiatives.

Data for Social Justice part 2: Analyzing and Visualizing Data March 13, 6.30-8pm

This class will cover different web applications and software available for analyzing and visualizing demographic, economic, and social data.

Data for Social Justice: Mapping Data March 27, 6.30-8pm

This class will explore both free and subscription GIS resources that can be used to create compelling maps that advance social justice causes.

SPSS (register for each section separately)

Basic SPSS March 5, 6.30-8pm

This class will give a general overview of the SPSS statistical package: What is it? What can it do? What do you need to know to get started with it?

Advanced SPSS March 26, 6.30-8pm

This hands-on workshop will cover SPSS in more depth: How do you enter and explore data with SPSS? How do you manage and analyze your data?

 

April

Measuring and Increasing Your Scholarly Impact April 9, 6.30-8pm

This class will introduce the metrics currently used to evaluate scholarly journals, authors, and articles, and will discuss the effect on impact of making works available open access.

 

 

      

    Copyright © 2010 Mina Rees Library - All Rights Reserved CUNY Graduate Center

    Contact Us| 365 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY | Circulation:(212) 817-7083 | Reference:(212) 817-7077

    Website Problems? Contact Library Webmaster

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip