Looking for a Specific Journal?
Use our journal title search tool to see whether the library has access to a particular title, and what date ranges our subscriptions cover.
The Graduate Center Library welcomes journal subscription suggestions from the Graduate Center community. The library will carefully consider requests that are consistent with our Collection Policy. You are welcome to suggest a journal subscription.
Core Databases
-
Accessible Archives
Full-text access to 18th and 19th century American newspapers, magazines, books, and other publications. Collections include African American newspapers, Civil War publications, anti-slavery periodicals, early women’s magazines, a collection of women’s suffrage periodicals, and publications by Frederick Douglass, Harriet Tubman, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony and more. Over 170 books and more than 70 journals are included.
-
African American Historical Serials Collection via NYPL
Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
Documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922. Over 170 titles from 75 different institutions are fully text-searchable.
-
America: History & LifeAbstracts of articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
-
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals CollectionsA collection of over 7500 digitized American periodicals published from the 17th century through the late 19th century. The Graduate Center subscribes to the five series which cover all aspects of American society, including science, medicine, literature, politics, the history of slavery, the Civil War, Westward expansion, industry and professions, agriculture, religion, fashion, family life, culture and the arts, and more.
-
American Civil War: Letters and DiariesContains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs from the Civil War. Includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland planter William Claytor. The collection also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long. Search or browse by Title, Historical Event, Subject, Name, Place, Content Type, or Publisher.
-
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth CenturyOffers 33 archival collections related to issues and events in Latin American and Caribbean history. Provides original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and ephemera sourced from the United States and Europe.
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples via NYPL
Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
Citations to literature about native peoples of North America, including Aleuts; Eskimos or Inuit of Greenland, northern Canada, Alaska, and eastern Siberia; and other native peoples of Canada, the United States, and Mexico north of the northern boundary of Mesoamerica.
-
Cambridge Histories OnlineFirst published in 1902, Cambridge Histories span subject areas across the humanities and social sciences. The GC’s subscription includes over 400 titles in American History; Ancient & Classical Studies; Asian History, British & European History; Global History, Literature, Middle East & African Studies, Music & Theatre; Philosophy & Political Thought; and Religion.
**GC-subscribed Cambridge content is discoverable in CUNY OneSearch. -
Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersThis site from the Library of Congress includes a searchable directory containing information on more than 150,000 newspapers published in the U.S. since 1690. It also includes searchable digitized images of 3,600 selected local and regional newspapers published from 1777 to 1963, including more than 20 New York papers.
-
Communist Historical Newspaper Collection via NYPLPlease log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
The collection provides full-text access to major American communist newspapers: The Daily Worker (1924-1958); The Ohio Socialist (1917-1919); People's Daily World (1986-1990); People's Weekly World (1990-2013); Sunday Worker (1936-1958); The Toiler (1919-1922); The Worker (1922-1924); The Worker (1958-1968). -
Criminal Justice DatabaseIndexes over 620 international criminal justice publications from 1981 to the present, with full text for more than half of the titles. Supports research on crime, corrections administration, criminal law, criminal justice, law enforcement, addiction, family law, industrial security, and rehabilitation. Includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, and crime blogs.
-
Current Biography Illustrated via NYPL
Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
Full text of Current Biography magazine.
-
Economist Historical Archive: 1843-2020Historical archive of The Economist from 1843 to 2020 covering political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural issues around the world. Search across the archive or browse complete issues by date. Use the Journals tab to identify databases containing recent issues.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch (and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History)This resource contains full-text of over 500 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Includes Ethnic NewsWatch, which covers 1990 to the present, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which includes materials dating back to 1959 and provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Publications are in a wide variety of languages including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Creole, Inuktitut, Russian, Hindi, Japanese, Arabic, and others.
-
Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York via NYPL
Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
A collection of historical directories, member lists, and other name-rich sources, focusing on New York City during the long 19th century. Documents are fully text-searchable and originate from the print collection of the New-York Historical Society. Other categories of documents include maps, illustrated advertisements, burial lists, and gazetteers. Dates of Coverage: 1789-1914.
-
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals IndexHAPI indexes 400+ journals and includes the contents of 700+ journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1967. Includes over 335,000 citations and more than 170,000 links to full text articles covering political, economic and social issues along with the arts and humanities. Search using English, Spanish, or Portuguese.
-
Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Indexes more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages from 1955 to the present. Includes links to full text, where available.
-
Humanities International Complete via NYPL
Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,200 journals and 2.8 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for nearly 1,200 journals. Sources include scholarly journals and numerous specialized magazines covering archaeology, classical studies, dance, journalism, linguistics, performing arts, philosophy, theology and more. Indexing begins in 1984, and abstracting starts in 1994.
-
Left IndexGuide to the literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Topics covered include art and aesthetics, ecology and environment, education, history, the labor movement, law and globalization, philosophy, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, and sociology. Includes more than 507,000 citations and abstracts (with some full text) and spans from 1982 and earlier to present.
-
Manuscript Women's Letters and DiariesOver 102,000 pages of personal writings by American women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries drawn from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. The manuscripts date from 1750 to 1950 and include letters and diary entries of ordinary women that document their daily lives, and those of more well-known women such as Annie Sullivan, the teacher of Helen Keller; Ellen Tucker Emerson, daughter of Ralph Waldo Emerson, who describes life in Concord during the Civil War; and Abby Kelley Foster, an abolitionist and advocate for women’s rights.
-
NBER Working PapersFounded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. NBER research studies present data and findings but do not make policy recommendations.
Free NBER publications that are also available online include:
NBER Bulletin on Aging and Health
NBER Digest — Non-technical summaries of 4-8 working papers per month
NBER Reporter — News about the Bureau and its activities -
New York Review of BooksFull text of all New York Review of Books content from the first issue in 1963 to the present. Browse by year or issue or search across the archive by article title, author, book, contributor, or subject.
-
New York State Historic NewspapersOver 11 million pages from newspapers published in New York State between 1725 and 2020. The newspapers on the website are either in the public domain (any papers published before January 1, 1924) or have been cleared for use by the original copyright holders for members of the public for noncommercial, educational, and research purposes.
-
Nineteenth (19th) Century British NewspapersThe GC’s subscription includes Parts I and II, comprised of 69 titles published between 1800 and 1900, selected by the British Library to best represent 19th century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Also includes newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present.
-
Oxford History of Western MusicThe Oxford History of Western Music online offers an evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. The online version includes all 1.25 million words, 500 images, and 1,800 musical examples from the updated paperback edition with sophisticated search and browse functionality designed to maximize the dynamic possibilities of online reading and research. Taruskin’s text is accompanied by editorially selected links to relevant articles in Oxford Art Online.
-
Political Science DatabaseFull text of more than 750 political science, public policy, and international relations journals, most of which are indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources. Coverage spans 1985 to the present.
-
Roper iPoll (formerly Roper Center Archives)
The world’s largest collection of poll data from 1935 to present. Contains hundreds of thousands of questions and tens of thousands of individual-level datasets, with hundreds more added yearly. Includes broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, the environment, science and technology, health, economics, and more. It also includes global data from over 120 countries, and historical archives that feature questions on topics such as World War II, the civil rights movement, and women’s history, along with a general social survey with cumulative data from 1972-2016 featuring a standard core of demographic and attitudinal variables.
Access through the Graduate Center Library enables you to access all tools and features. Create a free personal account to save items to folders and view your complete search history. Users who have accounts on the old "classic" Roper iPoll website will need to register again on the new site.
Learn more about how to use Roper iPoll online: Roper Tutorials. -
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926An online collection based on Joseph Sabin’s famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time. Contains 65,000 books, pamphlets, newspapers, political tracts, sermons, maps, legislation, and literature about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin features original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, politics, culture, contemporary opinions, religious history, and more. Covers North, Central, and South America, and the Caribbean.
-
Seventeenth-Eighteenth (17th-18th) Century Burney Collection NewspapersThe newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, charting the development of the concept of news, newspapers, and the free press, totals almost one-million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.
-
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & LawThis collection includes every U.S. federal, state and colony statute passed on slavery, all reported state and federal judicial cases on slavery, Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880, more than a thousand books and pamphlets from the 19th century, including essays and articles in obscure journals. The growing collection also includes modern histories of slavery, modern law review articles on the subject, and an extensive bibliography. Much of the secondary source material in the collection is based on the holdings of the Buffalo Public Library's rare book collection. See the Comprehensive Users Guide for full search details.
-
TLS: Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019An international publication with contributors from around the world covering literature and criticism, history, science, politics, and art. Includes every issue of TLS from 1902 through 2019, which can be searched or browsed by book title, author, book editor, translator, or contributor (reviewer, essayist, or illustrator). Print issues of TLS from 1963 to 1974 and from 2020 to the present are shelved by title in the library’s periodical collection on the second floor of the library.
-
TRACFed
TRACFed is a source of authoritative information on federal government criminal, civil, and administrative enforcement, as well as information on staffing, spending, and related matters. It includes access to TRAC's full suite of data tools and reports (with the exception of the Judge Information Center) and offers a wide range of federal data, mostly collected under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Read more in our GC Library blog post about TRACFed.
-
U.S. Declassified Documents OnlineDeclassified executive branch documents from presidential libraries and executive agencies consisting of intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. This digital collection began as the Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS) on microfiche and fills a gap in post-World War II domestic and foreign policy studies.
-
Women's Studies Archive (All Search)Search all four modules of the Women's Studies Archive at once. The WSA consists of 52 collections of manuscripts, organizational records, periodicals, and monographs relating to women's history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the WSA covers women's political activism, including suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and women's voices in literature and periodicals.
The WSA Collections are divided into four modules which may be searched together or separately:
Female Forerunners Worldwide
Issues and Identities
Rare Titles from the American Antiquarian Society, 1820-1922
Voice and Vision -
World History in VideoMore than 1,750 documentaries exploring human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.
General Databases
-
Academic OneFileProvides full-text articles in all subject areas from over 19,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources as well as thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR (National Public Radio) and CNN, and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. Subjects covered include biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
-
Academic Search CompleteA multi-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, the database includes indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications, such as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. While full text is available as far back as 1887 for a few titles, the text of most titles is available only for the past decade or two.
-
Annee philologique
Bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Includes all volumes of the annual index beginning with Volume 1 published in 1928. Covers Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information.
-
Anthropological Index OnlineAIO indexes nearly 800 journals published in more than 40 languages held in the British Museum's Anthropology Library. Records span 1957 to the present and cover all branches and areas of anthropology, including archaeology, cultural ethnography, linguistics, and physical anthropology.
-
AnthroSourceCurrent issues of the American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Part of Wiley Online Library.
-
ARTFLA collection of digitized resources on the French language developed through a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago. The main database, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, consists of more than 3,500 French language texts spanning the 12th through the 20th centuries, and ranging from classic works of literature to non-fiction prose and technical writing. Additional subscription databases contain texts related to specific genres and writers, such as dictionaries, novels, Provençal poetry, histories of the French Revolution, 19th century French literary and artistic criticism, philosophical works, and ancient French texts. Also includes nearly two dozen open access databases covering a wide range of topics, including 18th and 19th century encyclopedias, French revolutionary newspapers, pamphlets, and laws, classical French theatre, and online editions of the works of Voltaire, Rousseau, Montaigne, and others. Select “Subscription Databases” or “Public Access” for details.
-
Arts & Humanities DatabaseFull text of 600 publications related to visual and applied arts. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. Subject strengths include art, design, crafts, and photography; archaeology, anthropology and classical studies; architecture, interior design, and urban planning; history, philosophy, geography and religion; modern languages and literatures; and music, theatre, film and cultural studies.
-
HathiTrust Digital LibraryMillions of books digitized by a variety of major research institutions. See this post for more information about public domain items available to all via HathiTrust.
-
Humanities SourceOver 1,500 full-text journals dating back to 1907. Includes millions of records covering archaeology, art, communications, dance, film, folklore, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, classical studies, area studies and gender studies. Should be included in any humanities search.
-
Index to Jewish Periodicals via NYPL
Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.
-
Journal Citation ReportsPresents an array of citation-based metrics for journals indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection. Provides Journal Impact Factor (i.e., average number of citations in a given year to articles published by that journal in the previous two years, averaged over the number of articles published in those two years) for many but not all covered journals. Search or browse the database by journal (title or ISSN), subject category, or publisher. Compare metrics for up to four journals simultaneously.
-
JSTORA digital library containing journals, books, images, and primary sources. The GC’s subscription includes JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of scholarly journals across the social sciences and humanities. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. Also included are more than 700 freely accessible collections of illustrations, letters, literary documents, newspapers, magazines, photographs, postcards, and yearbooks; open access alternative press publications from the latter half of the 20th century; and thousands of research reports. 3+ million images in Artstor are also now discoverable in JSTOR. Browse content by subject, title, or collection, or search across the full resource. Register for a free personal account to save materials and organize your work.
-
LGBTQ+ SourceFull text from over 150 LGBTQi (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning and Intersex) journals, magazines, and newspapers and over 150 books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
-
Loeb Classical LibraryHarvard University Press presents an interconnected, fully searchable, growing, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts.
-
Oxford AcademicA new unified platform for Oxford University Press’s journals and many of its academic book collections that allows cross searching and browsing of content. Browse or search across all content or just within Journals, Books, or Subjects. Limit results to subscribed materials by filtering for Purchased Content, Open Access, and/or Free items. Available titles may be found in OneSearch. For other disciplines, check availability via the New York Public Library remotely.
-
Oxford Bibliographies
Bibliographies in American Literature, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Education, Geography, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, the Renaissance and Reformation, Urban Studies, and Victorian Literature. Bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources.
-
Oxford JournalsFull collection of journals published by Oxford University Press covering the Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics, and the Social Sciences.
-
Project MuseThe CUNY and Graduate Center subscriptions provide access to the full text of nearly 400 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences along with over 70,000 e-books and 4,600 open access books. Select “Browse All Muse” and filter by Access type “Only content I have access to” to see subscribed and OA content. Or look for the green check mark and OA icons that appear next to accessible titles when searching across the platform. E-books are also available via the separate link to Project Muse E-Books.
-
Project Muse (including Ebooks) via NYPLPlease log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
The New York Public Library's Project Muse offerings include ebooks that can be downloaded as PDFs by chapter. -
Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1983Indexes hundreds of important journals in the social sciences. Subject coverage Includes addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, communications and mass media, community health and medical care, criminal justice, economics, environmental studies, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology and urban studies.
-
SocINDEX with Full TextComprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of study. The database features 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains abstracts for more than 4,650 journals, some dating to 1895 and extensive indexing for books/monographs and conference papers. Contains full text for more than 830 books and monographs, 16,800 conference papers, and 860 journals dating back to 1908. Searchable cited references and thousands of author profiles are also included.