Ask a Librarian (24/7)
Library Workshops
Check the library calendar for upcoming workshops about library research and scholarly publishing.
Library News
Loading ...
New Books at the Library
Representation, Inclusion and Social Justice in World Language Teaching by ISBN: 9781032422206Publication Date: 2024-02-06
Using Corpora in Discourse Analysis by ISBN: 9781350083745Publication Date: 2023-09-21
Questionnaires in Second Language Research by ISBN: 9781032364339Publication Date: 2022-10-01
The Oxford Handbook of Computational Linguistics by ISBN: 9780199573691Publication Date: 2022-09-16
Finite-State Text Processing by Call Number: QA76.9.T48 G676 2022ISBN: 3031010515Publication Date: 2021-05-26
Natural Language Processing : a machine learning perspective by Call Number: QA76.9.N38 Z43 2021ISBN: 9781108420211Publication Date: 2021-01-07
Quick Library Resources
- Library HomepageStart here to get books, articles, databases, interlibrary loan, reference help and more.
- OneSearch
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes print books from all CUNY libraries; Graduate Center ebooks; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; Graduate Center course reserves; dissertations at CUNY and beyond; and unique digital content.
- Interlibrary LoanNeed an article from a journal not at the Grad Center? Need a book that isn't available at any CUNY library? Submit an interlibrary loan request.
- 24/7 chat and email referenceNeed an answer right away? Reference help available 24 hours a day through Ask-A-Librarian chat and email service.
Visiting Other Libraries
- Other CUNY LibrariesAll CUNY students and faculty have access to all CUNY libraries and may check out books at all but CUNY Law. Reference books, special collections, audiovisual materials, and electronic resources may be used locally.
- Metro One Day PassAsk at the reference desk on the second floor of the Graduate Center library for a one-time pass to visit New York City area libraries. These passes are issued by a librarian for materials that are not found in any CUNY library. For longer term access to nearby libraries, see MaRLI below.
- MaRLI (Manhattan Research Library Initiative)This research initiative allows selected researchers access and circulation privileges at Columbia University, New York University, and New York Public Library's research libraries.
Suggest a Book
- Suggest a book purchaseThe Graduate Center Library welcomes book purchase suggestions from the Graduate Center community. The library will carefully consider requests that are consistent with our Collection Policy.
Subject Guide
Featured Resources
- Ethnologue
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Ethnologue: Languages of the World database provides information about the world’s nearly 7,500 contemporary languages, including statistical, mapping, dialect, and usage data. Language descriptions in Ethnologue are organized by world area, UN region and country. Entries include the region(s) of use within the countries where the language is spoken, alternate names for the language, dialects of the language, the three-letter code that identifies the language according to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO 639-3) standard, the estimated population of speakers, genetic classification of the language, domains of language use and viability, language vitality rating according to EGIDS, scripts used to write the language, and citations of literature and other products of language development.
- GlottologComprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages.
- International Phonetic AssociationOfficial website of the International Phonetic Association. Includes downloadable official IPA charts.
- LINGUIST ListA forum for linguists to exchange information, it also runs technology and infrastructure projects. includes information on the field of linguistics, including conferences, publications, and jobs, and it runs an active blog.
- OLAC Language Resource CatalogThis catalog, developed by the Open Language Archives Community (OLAC), provides access to a wealth of information about thousands of languages, including details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives.