Research Guides: Linguistics: Find Books

Library Catalogs

OneSearch
OneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes print books from all CUNY libraries; Graduate Center ebooks; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; Graduate Center course reserves; dissertations at CUNY and beyond; and unique digital content.
WorldCat Discovery
WorldCat Discovery is a catalog and discovery system containing millions of records for print and electronic holdings in thousands of libraries around the world.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries provides a shared collection of five million books, journals, documents and newspapers to supplement member libraries’ holdings in the humanities, science, and social sciences. With a strategic emphasis on expanding electronic access to international primary source collections, CRL participates in a number of cooperative digitization efforts, yielding millions of pages of digitized content to date.

CRL resources include:
- The largest circulating collection of newspapers in North America – more than 16,000 newspaper titles from all world regions and from every U.S. state – mainstream dailies, underground and alternative press titles, rare publications from international conflict zones, U.S. ethnic titles, early African-American newspapers, and radio broadcast reports and transcripts
- Foreign journals rarely held in U.S. libraries, with a focus on science and technology
- Access to rich holdings in science, technology, and engineering print serials through a partnership with the Linda Hall Library
- More than 800,000 non U.S. dissertations
- Area Studies: major collections of news, government documents, and archives from Africa, Latin America, Middle East, Europe, Asia, and Southeast and South Asia
- Millions of pages of primary source documents, including major sets from the National Archives of the U.S. and the U.K., and many special collections from around the world
- U.S. and international legal and government resources

E-Books

Oxford Scholarship Online: Linguistics
Oxford University Press Linguistics focuses on all fields of theoretical and historical linguistics and has extensive lists in linguistic typology, language evolution, and language in culture and society. Oxford Scholarship Online's Linguistics list contains a wide range of titles covering topics as diverse as external influences on English to the foundations of language, and grammar to the history of the Spanish lexicon.

Available sub-disciplines in this module include: Language Families, Semantics and Pragmatics, and Theoretical Linguistics.

EBSCO Ebook Collection
Formerly known as NetLibrary, the EBSCO eBook Collection provides more than 2,800 scholarly and popular titles. Browse by subject category or search across the collection to find full text ebooks. Create a free account to enable full downloads.
Cambridge Histories Online
First published in 1902, Cambridge Histories span subject areas across the humanities and social sciences. The GC’s subscription includes over 400 titles in American History; Ancient & Classical Studies; Asian History, British & European History; Global History, Literature, Middle East & African Studies, Music & Theatre; Philosophy & Political Thought; and Religion.

**GC-subscribed Cambridge content is discoverable in CUNY OneSearch.

Reference

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
With 600,000 words and 3.7 million quotations from over 1,000 years, the OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words in the English language. The OED is updated quarterly with revised entries and new words and senses. The updates make up the Third Edition of the OED.
Oxford Dictionaries
Formerly Oxford Language Dictionaries Online. Translations of thousands of Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish words and phrases.
Oxford Bibliographies
Bibliographies in American Literature, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Education, Geography, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, the Renaissance and Reformation, Urban Studies, and Victorian Literature. Bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources.
Oxford Reference
Text of nearly 400 Oxford University Press reference works in 25 core subject areas. Titles include Oxford Companions to American Literature, American Theatre, the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Music, Philosophy, Politics of the World, Shakespeare, United States History, and Western Art. Available titles may be found in OneSearch.
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Full text of over 1,800 reference works published by Gale, Brill Academic, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Sage, Salem Press, Wiley, and others. Titles include American Civil War Reference Library, Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to AD 1000, Encyclopedia of Aging, Encyclopedia of American Religions, Encyclopedia of Case Study Research, Encyclopedia of Gender and Society, Encyclopedia of Urban Studies, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, Magill's Survey of World Literature, Vietnam War Reference Library; World Education Encyclopedia.

Beyond the Graduate Center

If the Graduate Center does not have the book you need, you can have the book sent here from another library.

CUNY/SUNY CLICS
You can request books from other CUNY libraries and SUNY libraries sent to the Graduate Center. Search for the book in the GC Library's Onesearch search box. If the GC library does not have it, expand the search scope to GC+CUNY Libraries or to GC + CUNY and SUNY Libraries. Clicking on the title of the relevant record will show CLICS (and other) request options under How to Get it. If you don't see the request options, make sure you are signed in.

If the desired book is not found or a request option is not available even when you are signed in (it can happen with non-circulating items), submit an interlibrary loan request.
Interlibrary Loan
If the book you need is not available at any CUNY library or if you need an article from a journal not at the Graduate Center, submit an interlibrary loan request for this item. If you have questions or need help placing your request, email ill@gc.cuny.edu.