Found a broken link? Trouble accessing a database or full text even though you know your credentials? Help us to solve any technical issues by sharing the details of the problem through this online form.
Academic Video Online (AVON) is a streaming video collection of over 75,000 titles, including documentaries, films, demonstrations and more. Subject coverage includes anthropology, art, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, news and current events, psychology, social work, theatre and drama.
Search all four modules of the Women's Studies Archive at once. The WSA consists of 52 collections of manuscripts, organizational records, periodicals, and monographs relating to women's history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the WSA covers women's political activism, including suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and women's voices in literature and periodicals.
This subset of the Women's Studies Archive includes 20 collections of personal papers, organizational records, and periodicals focusing on advertising and advertising to minorities; birth control and sex education; the Civil Rights movement; healthcare and women in medicine, especially nursing; religion and women's missionary work; migration; minority groups, especially African American and Jewish women; women in politics; prison reform and women's philanthropic organizations to improve women's prisons; psychic investigations and the paranormal; and women's rights and the fight for suffrage. International in scope.
Contains primary sources from 15 collections that span the globe and feature the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the 19th and 20th century. Archival collections include the Planned Parenthood Federation of America Records (1918-1974), the records of grassroots feminist organizations; the Women and Law Collection; Records of the Women’s Peace Union (1921-1940); the Records of the Women’s Trade Union League and Its Leaders (1903-1950), and the Women's Lives collection (1834-1964), which contains items from the manuscript collections of 55 pioneering women. The archive also includes the European Women’s Periodicals collection (1840-1940) with 175 titles in French, German, and Dutch, and 775+ English language periodicals from the U.S. and abroad in the Herstory periodicals collection (1956-1974).
Curated by the American Antiquarian Society, the nearly 6,000 monographs in this collection were authored or edited primarily by women. The broad scope of the collection includes fiction, poetry, instructional guides on domestics and etiquette, personal letters, recipe books, memoirs, histories, pamphlets and leaflets, biographies and autobiographies, personal papers, children's literature, commentaries on fashion, diaries, legal accounts, oration, political ephemera, and religious tracts to highlight women's cultural contributions and provide insight into women's day-to-day lives. Useful for research in literature studies, women's history, gender studies, cultural studies, critical theory analysis, American history, media and journalism, politics, and sociology.
Highlights from the 15 collections in this archive include personal papers of influential suffrage, socialist, temperance, education and trade unionist activists, such as the founder of the Women's Peace Party and the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. Also included are 157 monographs from the Women’s Printing Society (1874-1973) and more than 50 radical and reforming journals for and by women from the British Library’s collections (1824-1932).