GC Alumni Photo ID & Registration for Remote Access
See the Graduate Center’s Alumni Benefits and Services page for more alumni Information.
A GC Alumni ID card is needed for entry into the library. To obtain this ID, you will need to present proof of alumni status to the Office of Security and Public Safety. The Office of the Registrar in Room 7201 can provide documentation of your alumni status. Bring this documentation to the Office of Security and Public Safety, Room 9123, 212-817-7777 to receive your ID card.
Next, complete the Graduate Center Alumni Registration Form. Within a few business days, the Alumni Affairs Office gcalumni@gc.cuny.edu will then issue a username and password for you to use to access the databases for Alumni listed below on this page (
) .
Open Access resources (
) on the Graduate Center's A-Z Database List are freely available.
Welcome back, GC alums!
In-Person Library Services for GC Alumni
- Show your GC Alumni photo ID to enter the library.
- Visit the library's Circulation desk on the first floor to obtain an Alumni barcode to borrow books from the GC's collection. See Library Privileges below for loan and renewal information.
- Printing is available for a fee. Purchase a copy card for $1 and add funds to the card to print for $0.15 per page.
- Scanners, microfilm readers, and digital reformatting equipment are described in the Technology in the Library guide.
-
Bring your own device to use GC guest wifi to access library resources, or obtain a guest login on each visit to use library computers.
-
Graduate Center Alumni are eligible for a Guest Login, providing 30 days of use for computers onsite in the Library. A new Guest Login may be requested after the pass expires.
Library Privileges for Graduate Center Alumni (including SLU)
| On-Site Access | Yes |
| Borrowing Privileges | GC Only |
| CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) | No |
| Loan Period | 16 weeks |
| Renewal Limit for GC Books | 2 |
| Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books | n/a |
| Database Access |
On-site access to most GC databases; off-site access to select databases for alumni |
| Interlibrary Loan | No |
| Printing | $0.15/page |
| Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges | No |
Databases for Alumni (Accessible from Anywhere!)
- JSTOR Journals for AlumniArts and Sciences I-XII; coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. (Please note access to JSTOR ebooks is on-campus only.)
- Project Muse for AlumniOver 350 journals; the Graduate Center does not subscribe to Project Muse ebooks but titles are accessible via the New York Public Library.
- SAGE Journals for AlumniAccess to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals covering a variety of disciplines.
- SAGE Knowledge for AlumniTo see the 31 handbook titles available at the Graduate Center, find and click "Handbooks" under "Browse by Content Type. Then select "Available to me" under "Refine by" on the right hand side.
- SAGE Research Methods for AlumniOver 740 books, including the entire “Little Green Book” and "Little Blue Book” series; a selection of journal articles; specially commissioned videos.
- Versatile PhD for AlumniService to help humanities and social science PhDs and graduate students identify and prepare for possible non-academic jobs.
Alumni Dissertations & Theses
See the Dissertations & Theses guide for information on CUNY Academic Works and to find your own capstone, thesis, or dissertation.