Over 102,000 pages of personal writings by American women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries drawn from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. The manuscripts date from 1750 to 1950 and include letters and diary entries of ordinary women that document their daily lives, and those of more well-known women such as Annie Sullivan, the teacher of Helen Keller; Ellen Tucker Emerson, daughter of Ralph Waldo Emerson, who describes life in Concord during the Civil War; and Abby Kelley Foster, an abolitionist and advocate for women’s rights.

A collection of over 7500 digitized American periodicals published from the 17th century through the late 19th century. The Graduate Center subscribes to the five series which cover all aspects of American society, including science, medicine, literature, politics, the history of slavery, the Civil War, Westward expansion, industry and professions, agriculture, religion, fashion, family life, culture and the arts, and more.

Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
This database contains over 1,800 magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically significant titles.

Over 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, speeches, letters, political leaflets, periodicals, trial transcripts, and interviews by major American Black teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other leaders, covering over 250 years of history. Writers include James Baldwin, Amiri Baraka, Ralph Bunche, Angela Davis, Frederick Douglass, W. E. B. Du Bois, Ralph Ellison, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, Thurgood Marshall, Huey Newton, Jackie Robinson, Paul Robeson, Bobby Seale, Booker T. Washington, Cornel West, Richard Wright, and many others. Search across the collection or browse by person, subject, title, historical event, content type, place, or publisher.

The Center for Research Libraries provides a shared collection of five million books, journals, documents and newspapers to supplement member libraries’ holdings in the humanities, science, and social sciences. With a strategic emphasis on expanding electronic access to international primary source collections, CRL participates in a number of cooperative digitization efforts, yielding over 15 million pages of digitized content to date.

This site from the Library of Congress includes a searchable directory containing information on more than 150,000 newspapers published in the U.S. since 1690. It also includes searchable digitized images of 3,600 selected local and regional newspapers published from 1777 to 1963, including more than 20 New York papers.

Millions of books digitized by a variety of major research institutions. See this post for more information about public domain items available to all via HathiTrust.

The Internet Archive, a vast digital library, includes a large number of newspapers, journals, and other periodicals. Search text collections by title or subject.

*Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!*
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

Over 11 million pages from newspapers published in New York State between 1725 and 2020. The newspapers on the website are either in the public domain (any papers published before January 1, 1924) or have been cleared for use by the original copyright holders for members of the public for noncommercial, educational, and research purposes.

Actual page images from 1851 through 2018. Following years are added annually. When the results of a search are displayed, you have three retrieval options: 1. bibliographic citation and abstract; 2. article image (retrieved with Adobe Acrobat Reader); 3. page map, displaying the entire page on which the article appears. For current access, see New York Times Academic Pass.