Looking for a Specific Journal?
Use our journal title search tool to see whether the library has access to a particular title, and what date ranges our subscriptions cover.
The Graduate Center Library welcomes journal subscription suggestions from the Graduate Center community. The library will carefully consider requests that are consistent with our Collection Policy. You are welcome to suggest a journal subscription.
Core Databases
- Annual Reviews
Full text of 51 Annual Review journals in the social sciences, biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences and economics. The literature reviews synthesize current understanding of a topic, set the work in historical context, and include extensive bibliographies. Search across or browse reviews and journals in more than 45 scientific disciplines, including anthropology, astrophysics, biochemistry, criminology, earth and planetary sciences, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, and sociology.
- Business Insights: GlobalAn international business resource containing more than 460,000 detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. It also includes company histories, industry essays, case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for global economies. Research tools include interactive comparison charts for countries, companies, and industries, and a glossary of business terms. Updated daily.
- Business Source CompleteFull text of nearly 4,000 scholarly business journals and periodicals as well as indexing for 7,000 titles. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersThis site from the Library of Congress includes a searchable directory containing information on more than 150,000 newspapers published in the U.S. since 1690. It also includes searchable digitized images of 3,600 selected local and regional newspapers published from 1777 to 1963, including more than 20 New York papers.
- EconLitFull-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics. Also includes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews dating back to 1886. EconLit is updated weekly and contains more than 1.6 million records.
- Economist Historical Archive: 1843-2020Historical archive of The Economist from 1843 to 2020 covering political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural issues around the world. Search across the archive or browse complete issues by date. Use the Journals tab to identify databases containing recent issues.
- Economist Historical Archive: 1843-2020Historical archive of The Economist from 1843 to 2020 covering political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural issues around the world. Search across the archive or browse complete issues by date. Use the Journals tab to identify databases containing recent issues.
- Foreign Law GuideForeign Law Guide (FLG) offers information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination. Broad in content and global in scope, the FLG systemically covers approximately 190 jurisdictions which are updated by a global team of experts.
- Handbooks in EconomicsFull text of 41 Elsevier handbooks in the Economics series. Subject coverage includes Computational, Innovation, and Social Economics, Econometrics, Economic Forecasting and Growth, and many other topics.
- Handbooks in EconomicsFull text of 41 Elsevier handbooks in the Economics series. Subject coverage includes Computational, Innovation, and Social Economics, Econometrics, Economic Forecasting and Growth, and many other topics.
- Health Poll DatabasePublished by the Roper Center, the Health Poll Database is an archive of exclusively health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, including social determinants of health, access to care, individual health status, health policy, insurance, costs, and health politics.
Access through the Graduate Center Library enables you to view poll questions, save up to 50 questions, search abstracts and download documentation. Create a free personal account to download datasets, save up to 500 questions at once, and use the RoperExplorer analytical tool with crosstabs functionality. Users who have accounts on the old "classic" Roper iPoll website will need to register again on the new site.
Learn more about how to use Roper iPoll online: Roper Tutorials. - International Bibliography of the Social SciencesIBSS includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology from 1951 to the present. Part of the ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts DatabaseThe NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database is published by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service, an information clearinghouse for people around the U.S. and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control. The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of over 200,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research.
- NBER Working PapersFounded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. NBER research studies present data and findings but do not make policy recommendations.
Free NBER publications that are also available online include:
NBER Bulletin on Aging and Health
NBER Digest — Non-technical summaries of 4-8 working papers per month
NBER Reporter — News about the Bureau and its activities - Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis)
Nexis Uni is a full-text news, business, and legal database with sources from around the world, including local, regional, national, and international newspapers, scholarly journals, trade journals, and popular magazines, television and radio broadcasts, and newswires and blogs. Legal sources include federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also contains business information on U.S. and international companies (see Dossier section) and patent data (see TotalPatent One section).
- Policy File IndexPolicy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research. Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Coverage spans 1990 to the present.
- Political Science DatabaseFull text of more than 750 political science, public policy, and international relations journals, most of which are indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources. Coverage spans 1985 to the present.
- Regional Business NewsProvides full text coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States and Canadian provinces. Includes newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires, including content from publishers such as The Washington Post, Crain’s New York Business, and PR Newswire US.
- Roper iPoll (formerly Roper Center Archives)
The world’s largest collection of poll data from 1935 to present. Contains hundreds of thousands of questions and tens of thousands of individual-level datasets, with hundreds more added yearly. Includes broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, the environment, science and technology, health, economics, and more. It also includes global data from over 120 countries, and historical archives that feature questions on topics such as World War II, the civil rights movement, and women’s history, along with a general social survey with cumulative data from 1972-2016 featuring a standard core of demographic and attitudinal variables.
Access through the Graduate Center Library enables you to access all tools and features. Create a free personal account to save items to folders and view your complete search history. Users who have accounts on the old "classic" Roper iPoll website will need to register again on the new site.
Learn more about how to use Roper iPoll online: Roper Tutorials. - SAGE Research MethodsAn online collection of more than 1,000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos on how to design and carry out research projects. Browse by discipline or search for a particular research approach (i.e., qualitative, quantitative, ethnographic) and see descriptions and examples from books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, journals, and videos. Read more in our GC Library blog post about Sage Research Methods.
- Social TheoryMore than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Karl Marx, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith, and Talcott Parsons. Search across the resource or browse authors, titles, theories, or subjects.
- Statistical InsightIncludes indexing, abstracting, and full text of millions of statistical reports, publications, tables, and datasets on thousands of topics produced by U.S. federal agencies, state governments, private and academic organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
- TRACFed
TRACFed is a source of authoritative information on federal government criminal, civil, and administrative enforcement, as well as information on staffing, spending, and related matters. It includes access to TRAC's full suite of data tools and reports (with the exception of the Judge Information Center) and offers a wide range of federal data, mostly collected under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Read more in our GC Library blog post about TRACFed.
- Urban Studies AbstractsBiographic records in community development, urban affairs, urban history, and related areas from 1973 to the present.
- Web of ScienceMassive multidisciplinary index of scholarly publications, with especially strong coverage of the sciences and social sciences. Includes numerous sub-databases, most notably the Web of Science Core Collection, which provides cover-to-cover indexing of 21,000+ peer-reviewed journals. Includes citation data for publications, allowing searchers to identify highly cited articles, find citations to a given article/author, and track citations over time. Includes detailed author records and several unique search capabilities, such as the ability to search by author affiliation, grant number, or chemical structure. Also includes awarded grant information and associated publications.
General Databases
- Academic OneFileProvides full-text articles in all subject areas from over 19,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources as well as thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR (National Public Radio) and CNN, and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. Subjects covered include biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
- Academic Search CompleteA multi-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, the database includes indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications, such as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. While full text is available as far back as 1887 for a few titles, the text of most titles is available only for the past decade or two.
- Annee philologique
Bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Includes all volumes of the annual index beginning with Volume 1 published in 1928. Covers Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information.
- Anthropological Index OnlineAIO indexes nearly 800 journals published in more than 40 languages held in the British Museum's Anthropology Library. Records span 1957 to the present and cover all branches and areas of anthropology, including archaeology, cultural ethnography, linguistics, and physical anthropology.
- AnthroSourceCurrent issues of the American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Part of Wiley Online Library.
- ARTFLA collection of digitized resources on the French language developed through a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago. The main database, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, consists of more than 3,500 French language texts spanning the 12th through the 20th centuries, and ranging from classic works of literature to non-fiction prose and technical writing. Additional subscription databases contain texts related to specific genres and writers, such as dictionaries, novels, Provençal poetry, histories of the French Revolution, 19th century French literary and artistic criticism, philosophical works, and ancient French texts. Also includes nearly two dozen open access databases covering a wide range of topics, including 18th and 19th century encyclopedias, French revolutionary newspapers, pamphlets, and laws, classical French theatre, and online editions of the works of Voltaire, Rousseau, Montaigne, and others. Select “Subscription Databases” or “Public Access” for details.
- Arts & Humanities DatabaseFull text of 600 publications related to visual and applied arts. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. Subject strengths include art, design, crafts, and photography; archaeology, anthropology and classical studies; architecture, interior design, and urban planning; history, philosophy, geography and religion; modern languages and literatures; and music, theatre, film and cultural studies.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryMillions of books digitized by a variety of major research institutions. See this post for more information about public domain items available to all via HathiTrust.
- Humanities SourceOver 1,500 full-text journals dating back to 1907. Includes millions of records covering archaeology, art, communications, dance, film, folklore, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, classical studies, area studies and gender studies. Should be included in any humanities search.
- Journal Citation ReportsPresents an array of citation-based metrics for journals indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection. Provides Journal Impact Factor (i.e., average number of citations in a given year to articles published by that journal in the previous two years, averaged over the number of articles published in those two years) for many but not all covered journals. Search or browse the database by journal (title or ISSN), subject category, or publisher. Compare metrics for up to four journals simultaneously.
- JSTORA digital library containing journals, books, images, and primary sources. The GC’s subscription includes JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of scholarly journals across the social sciences and humanities. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. Also included are more than 700 freely accessible collections of illustrations, letters, literary documents, newspapers, magazines, photographs, postcards, and yearbooks; open access alternative press publications from the latter half of the 20th century; and thousands of research reports. 3+ million images in Artstor are also now discoverable in JSTOR. Browse content by subject, title, or collection, or search across the full resource. Register for a free personal account to save materials and organize your work.
- Loeb Classical LibraryHarvard University Press presents an interconnected, fully searchable, growing, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts.
- Oxford AcademicA new unified platform for Oxford University Press’s journals and many of its academic book collections that allows cross searching and browsing of content. Browse or search across all content or just within Journals, Books, or Subjects. Limit results to subscribed materials by filtering for Purchased Content, Open Access, and/or Free items. Available titles may be found in OneSearch. For other disciplines, check availability via the New York Public Library remotely.
- Oxford Bibliographies
Bibliographies in American Literature, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Education, Geography, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, the Renaissance and Reformation, Urban Studies, and Victorian Literature. Bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources.
- Oxford JournalsFull collection of journals published by Oxford University Press covering the Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics, and the Social Sciences.
- Project MuseThe CUNY and Graduate Center subscriptions provide access to the full text of nearly 400 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences along with over 70,000 e-books and 4,600 open access books. Select “Browse All Muse” and filter by Access type “Only content I have access to” to see subscribed and OA content. Or look for the green check mark and OA icons that appear next to accessible titles when searching across the platform. E-books are also available via the separate link to Project Muse E-Books.
- Project Muse (including Ebooks) via NYPLPlease log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
The New York Public Library's Project Muse offerings include ebooks that can be downloaded as PDFs by chapter. - Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1983Indexes hundreds of important journals in the social sciences. Subject coverage Includes addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, communications and mass media, community health and medical care, criminal justice, economics, environmental studies, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology and urban studies.
- SocINDEX with Full TextComprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of study. The database features 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains abstracts for more than 4,650 journals, some dating to 1895 and extensive indexing for books/monographs and conference papers. Contains full text for more than 830 books and monographs, 16,800 conference papers, and 860 journals dating back to 1908. Searchable cited references and thousands of author profiles are also included.
