Looking for a Specific Journal?
- Electronic and Print Journals at the Graduate CenterSearch the GC library's holdings of print and electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Electronic Journals at New York Public LibraryFind electronic journals available both at NYPL and from home.
- Print Journals at New York Public LibrarySearch NYPL's research catalog for journals, magazines, and newspapers not available electronically.
- Library Doesn't Have the Journal You Need? Use Interlibrary Loan!Whenever you need an article from a journal that the GC library doesn't have, you can request the article via interlibrary loan.
Best Bets for Educational Psychology Research
- ERIC (EBSCO version)Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides access to education-related literature, covering journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966. Contains abstracts and links to full text, when available. ERIC documents with ED numbers (but not EJ numbers) are available on microfiche on the second floor of the library from ED 000001 through ED 462533. Other ERIC documents may be available at the government's ERIC site.
- Education DatabaseIncludes over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, and indexes over 1,200 education publications from 1988 to the present. Covers the literature on all levels of education as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and related topics.
- PsycArticlesCovers general psychology and basic, applied, specialized, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Contains full text from 119 American Psychological Association journals and journals from related organizations from 1894 to the present. Also includes book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata.
- PsycBooks (now also includes APA Handbooks)This American Psychological Association (APA) database provides the full text of more than 4,500 scholarly and professional books published by the APA, including over 100 out-of-print titles, the APA Handbooks in Psychology series, and the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. Also includes a substantial backfile of classic and historical works, with the earliest title dating to 1620. Available titles may also be found in OneSearch.
- PsycInfoIndexes scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health fields, covering the psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It indexes book chapters, books, dissertations, technical reports, and articles from over 2,200 journals. Coverage is international in scope and dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present.
Other Databases for Educational Psychology Research
- Academic Search CompleteA multi-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, the database includes indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications, such as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. While full text is available as far back as 1887 for a few titles, the text of most titles is available only for the past decade or two.
- ICPSR: Interuniversity Consortium for Political & Social Research
ICPSR, the world's largest collection of digital social science data, maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. ICPSR data cover sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, international relations, and more. First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account using your Graduate Center email account to access the full range of resources and services.
- Social Science DatabaseSocial Science Database indexes over 1,000 social science journals, with full text for 900 titles, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- ScienceDirectFull text for 2,600+ peer-reviewed journals and indexing and abstracting for many additional titles from their first issues. Most of the journals are in the sciences and social sciences, but there are several in the humanities, mostly in linguistics. Graduate Center access also includes indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents (but not full text) for thousands of e-books.
Article & Journal Impact
Article Impact: One measure of the impact of an article is the number of times it has been cited by other articles. These databases offer robust cited reference searching:
Journal Impact: A journal's impact is calculated by analyzing (in different ways by different tools) how frequently its articles are cited. Journal-level metrics are provided by:
For more information, see the Research Metrics guide.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature, including journal articles and books. The Graduate Center Library has created a customized version that knows the library’s electronic journal holdings and links you directly to the articles in the library’s databases.
Go to GC-customized Google Scholar
Note: If you’re off campus, you’ll be prompted to log in with your GC credentials before you can access library subscriptions.