Newspapers
- Ethnic NewsWatch (and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History)
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This resource contains full-text of over 500 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Includes Ethnic NewsWatch, which covers 1990 to the present, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which includes materials dating back to 1959 and provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Publications are in a wide variety of languages including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Creole, Inuktitut, Russian, Hindi, Japanese, Arabic, and others. - Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis)
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a full-text news, business, and legal database with sources from around the world, including local, regional, national, and international newspapers, scholarly journals, trade journals, and popular magazines, television and radio broadcasts, and newswires and blogs. Legal sources include federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also contains business information on U.S. and international companies (see Dossier section) and patent data (see TotalPatent One section).
Primary Resources
- France ArchivesFrance's archives portal.
- Archives Nationales-FranceNational Archives of France.
- Réseau francophone numériqueDigital resources contributed by national libraries or archives of francophone countries.
- The European LibraryAn online portal that offers access to digitized collections of the 48 national libraries of Europe, as well as leading research libraries in Europe. Contains more than 28 million digital items and 159 million bibliographic records.
- GallicaDigital library created and administered by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Contains digital images of out of copyright materials from the national library and partner libraries. Includes journal issues, books, images, maps, manuscripts, and more.
- IMEC (l'Institut Mémoires de l'édition contemporaine)A specialized archive of French writing and publishing. One of the most prestigious documentary source centers of contemporary French literary papers.
- Histoire généalogique et chronologique de la maison royale de France...Histoire généalogique et chronologique de la maison royale de France...1726-1733
- Bibliotheque virtuelle des manuscrits medievauxA digital library of medieval manuscripts from French libraries across the country (but not the National Library), made available by the IRHT (Institut de Recherche et d'Histoire des Textes) . The interface is in French but easy to use. There is a map view that allows you to browse by city: http://bvmm.irht.cnrs.fr/carte/carte.php
to explore the library: http://bvmm.irht.cnrs.fr/accueil/accueil.php
- Artstor
This link opens in a new window
Artstor images and collections will be available on the JSTOR platform starting August 1, 2024.
Please note: To download and save images, you must register for your own personal account (click "Register" for first time users on the upper right of the screen). The GC does not have an institutional login.
Artstor is a rich database of over 2.5 million images of art and architecture from 300 museums, libraries, artists, scholars, and photo archives around the world. In addition to its core collections, Artstor offers public collections consisting of roughly 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files cataloged, managed, and shared by various institutions. Images in Artstor may be freely used in noncommercial educational and scholarly activities. Artstor’s images are now also discoverable in JSTOR. See the “Artstor on JSTOR” guide.
- ThéâtralesUne collection de textes et d'hypertextes en français sur le théâtre fondée par André G. Bourassa.