Preparing to Graduate?
Library deposit is the final degree requirement for Graduate Center doctoral and master's students. If you are preparing to graduate, review the the Dissertations and Theses guide and consult with your program office for requirements and deadlines.
Questions? Contact the Dissertation Office at deposit@gc.cuny.edu.
Graduate Center Dissertations, Theses, and Capstone Projects
- Graduate Center Dissertations and Theses in Academic Works, 2014-presentAs of 2014, all Graduate Center dissertations, theses, and capstone projects are posted to CUNY Academic Works. Some are immediately available to read and download, and some become available after an embargo period set by the author.
- Graduate Center Retrospective Dissertations, 1965-2013Current CUNY students, faculty and staff can log in with their CUNYfirst credentials to access GC dissertations and capstones from 1965-2013. (Pre-2014 master's theses are available only in print).
If you want to move your dissertation or capstone into the publicly accessible CUNY repository, Academic Works, email the GC Dissertation Office at deposit@gc.cuny.edu. Making your dissertation free to the public helps broaden the reach of your scholarship and supports CUNY's mission of public service. - Dissertations & Theses @ City University of New York Graduate CenterProQuest collection of CUNY dissertations dating back to 1965. Full text available except for embargoed works.
- ProQuest Dissertation ExpressFor anyone without a current GC network userid/pwd, search for CUNY or non-CUNY dissertations here. Order copies in print or PDF formats.
Finding Dissertations
There is no single source for a comprehensive dissertation search. WorldCat and ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global include most American dissertations. Dissertations @ The Center for Research Libraries lends non-American dissertations to member borrowers. Library catalogs and specialized repositories contain other titles. Request any dissertation through Interlibrary Loan. Though not every title is available through ILL, it is worth a try.
Dissertation Databases & Repositories
- Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes two-million dissertations from over one-thousand institutions, with citations from 1861-1980 and abstracts from 1980 to present. Includes the full text of most post-1996 CUNY dissertations and many post-1996 dissertations from other institutions, as well as thousands of earlier ones. To limit your search to CUNY dissertations, include 0046 in your search statement, selecting the school name/code search field. Non-U.S.dissertations can be searched in the Center for Research Libraries' catalog.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries provides a shared collection of five million books, journals, documents and newspapers to supplement member libraries’ holdings in the humanities, science, and social sciences. With a strategic emphasis on expanding electronic access to international primary source collections, CRL participates in a number of cooperative digitization efforts, yielding millions of pages of digitized content to date.
CRL resources include:
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Global ETD SearchNDLTD's Global ETD Search is a free service that allows researchers to find electronic theses and dissertations based on keyword, date, institution, language and subject.
- Open Access Theses and DissertationsMetadata from over 1100 institutions, indexes over 2.5 million theses and dissertations.
- Additional Dissertation DatabasesThe library's Dissertations and Theses guide lists many additional databases of dissertations and theses.