Library Catalog
- OneSearchOneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes print books from all CUNY libraries; Graduate Center ebooks; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; Graduate Center course reserves; dissertations at CUNY and beyond; and unique digital content.
Dissertations
- Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes two-million dissertations from over one-thousand institutions, with citations from 1861-1980 and abstracts from 1980 to present. Includes the full text of most post-1996 CUNY dissertations and many post-1996 dissertations from other institutions, as well as thousands of earlier ones. To limit your search to CUNY dissertations, include 0046 in your search statement, selecting the school name/code search field. Non-U.S.dissertations can be searched in the Center for Research Libraries' catalog.
- Dissertations & Theses @ City University of New York Graduate CenterCUNY dissertations dating back to 1965. Full text available except for embargoed works.
- Dissertations @ the Center for Research Libraries800,000 foreign dissertations for interlibrary loan.
Electronic Books
- ACLS Humanities E-bookA fully searchable online collection of over 5,700 scholarly ebooks in the humanities from 125 publishers. Offered through a collaboration between the American Council of Learned Societies, Michigan Publishing (Univ. of Michigan), and the open source Fulcrum publishing platform.
- Cambridge Histories OnlineFirst published in 1902, Cambridge Histories span subject areas across the humanities and social sciences. The GC’s subscription includes over 400 titles in American History; Ancient & Classical Studies; Asian History, British & European History; Global History, Literature, Middle East & African Studies, Music & Theatre; Philosophy & Political Thought; and Religion.
**GC-subscribed Cambridge content is discoverable in CUNY OneSearch. - Ebook Central
Ebook Central combines what were formerly ebrary and Ebook Library (EBL) into one new platform. Contains electronic books in all disciplines from a number of academic publishers. Available titles may also be found in OneSearch.
- EBSCO Ebook CollectionFormerly known as NetLibrary, the EBSCO eBook Collection provides more than 2,800 scholarly and popular titles. Browse by subject category or search across the collection to find full text ebooks. Create a free account to enable full downloads.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryMillions of books digitized by a variety of major research institutions. See this post for more information about public domain items available to all via HathiTrust.
- JSTOR Ebooks
A selection of electronic books from scholarly publishers. All permanently held ebooks are cataloged in OneSearch, and additional titles can be found in the JSTOR interface directly. Over 8,000 open access ebooks are available through JSTOR, and the GC also has access to Path to Open titles. Full chapters can be downloaded as PDFs, without limit to the number of chapters.
- Loeb Classical LibraryHarvard University Press presents an interconnected, fully searchable, growing, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts.
- Oxford Bibliographies
Bibliographies in American Literature, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Education, Geography, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, the Renaissance and Reformation, Urban Studies, and Victorian Literature. Bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources.
Beyond the Graduate Center
- CUNY CLICSCLICS allows library users to request books from other CUNY campuses. First time users: enter your library barcode in the username and password fields.
- Inter-Library LoanIf the book you need is not available at any CUNY library or if you need an article from a journal not at the Grad Center or photocopies of a book chapter submit a request for this item via interlibrary loan. If you have questions or need help placing your request, email ill@gc.cuny.edu.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries provides a shared collection of five million books, journals, documents and newspapers to supplement member libraries’ holdings in the humanities, science, and social sciences. With a strategic emphasis on expanding electronic access to international primary source collections, CRL participates in a number of cooperative digitization efforts, yielding millions of pages of digitized content to date.
CRL resources include:
Subject Guide
Room 2318
CUNY Graduate Center
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016-4309