Research Guides: Master of Arts in Liberal Studies (MALS): Archives and Primary Sources

Archival Collections

There are scores of archival collections within 2 hours of NYC, a few of the major sources are listed below. Detailed guides to archival holdings (finding aids) are frequently being made available online. While most archival collections require a visit to the holding library, some collections do fill photocopy requests.

ArchiveGrid
Information about primary source material, including historical documents and personal papers, held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. Also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies.
Archives Directory for the History of Collecting
Developed by the Frick Collection Center for the History of Collecting, this resource allows researchers to locate primary source material about American collectors, dealers, agents and advisors, and the repositories that hold these records.
Brooklyn Museum Archives
The Museum Archives contains institutional records, curatorial correspondence, expedition reports, and other related textual and visual records dating to the founding of the institution.
Fales Library NYU
Open by appointment, the Fales Library has extensive archival and special collections documenting NYC specific artistic activities and beyond. Finding aids available online.
Medici Archive Project
Search 200 volumes of of documents in the Medici Granducal Archive. The volumes contain 10,00 letters and biographic records for 11,000 people.
more...less...
People can be searched by role (actors, architects, painters, etc.)
MoMA Archive
Search finding aids online. The archive includes museum records and curator correspondence as well as oral histories and papers of artists, collectors, and galleries.
NYC Municipal Archives
Over 87,000 images from the New York City Municipal Archives
NYPL Special Collections
In addition to the Manuscript & Archives Division there are numerous special collections that also contain primary source materials.

Research Guides

Master of Arts in Liberal Studies (MALS)

Archival Collections

GC Primary Document Databases