OneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes print books from all CUNY libraries; Graduate Center ebooks; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; Graduate Center course reserves; dissertations at CUNY and beyond; and unique digital content.
This database searches through a collection of encyclopedias and reference materials. A good alternative to Wikipedia, and be sure to use the bibliographies included as a starting place to find further sources.
(Log in with your NYPL credentials) The full text of the entire catalog of Oxford University Press's Very Short Introductions series. The books in this platform offer concise overviews to a range of academic subjects in the arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
You can have books from other CUNY libraries sent to the Graduate Center. From the library catalog, click the 'Request' link. CLICS can only be used for books. If you need photocopies of an article or book chapter submit an interlibrary loan request.
All CUNY students and faculty have access to all CUNY libraries and may check out books at all but CUNY Law. Reference books, special collections, audiovisual materials, and electronic resources may be used only within these libraries.
Ask at the reference desk on the second floor of the Graduate Center library for one-time-only passes to New York City area libraries, beyond CUNY.
If items are available at a CUNY library, you would use CLICs (Inter-library borrowing) or visit that library in person; Metro Cards are used for one-time to access beyond CUNY's collections. For longer access, see MaRLI above.