American Studies

The API indexes over 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines from 1991 to the present. International and interdisciplinary in scope, the API spans the social sciences and humanities with a focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, LGBTQ issues, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.

Abstracts of articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.

A collection of over 7500 digitized American periodicals published from the 17th century through the late 19th century. The Graduate Center subscribes to the five series which cover all aspects of American society, including science, medicine, literature, politics, the history of slavery, the Civil War, Westward expansion, industry and professions, agriculture, religion, fashion, family life, culture and the arts, and more.

Over 70,000 titles of streaming video content, more than half of which is contemporary video from the 1890s to the 1980s. Includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, demonstrations, news programs and newsreels that span a wide range of subjects, including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Encompasses thousands of journal titles in Art, Design, Architecture, Humanities, Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more. With international coverage, and access to the definitive indexes in these fields. Coverage spans 1864 to the present. Click "more" to see the full list of databases included in this collection.

Over 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, speeches, letters, political leaflets, periodicals, trial transcripts, and interviews by major American Black teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other leaders, covering over 250 years of history. Writers include James Baldwin, Amiri Baraka, Ralph Bunche, Angela Davis, Frederick Douglass, W. E. B. Du Bois, Ralph Ellison, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, Thurgood Marshall, Huey Newton, Jackie Robinson, Paul Robeson, Bobby Seale, Booker T. Washington, Cornel West, Richard Wright, and many others. Search across the collection or browse by person, subject, title, historical event, content type, place, or publisher.

This resource contains full-text of over 500 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Includes Ethnic NewsWatch, which covers 1990 to the present, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which includes materials dating back to 1959 and provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Publications are in a wide variety of languages including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Creole, Inuktitut, Russian, Hindi, Japanese, Arabic, and others.

A comprehensive bibliographic database containing more than 32,000 entries for printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Based on the authoritative bibliography European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.

HAPI indexes 400+ journals and includes the contents of 700+ journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1967. Includes over 335,000 citations and more than 170,000 links to full text articles covering political, economic and social issues along with the arts and humanities. Search using English, Spanish, or Portuguese.

Over 1,500 full-text journals dating back to 1907. Includes millions of records covering archaeology, art, communications, dance, film, folklore, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, classical studies, area studies and gender studies. Should be included in any humanities search.

More than 300 entries on critics, theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods from Plato and Aristotle to the present. Updated annually.

A digital library containing journals, books, images, and primary sources. The GC’s subscription includes JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of scholarly journals across the social sciences and humanities. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. Also included are more than 700 freely accessible collections of illustrations, letters, literary documents, newspapers, magazines, photographs, postcards, and yearbooks; open access alternative press publications from the latter half of the 20th century; and thousands of research reports. 3+ million images in Artstor are also now discoverable in JSTOR. Browse content by subject, title, or collection, or search across the full resource. Register for a free personal account to save materials and organize your work.

Guide to the literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Topics covered include art and aesthetics, ecology and environment, education, history, the labor movement, law and globalization, philosophy, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, and sociology. Includes more than 507,000 citations and abstracts (with some full text) and spans from 1982 and earlier to present.

Full text from over 150 LGBTQi (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning and Intersex) journals, magazines, and newspapers and over 150 books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.

Over 102,000 pages of personal writings by American women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries drawn from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. The manuscripts date from 1750 to 1950 and include letters and diary entries of ordinary women that document their daily lives, and those of more well-known women such as Annie Sullivan, the teacher of Helen Keller; Ellen Tucker Emerson, daughter of Ralph Waldo Emerson, who describes life in Concord during the Civil War; and Abby Kelley Foster, an abolitionist and advocate for women’s rights.

The CUNY and Graduate Center subscriptions provide access to the full text of nearly 400 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences along with over 70,000 e-books and 4,600 open access books. Select “Browse All Muse” and filter by Access type “Only content I have access to” to see subscribed and OA content. Or look for the green check mark and OA icons that appear next to accessible titles when searching across the platform. E-books are also available via the separate link to Project Muse E-Books.

An online collection based on Joseph Sabin’s famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time. Contains 65,000 books, pamphlets, newspapers, political tracts, sermons, maps, legislation, and literature about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin features original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, politics, culture, contemporary opinions, religious history, and more. Covers North, Central, and South America, and the Caribbean.

Consists of more than five million pages of books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from the collections of more than 60 libraries in the U.S. and U.K. The database is arranged in four parts: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; The Institution of Slavery; and the Age of Emancipation. Search across the full resource or explore the 71 separate collections of personal papers, organizational records, court cases, deposit ledgers, U.S. and international government documents, and more. Research tools include a global chronology and 18 subject bibliographies.

More than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Karl Marx, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith, and Talcott Parsons. Search across the resource or browse authors, titles, theories, or subjects.

This digital archive includes 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century. It also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements as well as scholarly essays exploring themes illuminated by materials in the archive.