Additional Library Resources
- Graduate Center LibraryStarting point for finding books, articles, journals, databases, interlibrary loan, electronic reference, and more
- OneSearch
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes print books from all CUNY libraries; Graduate Center ebooks; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; Graduate Center course reserves; dissertations at CUNY and beyond; and unique digital content.
- Interlibrary LoanIf the book you need is not available at any CUNY library or if you need an article from a journal not at the Graduate Center, submit an interlibrary-loan request for this item. If you have questions or need help placing your request, email ill@gc.cuny.edu.
- 24/7 E-mail and Chat ReferenceUse this service to ask reference questions at any time. E-mail questions will be answered by Graduate Center librarians. Chat questions may be answered by librarians at other institutions. Please do not use this service for circulation, interlibrary loan, or Information Technology questions. Contact these departments directly.
- Manhattan Research Library Initiative (MaRLI)GC students and faculty now have the opportunity to borrow books through a newly launched pilot program.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch)
- This link opens in a new window
Holdings of thousands of American and international libraries. Make Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests with the Find it! button. Searchable in English, French, and Spanish.
Suggest New Materials
The library welcomes suggestions for new books and other materials.
Need It Soon? Purchasing and processing new materials takes weeks. If you need an item quickly, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Faculty: To request materials for a GC course you're teaching, use the Reserve Request Form.
Jewish Studies Resources Guide
This guide provides you with easy access to sources specifically relevant to the Jewish Studies program. For a general list of all library resources, see the A to Z list. Fell free to contact me if you need further assistance.
To search databases and other web resources select the 'Databases' tab
To find sources for journal or newspaper articles select the Articles tab
To search for print and electronic books select the 'Books' tab
For information on bibliographic citation styles and citation managers such as Zotero select the 'Citing Sources' tab
For information on grants and fellowship opportunities select the 'Funding' tab
E-Research Basics
Our E-Research Basics guide acquaints you with the basics of doing online research through the Mina Rees Library. You'll find information about logging in for remote access, deciding on and searching within a database, locating specific articles and doing broad exploratory searches, determining whether the GC has access to a particular journal, and more.
Reference Online (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)
- Cambridge Histories Online
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
First published in 1902, Cambridge Histories span subject areas across the humanities and social sciences. The GC’s subscription includes over 400 titles in American History; Ancient & Classical Studies; Asian History, British & European History; Global History, Literature, Middle East & African Studies, Music & Theatre; Philosophy & Political Thought; and Religion.
**GC-subscribed Cambridge content is discoverable in CUNY OneSearch.
- Current Contents Connect: Middle EastComplete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world’s leading scholarly journals and books from 1998 to the present. Also includes relevant, evaluated Web sites and documents.
- Encyclopaedia JudaicaFrom the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
- Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and LinguisticsFrom BrillOnline. Offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.
- Encyclopaedia of JudaismFrom Gale Virtual Reference. Presents the current state of scholarship on fundamental issues of Judaism, both past and present. Emphasis is placed on the classical literature of Judaism and its history, however this edition also includes principal entries on contemporary issues.
- Encyclopedia of the Jewish DiasporaFrom Gale Virtual Reference. Provides a resource on the evolution and dynamics of the Jewish Diaspora as it played out around the world, from its beginnings to the present.
- Oxford Reference
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text of nearly 400 Oxford University Press reference works in 25 core subject areas. Titles include Oxford Companions to American Literature, American Theatre, the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Music, Philosophy, Politics of the World, Shakespeare, United States History, and Western Art. Available titles may be found in OneSearch. - Oxford Dictionaries
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly Oxford Language Dictionaries Online. Translations of thousands of Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish words and phrases.
Subject Guide
Room 2318
CUNY Graduate Center
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016-4309
E-Research Basics
Our E-Research Basics guide acquaints you with the basics of doing online research through the Mina Rees Library. You'll find information about logging in for remote access, deciding on and searching within a database, locating specific articles and doing broad exploratory searches, determining whether the GC has access to a particular journal, and more.
Library Blog
Consult the library blog to see what's new. Subscribe to receive new posts by email.
Library Workshops
Check the library calendar for upcoming workshops about library research and scholarly publishing.