Looking for a Specific Journal?
- Electronic and Print Journals at the Graduate CenterSearch the GC library's holdings of print and electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Electronic Journals at New York Public LibraryFind electronic journals available both at NYPL and from home.
- Print Journals at New York Public LibrarySearch NYPL's research catalog for journals, magazines, and newspapers not available electronically.
- Library Doesn't Have the Journal You Need? Use Interlibrary Loan!Whenever you need an article from a journal that the GC library doesn't have, you can request the article via interlibrary loan.
Best Bets for Mathematics Research
- MathSciNet
American Mathematical Society's Mathematical Reviews, covering over 1,800 journals. Also includes citations to articles dating back to the early 1800s.
The link above leads to the Ebsco interface, but you can also use the American Mathematical Society version of MathSciNet. See the Quickstart Guide for more details about the AMS version. - American Mathematical Society JournalsFull text of AMS peer-reviewed journals covering a broad range of mathematics. Included are research, member, translation, and distributed journals that are standards in the field.
- arXivOpen access to nearly 2 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
- zbMATH OpenThe zbMATH Open database contains more than 4.4 million bibliographic entries with reviews or abstracts from more than 3,000 journals and serials and 190,000 books from 1826 to the present covering all areas of pure and applied mathematics.
Other Databases for Mathematics Research
- General Science Full TextIndexes nearly 300 scholarly, professional, and popular science periodicals published from 1984 to the present in the United States and the United Kingdom. Includes full text for more than 100 publications from 1995 to the present. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology, and more.
- JSTORA digital library containing journals, books, images, and primary sources. The GC’s subscription includes JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of scholarly journals across the social sciences and humanities. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. Also included are more than 700 freely accessible collections of illustrations, letters, literary documents, newspapers, magazines, photographs, postcards, and yearbooks; open access alternative press publications from the latter half of the 20th century; and thousands of research reports. 3+ million images in Artstor are also now discoverable in JSTOR. Browse content by subject, title, or collection, or search across the full resource. Register for a free personal account to save materials and organize your work.
- ScienceDirectFull text for 2,600+ peer-reviewed journals and indexing and abstracting for many additional titles from their first issues. Most of the journals are in the sciences and social sciences, but there are several in the humanities, mostly in linguistics. Graduate Center access also includes indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents (but not full text) for thousands of e-books.
- SpringerLinkThe Graduate Center has full-text access to recent issues of over 3,000 mostly social science and science journals in this database. Only the articles with a Download PDF link are available in full text. Also includes thousands of titles from the Springer Ebook Collection, which can be accessed separately.
Affiliated with Multiple Campuses?
Are you affiliated with multiple CUNY campuses? For example, do you study at the GC but work at another campus, or maybe even two other campuses? If so, you are entitled to remote access to library e-resources (e.g., databases, e-journals, e-books) from all of your affiliated campuses. Different CUNY libraries have different e-resources, so check all of your affiliated libraries (via their separate websites) for the e-resources you need!
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature, including journal articles and books. The Graduate Center Library has created a customized version that knows the library’s electronic journal holdings and links you directly to the articles in the library’s databases.
Go to GC-customized Google Scholar
Note: If you’re off campus, you’ll be prompted to log in with your GC credentials before you can access library subscriptions.
Article & Journal Impact
Article Impact: One measure of the impact of an article is the number of times it has been cited by other articles. These databases offer robust cited reference searching:
Journal Impact: A journal's impact is calculated by analyzing (in different ways by different tools) how frequently its articles are cited. Journal-level metrics are provided by:
For more information, see the Research Metrics guide.