Dissertations
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Middle Eastern Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Middle Eastern Studies  

A guide to resources for students in the interdisciplinary Middle Eastern Studies program.
Last Updated: Oct 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gc.cuny.edu/mideast Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Additional Library Resources

 

Middle Eastern Studies Resources Guide

This guide provides you with easy access to sources specifically relevant to the Middle Eastern Studies program. For a general list of all library resources, see the A to Z list.  Fell free to contact me if you need further assistance.

 

To search databases and other web resources select the 'Databases' tab

To find sources for journal or newspaper articles select the Articles tab

To search for print and electronic books select the 'Books' tab

For information on bibliographic citation styles and citation managers such as Zotero select the 'Citing Sources' tab

For information on grants and fellowship opportunities select the 'Funding' tab

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

  • Encyclopedia of Arab Languages and Linguistics (EALL Online)
    EALL Online comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches to be as objective and versatile as possible
  • Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (EWIC)
    WIC is an interdisciplinary, transhistorical, and global project. It brings together upwards of 1,000 scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim, and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations.
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam
    The Encyclopaedia of Islam (Second Edition) Online sets out the present state of knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique reference tool for understanding the world of Islam, and a source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
  • Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
    Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of Qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within Qur'anic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur'an to appear in a Western language.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Michael W. Handis
Contact Info
Mina Rees Library Room 2317
CUNY Graduate Center
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016-4309
(212) 817-7075
Send Email
 

Library News

Copyright © 2010 Mina Rees Library - All Rights Reserved CUNY Graduate Center

Contact Us| 365 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY | Circulation:(212) 817-7083 | Reference:(212) 817-7077

Website Problems? Contact Library Webmaster

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip