Primary Resources (Online)
- Gale Primary Sources (formerly Artemis Primary Sources)
This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources searches across 11 collections at once. It includes Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; British Library Newspapers; Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926; Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection; Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive; The Economist Historical Archive; The Making of the Modern World; The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive; U.S. Declassified Documents Online; and Women's Studies Archive. - Artstor
This link opens in a new window
Artstor images and collections will be available on the JSTOR platform starting August 1, 2024.
Please note: To download and save images, you must register for your own personal account (click "Register" for first time users on the upper right of the screen). The GC does not have an institutional login.
Artstor is a rich database of over 2.5 million images of art and architecture from 300 museums, libraries, artists, scholars, and photo archives around the world. In addition to its core collections, Artstor offers public collections consisting of roughly 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files cataloged, managed, and shared by various institutions. Images in Artstor may be freely used in noncommercial educational and scholarly activities. Artstor’s images are now also discoverable in JSTOR. See the “Artstor on JSTOR” guide.
- ICPSR: Interuniversity Consortium for Political & Social Research
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ICPSR, the world's largest collection of digital social science data, maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. ICPSR data cover sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, international relations, and more. First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account; thereafter, you will need your email address and password to download data. - Manar Al-Athar
- This link opens in a new window
The Manar al-Athar digital archive, an open access photo archive based at the University of Oxford, provides high resolution, searchable and downloadable images for teaching, research, and publication. The digital archive is in continuous development and contains nearly 82,000 images. Strengths include Late Antiquity (250–750 AD), the period of transition from paganism to Christianity, and then to Islam, especially religious buildings (temples, churches, synagogues, mosques) and monumental art (including floor mosaics), early Islamic art (paintings, mosaics, relief sculpture), as well as Roman and early Islamic (Umayyad) architecture, and evidence of iconoclasm. Material is labelled in both English and Arabic to facilitate regional use, with the main instructions also available in some other languages. - Nineteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary source collections of books, manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, photographs, and maps held in the British Library, the Bodleian Library, the U.S. and U.K. National Archives, the Library of Congress, and other repositories. The GC’s subscription consists of eight collections: Asia and the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange; British Politics & Society; British Theatre, Music & Literature: High and Popular Culture; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Photography: The World through the Lens; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; and Women: Transnational Networks. - Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a range of social issues including racism, capital punishment, global warming, and voting rights with reference sources, newspaper and magazine articles, scholarly journals, court cases, government documents, statistics, viewpoints, maps, images, audio, video, primary documents, and websites. - Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is a platform for searching across the following art reference works listed below. Create an optional subscriber account to save searches.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
- The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd ed.)
- The Oxford Companion to Western Art
- And the Grove Dictionary of Art, which can also be searched separately at Grove Art Online
- (CUNY does not subscribe to the Benezit Dictionary of Artists)
Miscellanea
- Archival ResearchThe GC Library guide on how to do archival research.
- ArchiveGridInformation about primary source material, including historical documents and personal papers, held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. Also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies.
- European Library CatalogCombined searching of the resources of European national libraries.
Subject Guide
Mike Handis
Contact:
Mina Rees Library
Room 2318
CUNY Graduate Center
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016-4309
Room 2318
CUNY Graduate Center
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016-4309
(212) 817-7075
Website