Your financial contribution is essential to sustaining our institutional memory here at the Graduate Center. Donations support conservation and preservation, digitization, new acquisitions, cataloging, and other important work of the division so that we can fulfill our mission.

Make a financial gift to the Library and specify "Archives and Special Collections" in the comments field, or contact us to learn more about giving to the Archives.

Donate online

CUNY Graduate Center Archives and Special Collections, Mina Rees Library, collects materials that document the experiences of students, faculty, and staff. In many cases, these materials are not institutional records but are of auxiliary and affiliated organizations such as student groups or clubs, or a faculty member's personal papers.

These materials differ from official campus records in that they are not public records but are created and owned by private groups and individuals. Due to temporary space restrictions, the Archives is generally not accepting new materials, but we will evaluate on a case-by-case basis. For more information about whether Archives and Special Collections is a good fit for your collection, call us at 212.817.7040 or email archives@gc.cuny.edu.

Records from Graduate Center offices are designated for the GSUC Archives by a combination of campus policy, federal and state laws, and CUNY's records retention policy. If you are a member of the Graduate Center's administration, faculty, staff or student body, chances are good that you are producing records that could be part of the GSUC Archives. Learn more:

Records Retention and Disposal Policy

Not all inactive records are suitable for the Archives. Some records need to be shredded, others need to be stored for extended periods before destruction, and still others have enduring historical or other research significance and are considered “archival records" (see item 4.7). When you transfer records to the Archives, those files will become part of the collective history of CUNY and benefit future scholars, researchers and students.

Here is a brief list of records that should be transferred to the Archives:

• Annual or summary reports that document the activities and accomplishments of your department
• Materials documenting major milestones, anniversaries or events pertaining to the Graduate Center, CUNY, or your department
• Publications produced for dissemination by your department
• Minutes of official departmental bodies—that is, meeting minutes of committees or groups that make decisions that impact the functions and future of the department

Records transfers must be accompanied by a completed GSUC Archives Records Transfer Form. Please contact us at 212.817.7040 or archives@gc.cuny.edu with any questions about potential transfers and to make arrangements for drop-off or pick-up.