The library's general catalog, OneSearch, provides collection level description of our manuscript and archival collections, and all of our rare books are individually cataloged there. To view materials, email us to make an appointment.

Our finding aids are currently being migrated to a new catalog, where you will be able to search across collections and browse record groups for the institutional archives. We anticipate completion in Spring 2025. In the meantime, PDF versions of finding aids are available in CUNY Academic Works.

View our searchable finding aids catalog.

View our PDF finding aids.

Materials located in Archives and Special Collections are non-circulating and must be consulted in our reading room. Due to construction on the library's concourse level, the archives reading room has been temporarily relocated to room 2304. All visitors must schedule an appointment in advance by emailing us. Appointments are generally available between 10am - 4pm, M-F.

To prepare for your visit, please consult our general guidelines below, as well as our policies and services. Upon arrival, visitors must fill out a registration form and agree to the library's conditions of use.

Plan your visit.

Read our conditions of use.

If necessary, library staff will provide specific handling instructions for the materials being consulted. Please follow this general guidance:

• Wash hands before handling materials;
• Use cotton gloves for handling photographs; the library will provide them;
• Remove one folder at a time and use the placeholder provided to mark its location in the box;
• Keep materials flat on the table at all times; do not fold, mark, trace, or place other items on the folder or its contents;
• Use the flags provided to mark requests for duplication;