Research Guides

LGBTQ / Gender & Sexuality Studies

General Grants and Funding Sources

LGBTQ Opportunities

This section contains opportunities relating to LGBTQ-specific research. However, your research may align with many other funding opportunities - be sure to do a comprehensive search, using multiple keywords relating to your topic/discipline, in the grants databases.

CLAGS: The Center for LGBTQ Studies is based at The Graduate Center and offers Fellowships & Awards for graduate students, including a dissertation prize, undergraduate and graduate research awards.

The Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History - Founded in 1979, the Committee offers a variety of prizes and awards for work in the field of LGBTQ history, most notable the Gregory Sprague Prize "for an outstanding published or unpublished paper, article, book chapter, or dissertation chapter," and Audre Lorde Prize, for similar work in the form of a scholarly article.

Visiting Research Fellowships, UVIC - The University of Victoria is home to the Chair in Transgender Studies, offering Fellowships for community-based activists and researchers, University-aligned faculty and graduate students. The Transgender Archives at UVIC includes "records [that] span over 160 meters or 530 linear feet (1.5 football fields long), go back over 120 years, and are in 15 languages from 23 countries on six continents. UVIC collections comprise the largest trans archives in the world."

The Center for Black, Brown, and Queer Studies offers a Summer Fellowship open to undergraduate and graduate students, who are interested in developing Open Educational Resources.

Yale LGBTQ Research Fellowships - This fellowship supports scholars from any field pursuing research in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and/or queer studies at Yale University, utilizing the vast faculty resources, manuscript archives, and library collections available at Yale. Graduate students conducting dissertation research, independent scholars, and all faculty are invited to apply. Scholars residing within 100 miles of New Haven are ineligible.

See also, the Sarah Pettit Doctoral Felllowship in Lesbian Studies ("Students studying or located in all geographical regions are welcome").

One Archives LGBTQ Research Fellowship Program - "Since the inception of the LGBTQ Research Fellowship Program in 2018, we have welcomed more than 20 graduate students, scholars, and independent researchers to ONE Archives at the USC Libraries. Each Fellow receives up to $1,500 to support their work and provide access to the collections at ONE. Desired outcomes of the Fellowship include scholarly writings, publications, media and art projects."

Harry Harkins Travel Grant - for use at Duke University, " for researchers whose work would benefit from access to our gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender history collections. The grants are named in honor of Harry H. Harkins, Jr. T'73 for his generous support of this program and ongoing support of LGBT history and sexuality studies collections for Duke University Libraries."

Scholars of Sexology Fellowship Program - The fellowship is to support graduate students whose scholarly work would benefit from the use of library and archival materials at The Kinsey Institute for Sex, Gender, and Reproduction. Applications are encouraged from all students enrolled in a graduate program in the United States and whose interests concern the anthropology, biology, psychology, sociology, history, politics, and methodology of sexology and sexuality studies. Recipients will receive $3,000. One or two fellowships will be awarded.

Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality - Offers a few grants/awards, some only available to members.

Candid, New York City

32 Old Slip

New York, NY 10005

Telephone: 212-620-4230