Getting Started
Researching LGBTQ history can be complex, interdisciplinary, and involves primary source materials that are categorized in many different ways. If you're having trouble finding information about your topic, check out the Homosaurus - "an international linked data vocabulary of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) terms. This vocabulary is intended to function as a companion to broad subject term vocabularies, such as the Library of Congress Subject Headings." This may help to suggest alternative keywords and subject terms.
Seeking LGBTQ resources at CUNY?
Try the LGBTQIA+ Hub, an initiative of the University LGBTQ Council. Events, campus contacts, and info about preferred names/gender at CUNY.
Seeking funding for your scholarly work in the field of LGBTQ Studies? Check out our page for related opportunities. We also encourage you to search within the grants databases listed on this page.
A Few Selected Ebooks
Google Scholar
Online Encyclopedias and Reference
- Biography Reference Bank
This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical information on more than 500,000 individuals from antiquity to the present. Provides in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index and specialist content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. Includes 700,000 full-text articles from magazines, journals, and reference sources, 36,000 images, and abstracts from magazines and journals. Searchable by occupation, activity, gender, place of origin, birthday, and lifespan.
- glbtq: an encyclopediaFeaturing social sciences, literature, and the arts, "the glbtq project was founded in 2000 by Publisher Wik Wikholm to create the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history and to deliver it online."
- Outhistory.orgOnline encyclopedia
- Queer Resources DirectoryOnline files reflecting 1990s activism.
- NYPL - Jewish LGBTQ StudiesA focused research guide for queer Jewish topics and resources.
Starting Points
- WorldCatThe largest library catalog available. Use the FindIt! link to CUNY+ and Interlibrary Loan.
- Ebsco Multi-Database Search (by categories, fewer titles)This resource allows the simultaneous searching of many of the full-text and bibliographic databases to which all of CUNY subscribes, arranged by category, as well as the CUNY Catalog.
Print Encyclopedias and Reference
Subject Guide
The Graduate Center
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016
library@gc.cuny.edu