Looking for a Specific Journal?
- Electronic and Print Journals at the Graduate CenterSearch the GC library's holdings of print and electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Electronic Journals at New York Public LibraryFind electronic journals available both at NYPL and from home.
- Print Journals at New York Public LibrarySearch NYPL's research catalog for journals, magazines, and newspapers not available electronically.
- Library Doesn't Have the Journal You Need? Use Interlibrary Loan!Whenever you need an article from a journal that the GC library doesn't have, you can request the article via interlibrary loan.
Best Bets for Environmental Science Research
- AGRICOLAA database produced by the National Library of Agriculture consisting of citations to journal articles (including abstracts) and bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. Contains 5.2 million+ records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century encompassing all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- Annual Reviews
Full text of 51 Annual Review journals in the social sciences, biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences and economics. The literature reviews synthesize current understanding of a topic, set the work in historical context, and include extensive bibliographies. Search across or browse reviews and journals in more than 45 scientific disciplines, including anthropology, astrophysics, biochemistry, criminology, earth and planetary sciences, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, and sociology.
- General Science Full TextIndexes nearly 300 scholarly, professional, and popular science periodicals published from 1984 to the present in the United States and the United Kingdom. Includes full text for more than 100 publications from 1995 to the present. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology, and more.
- GreenFILEA collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of the human impact on the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1 million records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15 thousand records.
- ScienceDirectFull text for 2,600+ peer-reviewed journals and indexing and abstracting for many additional titles from their first issues. Most of the journals are in the sciences and social sciences, but there are several in the humanities, mostly in linguistics. Graduate Center access also includes indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents (but not full text) for thousands of e-books.
- SpringerLinkThe Graduate Center has full-text access to recent issues of over 3,000 mostly social science and science journals in this database. Only the articles with a Download PDF link are available in full text. Also includes thousands of titles from the Springer Ebook Collection, which can be accessed separately.
- Web of ScienceMassive multidisciplinary index of scholarly publications, with especially strong coverage of the sciences and social sciences. Includes numerous sub-databases, most notably the Web of Science Core Collection, which provides cover-to-cover indexing of 21,000+ peer-reviewed journals. Includes citation data for publications, allowing searchers to identify highly cited articles, find citations to a given article/author, and track citations over time. Includes detailed author records and several unique search capabilities, such as the ability to search by author affiliation, grant number, or chemical structure. Also includes awarded grant information and associated publications.
Other Databases for Environmental Science Research
While these databases don't focus on earth and environmental science they do index relevant journals and newspapers. Includes scholarly and general publications.
- Academic OneFileProvides full-text articles in all subject areas from over 19,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources as well as thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR (National Public Radio) and CNN, and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. Subjects covered include biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
- Academic Search CompleteA multi-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, the database includes indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications, such as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. While full text is available as far back as 1887 for a few titles, the text of most titles is available only for the past decade or two.
- CQ ResearcherFull-text reports on a wide range of topics including health, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. government and economy, international affairs, crime, civil liberties, social movements, transportation, agriculture, and other political and social issues. Reports are 12,000 words long and include topic overviews, background information, statistics, chronologies, maps, current outlook, pro/con statements, and extensive bibliographies. The CQ Researcher archive goes back to 1923 and includes reports from its predecessor publication, Editorial Research Reports.
- JSTORA digital library containing journals, books, images, and primary sources. The GC’s subscription includes JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of scholarly journals across the social sciences and humanities. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. Also included are more than 700 freely accessible collections of illustrations, letters, literary documents, newspapers, magazines, photographs, postcards, and yearbooks; open access alternative press publications from the latter half of the 20th century; and thousands of research reports. 3+ million images in Artstor are also now discoverable in JSTOR. Browse content by subject, title, or collection, or search across the full resource. Register for a free personal account to save materials and organize your work.
- PAIS Index - International and ArchiveBibliographic citations from international sources including journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, covering public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general from 1915 to the present.
- Project MuseThe CUNY and Graduate Center subscriptions provide access to the full text of nearly 400 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences along with over 70,000 e-books and 4,600 open access books. Select “Browse All Muse” and filter by Access type “Only content I have access to” to see subscribed and OA content. Or look for the green check mark and OA icons that appear next to accessible titles when searching across the platform. E-books are also available via the separate link to Project Muse E-Books.
Article & Journal Impact
Article Impact: One measure of the impact of an article is the number of times it has been cited by other articles. These databases offer robust cited reference searching:
Journal Impact: A journal's impact is calculated by analyzing (in different ways by different tools) how frequently its articles are cited. Journal-level metrics are provided by:
For more information, see the Research Metrics guide.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature, including journal articles and books. The Graduate Center Library has created a customized version that knows the library’s electronic journal holdings and links you directly to the articles in the library’s databases.
Go to GC-customized Google Scholar
Note: If you’re off campus, you’ll be prompted to log in with your GC credentials before you can access library subscriptions.