CUNY OneSearch
- OneSearchOneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes the CUNY library catalog; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; and unique digital content.
Books Beyond the GC
If the Graduate Center does not have the book you need, you can have the book sent here from another library.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)If the book you need is not available at the Graduate Center (or if you need an article from a journal not at the Graduate Center), submit an interlibrary-loan request for this item. You can use ILL for items held at other CUNY libraries, or from libraries much further afield. If you have questions or need help placing your request, email ill@gc.cuny.edu.
ILL FAQs - NYPL & MaRLIGraduate Center users receive special NYPL privileges and may apply to MaRLI for borrowing privileges at NYU and Columbia.
E-Books
The Graduate Center Library provides access to many electronic books, which can be found in the library's OneSearch discovery tool.
Note: Only those ebooks that list "Graduate Center" or "CUNY" under Holdings are accessible at the Graduate Center (or off-site to GC users). Ebooks owned by other CUNY libraries can only be accessed by GC users by physically visiting that library.
For much more information about the library's ebook offerings, including a list of the library's ebook collections, see the E-Books LibGuide.
Reference E-Books & E-Book Collections
- Oxford Bibliographies
Bibliographies in American Literature, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Education, Geography, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, the Renaissance and Reformation, Urban Studies, and Victorian Literature. Bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources.
- Oxford ReferenceText of nearly 400 Oxford University Press reference works in 25 core subject areas. Titles include Oxford Companions to American Literature, American Theatre, the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Music, Philosophy, Politics of the World, Shakespeare, United States History, and Western Art. Available titles may be found in OneSearch.
- Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)Full text of over 1,800 reference works published by Gale, Brill Academic, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Sage, Salem Press, Wiley, and others. Titles include American Civil War Reference Library, Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to AD 1000, Encyclopedia of Aging, Encyclopedia of American Religions, Encyclopedia of Case Study Research, Encyclopedia of Gender and Society, Encyclopedia of Urban Studies, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, Magill's Survey of World Literature, Vietnam War Reference Library; World Education Encyclopedia.
