Librarian
About
This guide serves as a starting point for researchers and students in sociology and related fields. It collects information about selected resources available through the Mina Rees Library that are most relevant for the social sciences.
Feeling overwhelmed? Make a research appointment with Roxanne Shirazi, librarian for sociology, or visit the reference desk on the library's 2nd floor to consult with a librarian (no appointment needed).
Handbooks and Overviews
- SAGE Research MethodsAn online collection of more than 1,000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos on how to design and carry out research projects. Browse by discipline or search for a particular research approach (i.e., qualitative, quantitative, ethnographic) and see descriptions and examples from books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, journals, and videos. Read more in our GC Library blog post about Sage Research Methods.
- SAGE Knowledge HandbooksHandbooks covering such subjects as digital dissertations, multicultural measures, environmental change, economic geography, historical theory, international relations, Islamic studies, performance studies, qualitative and quantitative research in psychology, race and ethnic studies, social anthropology, sociolinguistics, and theories of social psychology.
- Social TheoryMore than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Karl Marx, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith, and Talcott Parsons. Search across the resource or browse authors, titles, theories, or subjects.
- Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)Full text of over 1,800 reference works published by Gale, Brill Academic, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Sage, Salem Press, Wiley, and others. Titles include American Civil War Reference Library, Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to AD 1000, Encyclopedia of Aging, Encyclopedia of American Religions, Encyclopedia of Case Study Research, Encyclopedia of Gender and Society, Encyclopedia of Urban Studies, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, Magill's Survey of World Literature, Vietnam War Reference Library; World Education Encyclopedia.
- Gale Directory Library via NYPLPlease log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
Search across a range of directories including Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers; Encyclopedia of American Religions (now available in Gale Ebooks); Encyclopedia of Associations - International Organizations; Encyclopedia of Associations - National Organizations of the U.S.; Encyclopedia of Associations - Regional, State and Local Organizations of the U.S.; Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources; Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations; Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; Government Research Directory; International Research Centers Directory; Market Share Reporter; National Faculty Directory; Publishers Directory; Research Centers Directory; Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies.
Getting Started in the Social Sciences
Salsa Dancing into the Social Sciences by ISBN: 9780674040380Publication Date: 2009-07-01This unique book is both a handbook for defining and completing a research project, and an astute introduction to the neglected history and changeable philosophy of modern social science. In this volume, Kristin Luker guides novice researchers in: knowing the difference between an area of interest and a research topic; defining the relevant parts of a potentially infinite research literature; mastering sampling, operationalization, and generalization; understanding which research methods best answer your questions; beating writer's block.
Research Methods: The Basics by Call Number: H62 .W254 2022Publication Date: 2022An accessible, user-friendly introduction to the different aspects of research theory, methods and practice. This third edition provides an expanded and fully updated resource suitable for students and practitioners in a wide range of disciplines including the natural sciences, social sciences and humanities. It is structured in two parts--the first covers the nature of knowledge and the reasons for doing research, the second explains the specific methods used to conduct an effective research project and how to propose, plan, carry out and write up a research project.
The Literature Review: Six Steps to Success by ISBN: 9781506336244Publication Date: 2016-06-09The six-step process pioneered by this book has made the task flowing and seamless for masters and doctoral candidates in Education and related fields. This updated third edition features a wealth of all-new content including: A flowchart that graphically illustrates Machi and McEvoy's process; reflective Oversight boxes in each chapter that prompt readers to direct metacognitive activities; links to online guides and resources; and expanded examples illustrating theoretical concepts.
Reading Lists on Qualitative Interviews and Ethnography
- A Partial Bibliography of Books on How to Conduct Qualitative InterviewsCompiled by Dr. Raul Pacheco-Vega, Associate Professor with the Methods Lab at the Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) Sede Mexico.