Off-Campus Access Problems?
If you are unable to log into GC library databases with CUNY Login credentials, try using your GC Network Account credentials. You can also try CUNY e-resources as a backup. This smaller collection of databases provides access with your CUNY Login credentials.
Use the password reset tool or contact IT Services to resolve account issues and regain access to all GC databases.
Suggest a Journal Purchase
- Suggest a journal subscriptionThe Graduate Center Library welcomes journal subscription suggestions from the Graduate Center community. The library will carefully consider requests that are consistent with our Collection Policy.
SocArXiv: Open archive of the social sciences
SocArXiv (pronounced sosh-archive) is a preprint server created by sociologists, librarians, and open science advocates.
Visit SocArxiv.org to deposit papers, and SocOpen.org for the latest news.
Looking for a Specific Journal?
Use our journal title search tool to see whether the library has access to a particular title, and what date ranges our subscriptions cover.
Core Databases
The library subscribes to over 400 databases that allow you to search the scholarly literature across journals. Databases are professionally indexed and offer options for complex search queries. Use this list to get to the most relevant social science databases available through the Graduate Center.
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts contains bibliographic citations from 2,600 journals concerned with sociology and related disciplines from 1963 to the present. Relevant dissertations have been added since 1986. Also included is the Social Planning Policy and Development Abstracts (SOPODA) database, which covers applied sociology journal article abstracts since 1980. Formerly Sociofile.
- Social Science Premium CollectionThis collections provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences: abstracts, indexing and full coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 social science journals. Click "more" to view the full list of databases included in this collection.
- SocINDEX with Full TextIndexing of 2,540 journals in the social sciences, with full text as far back as 1895 for 848 journals, as well as the text of more than 40,000 conference papers from such organizations as American Sociological Association and American Society of Criminology. The database encompasses all sub-disciplines of sociology and closely-related areas of study, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology.
- Social Sciences Full TextProvides access to English-language social science journals, including full text from 215 titles beginning in 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 titles beginning in 1983, 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and more.
- Annual Reviews
Full text of 51 Annual Review journals in the social sciences, biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences and economics. The literature reviews synthesize current understanding of a topic, set the work in historical context, and include extensive bibliographies. Search across or browse reviews and journals in more than 45 scientific disciplines, including anthropology, astrophysics, biochemistry, criminology, earth and planetary sciences, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, and sociology.
- Sociology DatabaseProQuest Sociology covers the international literature of sociology and social work, and provides full-text coverage of many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. The database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology. Coverage: 1985-current.
- Social Science DatabaseProQuest Social Science Journals indexes over 1000 social science journals, with full text for 900 titles. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries.
- International Bibliography of the Social SciencesIBSS includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology from 1951 to the present. Part of the ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)Indexes over 500 journals in economics, education, health, political science, psychology, race relations, and sociology from 1987 to the present. Part of the ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection.
- PAIS Index - International and ArchiveBibliographic citations from international sources including journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, covering public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general from 1915 to the present.
- SAGE Sociology CollectionFull text of 37 SAGE sociology journals from 1952 to the present.
- Social TheoryMore than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Karl Marx, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith, and Talcott Parsons. Search across the resource or browse authors, titles, theories, or subjects.
- ICPSR: Interuniversity Consortium for Political & Social ResearchICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. ICPSR data cover topics from sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations. First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account; thereafter, you will need your email address and password to download data.
- Roper iPoll (formerly Roper Center Archives)
The world’s largest collection of poll data from 1935 to present. Contains hundreds of thousands of questions and tens of thousands of individual-level datasets, with hundreds more added yearly. Includes broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, the environment, science and technology, health, economics, and more. It also includes global data from over 120 countries, and historical archives that feature questions on topics such as World War II, the civil rights movement, and women’s history, along with a general social survey with cumulative data from 1972-2016 featuring a standard core of demographic and attitudinal variables.
Access through the Graduate Center Library enables you to access all tools and features. Create a free personal account to save items to folders and view your complete search history. Users who have accounts on the old "classic" Roper iPoll website will need to register again on the new site.
Learn more about how to use Roper iPoll online: Roper Tutorials.
General Databases
- Academic Search CompleteA multi-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, the database includes indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications, such as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. While full text is available as far back as 1887 for a few titles, the text of most titles is available only for the past decade or two.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsAn independent index containing over 17,000 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- JSTORA digital library containing journals, books, images, and primary sources. The GC’s subscription includes JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of scholarly journals across the social sciences and humanities. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. Also included are more than 700 freely accessible collections of illustrations, letters, literary documents, newspapers, magazines, photographs, postcards, and yearbooks; open access alternative press publications from the latter half of the 20th century; and thousands of research reports. 3+ million images in Artstor are also now discoverable in JSTOR. Browse content by subject, title, or collection, or search across the full resource. Register for a free personal account to save materials and organize your work.
- Web of ScienceMassive multidisciplinary index of scholarly publications, with especially strong coverage of the sciences and social sciences. Includes numerous sub-databases, most notably the Web of Science Core Collection, which provides cover-to-cover indexing of 21,000+ peer-reviewed journals. Includes citation data for publications, allowing searchers to identify highly cited articles, find citations to a given article/author, and track citations over time. Includes detailed author records and several unique search capabilities, such as the ability to search by author affiliation, grant number, or chemical structure. Also includes awarded grant information and associated publications.
Datasets & Government Documents
Search Google Scholar
Look for the "Find Fulltext at GC" link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the library's resources.
Tip: You can link your Google account to the GC, so the “Find Fulltext at GC” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from this page. Go to our customized settings screen, check all boxes for Mina Rees Library and click Save. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary LoanArticles requested through interlibrary loan (ILL) are typically delivered electronically as PDF files within 48 hours. Use your Graduate Center network ID user name and password to log in. If you have questions or need help placing your request, email ill@gc.cuny.edu.
Scan and deliver
We can also scan print materials that we have in the GC library and send you a digital copy. Request up to one chapter from a print book or one article from a print journal by logging in above and filling out a regular ILL request form.