Research Guides: Africana Studies: Dissertations

Dissertation Databases

Dissertations & Theses Global
Indexes two-million dissertations from over one-thousand institutions, with citations from 1861-1980 and abstracts from 1980 to present. Includes the full text of most post-1996 CUNY dissertations and many post-1996 dissertations from other institutions, as well as thousands of earlier ones. To limit your search to CUNY dissertations, include 0046 in your search statement, selecting the school name/code search field. Non-U.S.dissertations can be searched in the Center for Research Libraries' catalog.
Dissertations & Theses @ City University of New York Graduate Center
CUNY dissertations dating back to 1965. Full text available except for embargoed works.
Graduate Center Retrospective Dissertations, 1965-2013
Current CUNY students, faculty and staff can log in with their CUNYfirst credentials to access GC dissertations and capstones from 1965-2013. (Pre-2014 master's theses are available only in print).

If you want to move your dissertation or capstone into the publicly accessible CUNY repository, Academic Works, email the GC Dissertation Office at deposit@gc.cuny.edu. Making your dissertation free to the public helps broaden the reach of your scholarship and supports CUNY's mission of public service.
CUNYfirst credentials: used to log into Blackboard, CUNY-wide electronic resources, and other services.

More information about the various CUNY accounts: https://libguides.gc.cuny.edu/cuny_accounts.

EThOS British Library Electronic Theses Online (temporarily offline)
Searches 250,000+ theses, many available in full text with a free online account. Theses not available for immediate download take 30 days to digitize. Order via CUNY Graduate Center interlibrary loan to cover any digitization fees. Most UK universities participate except Oxford, Cambridge, and Univ of Southampton.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries provides a shared collection of five million books, journals, documents and newspapers to supplement member libraries’ holdings in the humanities, science, and social sciences. With a strategic emphasis on expanding electronic access to international primary source collections, CRL participates in a number of cooperative digitization efforts, yielding millions of pages of digitized content to date.

CRL resources include:
- The largest circulating collection of newspapers in North America – more than 16,000 newspaper titles from all world regions and from every U.S. state – mainstream dailies, underground and alternative press titles, rare publications from international conflict zones, U.S. ethnic titles, early African-American newspapers, and radio broadcast reports and transcripts
- Foreign journals rarely held in U.S. libraries, with a focus on science and technology
- Access to rich holdings in science, technology, and engineering print serials through a partnership with the Linda Hall Library
- More than 800,000 non U.S. dissertations
- Area Studies: major collections of news, government documents, and archives from Africa, Latin America, Middle East, Europe, Asia, and Southeast and South Asia
- Millions of pages of primary source documents, including major sets from the National Archives of the U.S. and the U.K., and many special collections from around the world
- U.S. and international legal and government resources