Logging into library resources
SLU students and faculty have full access to Graduate Center Library resources available on the main library website at library.gc.cuny.edu.
You may log in remotely to Graduate Center Library databases, journals, ebooks, and our full suite of online resources with the following credentials:
Your CUNY Log In is used to access all library resources from off campus. CUNY Login usernames have the format Firstname.LastnameNN@login.cuny.edu, where “NN” is the last 2+ digits of your CUNY EMPLID. For more information, see CUNY Login FAQs. (Forgot your CUNY Login? Retrieve your username, or reset your password.)
These credentials extend access to all Graduate Center Library Databases, to the full set of GC Library journals, and to Graduate Center Interlibrary Loan services.
As an alternative access method, you can use your GC Network credentials to log into all library resources. Contact SLU IT to set up these accounts. For GC Network credential login questions, forgotten passwords, password reset, or security problems, contact the SLU IT Help Desk at their website, email at ITHelpDesk@slu.cuny.edu or call 646-313-8440 from 9am to 9pm Monday through Thursday, 9am to 5pm Fridays.
OneSearch
Search for books, e-books, articles, media, and more using OneSearch.
TIP: If you know the title, put it in "quotation marks"
If you know the item you're looking for and want to find it at a CUNY library, a classic catalog search may be useful.
Access Journals and Databases Online
To find specialized information sources within a discipline or academic field, search one of our specialized databases, or browse through our online journals.
Use the search box below to find a database (for example, "Social Explorer" or "CQ Researcher").
Just getting started? Try these all-purpose databases to begin your search for scholarly journal articles:
- Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Specialized Databases
- Brill Online Reference Works
This link opens in a new window
A selection of Brill Online Reference Works. The GC Library subscribes to a few titles (which have a green icon next to them on the front page):
- Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics (EALL)
- Foreign Law Guide
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
- Qurʾānic Studies Online (includes Concordance et Indices de la Tradition Musulmane, Dictionary of Qurʾanic Usage, Early Western Korans, Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān, Encyclopedia of Canonical Hadīth, and Qurʾān Concordance)
- Encyclopaedia of Islam (in multiple editions and with a Historical Atlas of Islam)
- Britannica Academic
- This link opens in a new window
This database combines Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, as well as content from magazines and academic journals, an interactive world atlas, a country comparison tool, and more. - Cambridge Histories Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First published in 1902, Cambridge Histories span subject areas across the humanities and social sciences. The GC’s subscription includes over 400 titles in American History; Ancient & Classical Studies; Asian History, British & European History; Global History, Literature, Middle East & African Studies, Music & Theatre; Philosophy & Political Thought; and Religion.
**GC-subscribed Cambridge content is discoverable in CUNY OneSearch. - Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,800 reference works published by Gale, Brill Academic, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Sage, Salem Press, Wiley, and others. Titles include American Civil War Reference Library, Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to AD 1000, Encyclopedia of Aging, Encyclopedia of American Religions, Encyclopedia of Case Study Research, Encyclopedia of Gender and Society, Encyclopedia of Urban Studies, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, Magill's Survey of World Literature, Vietnam War Reference Library; World Education Encyclopedia. - General OneFile
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 14,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books, and multimedia sources, along with over 200,000 images, 3,300 audio files, and thousands of videos. Includes full text from 8,070 publications. - Grove Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the Grove Dictionary of Art via the Oxford Art Online platform. Grove contains entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations. Browse through Timelines of World Art, Subject Guides or Resources for Educators created by organizations like MoMA and the Met. Create an optional subscriber account to save searches. - Grove Music Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the Grove Dictionary of Music via the Oxford Music Online platform. Based on a work first published in 1879, Grove has been in continuous publication and has been the foremost English-language encyclopedia of music. Includes over 52,000 articles charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe. Hundreds of new articles and article revisions are added each year. Create an optional subscriber account to save searches. - MasterFILE Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text from over 2,300 mostly popular and general-interest periodicals, with full-text as far back as 1922. Also includes more than 1,000 reference books, 160,400+ primary source documents, and an image collection of over 1 million photos, maps, and flags. - Oxford Dictionaries
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly Oxford Language Dictionaries Online. Translations of thousands of Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish words and phrases. - Oxford Reference
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text of nearly 400 Oxford University Press reference works in 25 core subject areas. Titles include Oxford Companions to American Literature, American Theatre, the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Music, Philosophy, Politics of the World, Shakespeare, United States History, and Western Art. Available titles may be found in OneSearch. - SAGE Knowledge Handbooks
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks covering such subjects as digital dissertations, multicultural measures, environmental change, economic geography, historical theory, international relations, Islamic studies, performance studies, qualitative and quantitative research in psychology, race and ethnic studies, social anthropology, sociolinguistics, and theories of social psychology.
To find available content:
- Select “SAGE Reference”
- Click on “Browse SAGE Reference”
- Find and click on "Handbooks" under "By Content Types"
- Select “Content available to me" under “Quick Filters” and Click “Apply Filter” to limit your results to just those handbook titles available at the Graduate Center.
- SAGE Research Methods
- This link opens in a new window
An online collection of more than 1,000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos on how to design and carry out research projects. Browse by discipline or search for a particular research approach (i.e., qualitative, quantitative, ethnographic) and see descriptions and examples from books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, journals, and videos. Read more in our GC Library blog post about Sage Research Methods.
- Business Insights: Global
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An international business resource containing more than 460,000 detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. It also includes company histories, industry essays, case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for global economies. Research tools include interactive comparison charts for countries, companies, and industries, and a glossary of business terms. Updated daily. - Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of nearly 4,000 scholarly business journals and periodicals as well as indexing for 7,000 titles. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. - CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text reports on a wide range of topics including health, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. government and economy, international affairs, crime, civil liberties, social movements, transportation, agriculture, and other political and social issues. Reports are 12,000 words long and include topic overviews, background information, statistics, chronologies, maps, current outlook, pro/con statements, and extensive bibliographies. The CQ Researcher archive goes back to 1923 and includes reports from its predecessor publication, Editorial Research Reports. - Infoshare
This link opens in a new window
Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local trade data, and other demographic information about New York City drawn from city, state, and federal sources. Profile or compare areas across the city and state, or use the raw data to create customized tables. - Labor and Employment: The American Worker
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of HeinOnline, this database explores the working class in the United States through an editorialized collection about the history of labor conditions and employment law in the United States. This database includes legislative histories, Supreme Court case briefs, accounts of historical labor riots, current reports on working conditions, scholarly articles, and an interactive timeline that charts labor efforts. - Left Index
- This link opens in a new window
Guide to the literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Topics covered include art and aesthetics, ecology and environment, education, history, the labor movement, law and globalization, philosophy, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, and sociology. Includes more than 507,000 citations and abstracts (with some full text) and spans from 1982 and earlier to present. - Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a range of social issues including racism, capital punishment, global warming, and voting rights with reference sources, newspaper and magazine articles, scholarly journals, court cases, government documents, statistics, viewpoints, maps, images, audio, video, primary documents, and websites. - Roper iPoll (formerly Roper Center Archives)
- This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest collection of poll data from 1935 to present. Contains hundreds of thousands of questions and tens of thousands of individual-level datasets, with hundreds more added yearly. Includes broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, the environment, science and technology, health, economics, and more. It also includes global data from over 120 countries, and historical archives that feature questions on topics such as World War II, the civil rights movement, and women’s history, along with a general social survey with cumulative data from 1972-2016 featuring a standard core of demographic and attitudinal variables.
Access through the Graduate Center Library enables you to view poll questions, save up to 50 questions, search abstracts and download documentation. Create a free personal account to download datasets, save up to 500 questions at once, and use the RoperExplorer analytical tool with crosstabs functionality. Users who have accounts on the old "classic" Roper iPoll website will need to register again on the new site.
Learn more about how to use Roper iPoll online: Roper Tutorials. - Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
Over 500,000 data indicators including the latest demographic and socio-economic data; historical demographic data from 1790 to the present; the American Community Survey 1-, 3-, and 5-year estimates; Market Profile Data; Economic Indicators; change over time data from 1970 to present; U.S. data on agriculture, the environment, Black Lives Matter protests, schools, crime, health, population estimates, business patterns, elections, and other topics; Canadian Census; U.K. Census; European Statistics Data; and World Development Indicators.
- Social Science Premium Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing, and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more. Click "more" to see the full list of databases included in this collection. - SocINDEX with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of study. The database features 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains abstracts for more than 4,650 journals, some dating to 1895 and extensive indexing for books/monographs and conference papers. Contains full text for more than 830 books and monographs, 16,800 conference papers, and 860 journals dating back to 1908. Searchable cited references and thousands of author profiles are also included. - U.S. History in Context
- This link opens in a new window
Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers. - Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This digital archive includes 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century. It also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements as well as scholarly essays exploring themes illuminated by materials in the archive.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of articles from over 2,500 journals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. The database contains more than 800,000 records from the 1930s to the present with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s. It also includes nearly 13,000 citations for architects' obituaries. - Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of nearly 4,000 scholarly business journals and periodicals as well as indexing for 7,000 titles. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. - CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text reports on a wide range of topics including health, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. government and economy, international affairs, crime, civil liberties, social movements, transportation, agriculture, and other political and social issues. Reports are 12,000 words long and include topic overviews, background information, statistics, chronologies, maps, current outlook, pro/con statements, and extensive bibliographies. The CQ Researcher archive goes back to 1923 and includes reports from its predecessor publication, Editorial Research Reports. - Gale In Context: Environmental Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Provides news, background information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents and statistics, covering over 400 topics in a range of categories including energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, economic development, land and water use, and pollution. Also offers interactive maps and contextual multimedia, customizable journals and news, refereed case studies. - ICPSR: Interuniversity Consortium for Political & Social Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ICPSR, the world's largest collection of digital social science data, maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. ICPSR data cover sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, international relations, and more. First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account; thereafter, you will need your email address and password to download data. - Infoshare
- This link opens in a new window
Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local trade data, and other demographic information about New York City drawn from city, state, and federal sources. Profile or compare areas across the city and state, or use the raw data to create customized tables. - LGBTQ+ Source
- This link opens in a new window
Full text from over 150 LGBTQi (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning and Intersex) journals, magazines, and newspapers and over 150 books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms. - PAIS Index - International and Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic citations from international sources including journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, covering public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general from 1915 to the present. - Statistical Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing, abstracting, and full text of millions of statistical reports, publications, tables, and datasets on thousands of topics produced by U.S. federal agencies, state governments, private and academic organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. - Urban Studies Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Biographic records in community development, urban affairs, urban history, and related areas from 1973 to the present.
- Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
- This link opens in a new window
More than 750 titles dealing with U.S. gun regulation and legislation. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the Miller and Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject. - Law Library Microfilm Consortium
- This link opens in a new window
LLMC Digital includes thousands of digitized historical legal and government documents, including federal, state, and territorial governments of the U.S., and government publications from Canada, the U.K., Germany, and other countries. It also includes collections of Indigenous law, international law, and multi-jurisdictional special focus collections, such as Roman law, Islamic law, and Canon law. These materials should be of particular interest to researchers in history, political science, and sociology. - Legal Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on current issues, studies and trends in the legal world, with over 1,200 full-text scholarly law journals and over 2.5 million records, including book reviews and case citations. Topic coverage includes criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor and human resource law, ethics, the environment, and more. Coverage dates back to 1908. - LegalTrac
- This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text. The American Association of Law Libraries endorses LegalTrac and its special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law. - Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis)
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a full-text news, business, and legal database with access to over 10,000 sources. Offers news sources from around the world, including most of the world's major English-language newspapers, including The New York Times since June 1, 1980, and Chronicle of Higher Education since September 1997. It also includes many non-English language newspaper titles, as well as scholarly journals, trade journals, popular magazines, sources for legislation statues and codes (including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790), and news blogs.