U.S. Statistics
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisBEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the nation's economy.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsThe Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
- Census.govVast repository of current and historical information on the U.S., including population, the economy, housing, foreign trade, business statistics, geography and maps, government statistics, and more.
- FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)Download, graph, and track 825,000 US and international time series from 114 sources.
- Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) ReportsIPEDS is a system of surveys conducted annually by the National Center for Education Statistics, including institutional statistics, completion rates, information on library collections and expenditures, and more. Reports archive covers 2003-2017.
- Measures for JusticeMFJ was founded in 2011 to develop a data-driven set of performance measures to assess and compare the criminal justice process from arrest to post-conviction on a county-by-county basis. The data set comprises measures that address three broad categories: Fiscal Responsibility, Fair Process, and Public Safety.
- Pew Research CenterPew is a nonpartisan, nonprofit, and nonadvocacy fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They study U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends.
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice StatisticsFull-text, with statistics, of the current Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics; with ongoing updates.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States, 2013- (@ NYPL)Published since 1878, the SA is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the US. The Census Department terminated its collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011 after losing Congressional funding. Beginning in 2012, ProQuest assumed responsibility for updating and maintaining the SA. This database incorporates editions from 1970 to the present. The database is available at all NYPL locations.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States, Earlier EditionsStatistical Abstracts from the 1870s to the 2010s along with Historical Statistics of the United States 1789-1957, Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1957, Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970, and several Statistical Abstract Supplements.
- Statistical Insight
This link opens in a new window
Demographic information from more than 200 federal agencies, 50 state governments, 100 international intergovernmental organizations, and 500 private and academic sources.
- STATS AmericaStates and counties in profile, plus side-by-side comparisons. A service of the Indiana Business Research Center at IU's Kelley School of Business. Includes thousands of data items from hundreds of data sets from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data.
New York City and State Data and Statistics
- New York City Open DataExplore, export, and crunch open data related to New York City. Datasets are searchable or browsable by Agency, Category (Business, Education, Environment, etc.), Recently Published, and Popular datasets.
- NYC Community District ProfilesProfiles of each of NYC's 59 legally defined community districts, with data on population, births, deaths, land usage, local issues, income, and more.
- New York State Open Data"Browse and download over 1,600 New York State data resources on topics ranging from farmers' markets to solar photovoltaic projects to MTA turnstile usage."
- NYC Planning Dept.Data portal that includes the Population Division, which "is responsible for the compilation, analysis, and dissemination of census and related federal, state, and local data for city agencies, local communities, and the media." The site also links to NYC Economic data, Open Data, and Maps & Geography.
- Infoshare
This link opens in a new window
Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local trade data, and other demographic information about New York City drawn from city, state, and federal sources. Profile or compare areas across the city and state, or use the raw data to create customized tables.
- Social ExplorerNew York City, Los Angeles, and national demographic maps based on Census data. A companion to Infoshare.
International Statistics
- ASEANStatsFrom the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.
- Europa World Year BookLatest edition available at NYPL's Science, Industry & Business Library (Call Number: *R-SIBL JN1.E85) and Schwarzman Building.
- Gender Equality Data and StatisticsGenderStats (from the World Bank) is an electronic database of gender statistics and indicators designed with user-friendly, menu-driven features. It offers statistical and other data in modules on several subjects. The data in each module is presented in ready-to-use format. Users have the option of saving the country views in Excel (or another spreadsheet software) to customize reports.
- International Monetary FundStatistics and data on countries of the world.
- North Korean Economy WatchNews and analysis of the North Korean economy from a researcher at the US-Korea Institute at Johns Hopkins University.
- Organisation for Economic Development and CooperationThe OECD promotes policies to improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world. They collect and analyze a wide range of data and publish regular outlooks, annual overviews, and comparative statistics.
- Statistical Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Demographic information from more than 200 federal agencies, 50 state governments, 100 international intergovernmental organizations, and 500 private and academic sources.
- United Nations Data"A World of Data" from 34 databases and 6 million records. Also includes links to individual country statistics sites.
- The World Bank - Countries & Economies DataFind data and statistics by Country, Topic, or Indicators. Browse and search the Data Catalog and Microdata.
Books on Statistics
A Subject search on the word "statistics" in the CUNY+ library catalog will turn up print and eBooks at the Graduate Center and other CUNY library locations.
Data
Consult the following Graduate Center Library Research Guides for tips on finding and using data in your research:
Also see:
- Google Dataset SearchA new search tool from Google that "lets you find datasets wherever they’re hosted, whether it’s a publisher's site, a digital library, or an author's personal web page." Read more in Google's
blog post.
- D-PLACE
- This link opens in a new window
The Database of Places, Language, Culture and Environment brings together cultural, linguistic, environmental and geographic information for over 1,400 human societies or cultural groups. The database is searchable by geographical area, language family, cultural features, or environmental variables. Users can compare cultural practices between societies and display results in a table, map, or linguistic tree.
- Open Knowledge International"a worldwide non-profit network of people passionate about openness, using advocacy, technology and training to unlock information and enable people to work with it to create and share knowledge."
- Roper iPoll (formerly Roper Center Archives)
- This link opens in a new window
USE ONSITE AT THE GRADUATE CENTER. The largest collection of poll data anywhere—1935 to present, all U.S. polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and U.S. datasets available for immediate download. Our membership includes RoperiPOLL, RoperExpress and RoperExplorer.
Reference Guide to Data Sources
The Reference Guide to Data Sources by Julia Bauder (ALA Editions, 2014) is a valuable reference tool for finding major and minor U.S. and world sources of data on virtually any subject.
Topics include Agriculture and Food, Climate, Crime, Earth Sciences, Economics, Education, Energy, Labor, Real Estate, Trade and Tariffs, Health and Health Care, Political Science, Elections, War and Peace, Public Opinion Surveys, Transportation, People, and more.